We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Jewel in Dorset’s crown” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Eastbury Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Eastbury Hotel to your Saves list
The Eastbury Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Long Street, Sherborne DT9 3BY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sherborne
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Jewel in Dorset’s crown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We booked the Eastbury hotel through Living social as part of a special deal £114 for the two of us for one night stay with breakfast and a 7 course tasting menu evening meal,
A BARGIN we thought not to be missed.

The Eastbury hotel is in the lovely location of Sherborne Dorset.
Car parking is available directly outside the hotel but there wasn't a space available when we arrived but there is a large gravelled car park directly at the back of the hotel. You can access the hotel from here by walking through the garden.

On arrival the young receptionist greeted us with a smile, checked us in and personally escorted us to our room. My first impression was how beautiful this hotel smells. I assumed it might be scented diffusers, we asked but it’s just a product they use to clean with.

All the rooms at the Eastbury are named after flowers. We stayed in the Michaelmas room.
The room was located at the front of the hotel, it was not double glazed but being in a village there wasn't much traffic travelling through at night so road noise is not a problem here.

So what do you get for your buck!

A nice spacious room with exposed beams , Plenty of storage space , trouser press , full length mirror in wardrobe door, hair dryer , plenty of sachets of tea, coffee , hot chocolate and milk , a lovely touch was a jar of homemade biscuits and a tea pot for those who prefer to make their tea in a pot rather than in a cup .
Flat screen TV with Freeview (perfect picture) a very large king size bed, on first inspection this appeared to look quite lumpy but upon taking the bedspread off we discovered perfect white crisp linen, both pillows and duvet are feather filled explaining that lumpy look . It was very comfortable.
In contrast to the room which was traditionally furnished the en suit bathroom was very modern. Plenty of toiletries supplied, Shampoo & conditioner, soap and body milk. Good quality White fluffy towels and flannels, Heated towel rail, a very deep bath. The only downside for me was the lack of a shower but there was a hand held one in the bath , not a huge fan of these but we had only booked to stay one night so not a problem .

After nibbling on the biscuits we decided to have a look around the grounds which are beautiful. Loved the fact that they have their own beehives .We ordered a pint and sat outside under a very large parasol that covers several tables and cleverly incorporated heaters and lights. So you won't go cold here sipping on your sundowners.

We later decided to walk into the town centre which was literally two minutes away. It was teaming with rain and the lovely receptionist offered us an umbrella perfect!
Village is very pretty, lots of shops, pubs restaurants galleries etc....

Later that evening we ate at the hotel as the package included a 7 course tasting menu with accompanying wines if you so wished for an extra £20 p/p

The dining room is lovely wrapped around by windows with views of all the outside areas lit up, this made for a pretty setting . The meal was fantastic and very tasty, every dish a delight, with an air of humour especially desert of which there were two of. First was a chocolate mousse shaped into a mouse with little almond ears, second was a large sharing platter so it was war with the spoons! I have to say the staffs at this hotel are wonderful and played a big part of the experience. We finished our meal after 9.30 and made our way up to our room.
We were greeted by the same young receptionist who asked if we had a nice evening ,please note the staff work such long hours and still manage to be pleasant and attentive to their customers a fantastic accolade to their employers .

Breakfast menu is fantastic with a choice of cereals, thick set yoghurts and berry compotes, traditional full English with fried bread and various types of bread for toast. Smoked salmon with scrambled eggs. Grilled kippers with Lemon and Chervil butter. Hot porridge with sugar and cream or platters of West Country cheese and home baked ham. So something for everyone!
We opted for the full English which came with a cafeteria of coffee and a hot chocolate.
Toast was promptly brought to us whilst we waited for breakfast. We did wait for a while for this to be served but it is cooked to order so perfectly acceptable and in my view much better than buffet style where food has sat drying out under hot lamps for god knows how long. You do however have the option to pre order breakfast if you need it at a certain time on the dot either in the dining room or in your room (for a small fee) a great service if you’re on a tight schedule.
P.S if you’re the type of person who likes to know where your food comes from the Eastbury provides this information brilliantly. Everything is also sourced as locally as possible.

A big plus is the free Wi-Fi offered throughout this hotel even in your room!

PPS sorry for lack of breakfast picture, I dived in without thinking :0)

SO would we stay here again?
Not sure we would stay anywhere else, perfect!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    109
    26
    11
    2
See reviews for
36
257
13
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This small 20+ bedroom traditional country town hotel is perfect for adults and small groups of friends. We stayed only one night and enjoyed a first class 7 course "taster" dinner menu and an exquisite breakfast. Our room in the "attic" was not huge but perfect for a short stay. Highly recommended. Additionally would be a perfect venue for a wedding party or special celebration but would need to be booked well in advance. We look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Our bathroom did not have a shower screen, just a hand held shower. If you are staying for a longer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Booking this hotel for a night and a 7 course taster menu plus a delicious breakfast made a nice break with my husband into something special. The service and food is outstanding. Following other Trip Advisor recommendations we visited the Digby Tap for a pre-dinner drink and what a gem of a pub. They really are not found in very many placers now. Rough and unpretentious but with a great atmosphere, very busy, great beers and food pn the menu starting at £2.40!! Its a long time since I saw this. Might be an idea to start a list of the the best atmosphere, traditional, great value pubs of the UK. Really enjoyed the break and especially as it was great value through Living Social. £110 for 2 for the meal, B&B.

Room Tip: The Lily room has a 4 poster bed. Very traditional decor, nice and comfortable. Overlooks the garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I bought a Living Social voucher deal for a one-night stay with a seven-course tasting menu, as I've eaten here several times before at Christmas parties and I've always wanted to stay. I paid the extra to upgrade to a superior room and waited impatiently. It was worth the wait! Smooth welcoming check-in, and I was personally escorted to the room. We stayed in Rowan, one of the pair of rooms through the courtyard and opposite the restaurant, up an external staircase and then an internal one to a big, airy room, very tastefully decorated in an understated yet quality style with plenty of neutral colours and wood. Big bed, high thread count linens, lovely fluffy towels in the gleaming bathroom through the big sliding door. Two comfortable chairs by the window and a well-stocked tea tray with a jar of homemade biscuits and a note offering real milk instead of UHT cartons just by contacting reception. I was starting to feel more relaxed already. Once my husband arrived we made our way across to the bar for a pre-dinner drink, where we were made to feel welcome, given a copy each of the tasting menu, and ordered the accompanying wines that had been pre-matched with each course. Just as our anticipation was reaching fever-pitch, we were taken through to our table in the conservatory restaurant. A view of the lovely garden, the tables nicely spaced out so that the diners don't feel like they're sitting in each others pockets. Within minutes we were served with a cool glass of Prosecco and a really interesting amuse-bouche, a cup of soup and a trio of breads. Presentation throughout the meal was immaculate, and the waiting staff spoke knowledgeably about what they were serving us. We never felt rushed at all, and looking around there were plenty of other diners also enjoying themselves. The highlight of the meal was the beef - fillet, burger and slow-cooked - absolute perfection, but we thoroughly enjoyed all the courses and all the wines, and retired to bed as two very happy bunnies.
After a great night's sleep we felt re-energised, and my husband headed for the shower. I was surprised when he reappeared after a very short time, but he explained that the flow of water had just stopped unexpectedly. His theory was that the pressure was not strong enough to cope with our shower and the room next door running at the same time, and this did seem to be supported by the fact that our shower spontaneously started running again about ten minutes later, and he was able to finish his ablutions. I was a little nervous about mine, but luckily I had no similar trouble. This was the only blip in our stay, and we did report it on our guest satisfaction questionnaire and mention it on checkout.
Breakfast was served in the conservatory - I looked wistfully at the tables in the patio area of the courtyard but alas, the weather was not being kind. Our tables were allocated by name, although I'm not sure that we sat at our intended one as we ended up with the same one as we'd had dinner at the previous night. There was a good selection of quality cereals, fresh fruit and yoghurt spread out on a buffet basis, freshly squeezed orange juice and a menu from which to select a cooked breakfast. We both had the full english and it was delicious, the hotel policy of using good quality locally sourced ingredients was really evident. We left the table feeling well fortified for the rest of the day.
Checkout was also smoothly managed and we walked back through the lovely garden (what a setting this must be for a summer wedding) to the car park at the rear feeling relaxed and happy. I could happily have stayed longer but we only live six miles away! To sum up our stay, all-round excellence. A charming hotel with friendly yet unobtrusive service - we've stayed in four and five star hotels that could learn a thing or two here. Many thanks to all the staff and I hope to be back again. Soon!

Room Tip: Our room (Rowan) was right on the edge of the wifi signal so we did lose connection a few times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed as a result of a Living Social deal. Our attic room was like a mini apartment, with separate large bathroom, loo and reading/work area. Crisp white cotton bed linen, large towels and waffle weave robes were a pleasant surprise. Can't comment on toiletries as I only use Dermalogica.
Unusually, there were two armchairs in the bedroom. Would other hotels please take note!
The starched table linen in the dining room was another surprise. We had the tasting menu. What lacked in portion size was made up by the flavours that were bouncing around the mouth.
On the breakfast menu were listed the names of the local suppliers.
This hotel is run by people who are proud of what they do and it shows. I shall be back.

Room Tip: The attic rooms are at the top of very steep stairs which may not be easy for some people to climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

It was our second time at the Eastbury staying in the Yew (luxury) room and, as before, we had a very pleasant stay. We went for the Dinner, Bed and Breakfast option and really enjoyed the choice and food at the Three Wishes Bistro taking advantage of the good weather to sit outside in the garden. The tasting menu was better than we expected, but we were a bit disappointed with the choice and size of portion on the Bistro menu. We did ask if we could have dinner in our room - a mere 10 feet from the restaurant given that there was a wedding party in on the Saturday night - but the £40 service charge seemed a bit steep and the staff weren't really interested. Breakfast was ok but the room would benefit from some music to take away the slightly funereal atmosphere. The gardens are lovely and well kept and the hotel is very well situated for a short stroll into the town. The room itself was spacious and it's good to be out of the main body of the hotel although the qualities of the toiletries had gone downhill since our last stay. We enjoyed our stay which could have been excellent with a few additional touches.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Enjoyed two nights at this lovely hotel as part of a living social deal . The deal also included a two course dinner which was excellent we had a nice table over looking the beautiful garden. We had Bluebell room which was spacious with a very large ensuite with bath and separate shower.Sherborne is very interesting and we were lucky to be there for the Farmers Market.Definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Bluebell room was up narrow staircase but very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Eastbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eastbury Hotel

Address: Long Street, Sherborne DT9 3BY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sherborne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sherborne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Eastbury Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian Town-House Hotel dating from 1740, located near Sherborne's train station, historic castles & Abbey. Typical of the period, it has graceful, light and spacious rooms which offer home-from-home comfort throughout. Located in the heart of historic Sherborne, you can relax in our walled garden while only being a short walk from all the town's shops and amenities. Our Conservatory Restaurant is award winning, having achieved 2 AA Red Rosettes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Eastbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastbury Hotel Sherborne
The Eastbury Hotel Sherborne, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Eastbury Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.