We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic fishcakes!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Three Wishes

The Three Wishes
78 Cheap Street, Sherborne DT9 3BJ, England
+44 1935 817 777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 40 Restaurants in Sherborne
Price range: $10 - $23
Cuisines: British, Café, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: The Three Wishes sits in the heart of historic Sherborne offering a relaxed environment in which to enjoy quality, local produce including fresh fish from The Torbay Fish Company, meats and cheeses from Dorset and award-winning beers from Weymouth.
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Fantastic fishcakes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Relaxed atmosphere, friendly staff and great menu. Only trouble is choosing what to order! Saw the fishcakes being served at another table - they looked great. When mine arrived, they were also delicious. Will definitely be returning.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    43
    13
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We have had several meals here and they are always top standard using the freshest produce and locally sourced. During the day it is a bustling upmarket cafe,they offer a vast selection of great food from sandwiches, fab cakes, breakfasts and home cooked lunches, and then in the evening the ambience changes, and it becomes a great bistro.They are only open Friday and Saturday evenings, so would advise booking.. They never disappoint.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“A pleasant eatery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

A pleasant eatery this. Service is fine, but sometimes it can get very busy at peak times. An extensive menu means that everyone will find something they like and they keep this fresh by having a specials board. A little more expensive than I would like but food is tasty.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Had lunch here on Bank Holiday Monday when most of the town was at the Country Fair at the Castle. Lovely. Staff attentive. Menu excellent - so much choice.

We had thee mains between two of us to share - not a request that phased them in any way. All of it was excellent.

Would return. Definitely.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“1 piece of cheese on toast - £4.95 ! Thanks for robbing my family!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We went here for breakfast during the half term week. Both my partner & I ordered a full english breakfast at £9.50 each. Expensive yes, but good quality none the less. However we asked for a portion of cheese on toast for our 6 year old and got more than we bargained for! Thank god we only asked for the 1 piece of bread when quizzed by the senior staff member(possible owner?). They had the cheek to charge us £4.95 for literally 1 piece of toast with some cheese ontop! Bloody Crooks. When I complained upon payment, stating that we weren't aware we was in rome, this senior deducted £1 off the bill. This left a bad taste in our mouths & if it hadn't been for the more reasonably priced digby tap, we certainly wouldn't be returning here or the town in protest. local establishments & tourism will suffer in sherbourne if this kind of practicce is allowed to go on with no action taken by the local tourist information centre - TAKE NOTE. I will warn all my friends in london to be careful of this kind of greed , worst still when we all presume that little market towns are suffering the recession & are begging for tourists to come & spend their hard earned cash & help keep the little economies afloat. The three wishes are GREEDY & SELFISH! You let the local businesses down - big time.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastburyReception, Owner at The Three Wishes, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for eating at The Three Wishes, I am pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast, but I am obviously very disappointed that you felt we overcharged you for your son's cheese on toast. I would completely agree with you that £4.95 is too expensive for one piece of toast with cheese on.

However in our defense It is always difficult for our staff members when a customer chooses something that is not on any menu, they have to think of a reasonable price for what has been given, on this occasion I would agree with you and say they made a wrong judgement.

As a policy we keep prices lower for Children's food to make it more affordable for families to come and enjoy our restaurant. All children's meals are priced at £4.95 with a choice of Our own recipe sausage, creamy mash and homemade baked beans. Homemade fishcake, crushed peas, Cornish sea salted chips and leafy salad. Linguine, tomato sauce, basil and Longman’s Cheddar cheese. Crispy chicken breast strips, Cornish sea salted chips and leafy salad. Our home-baked ham, fried free range egg and Cornish sea salted chips. Simple plain home-baked ham or Longman’s Cheddar sandwich, crisps and salad. This price also includes a dessert of ice cream and sauce or chocolate brownie with ice cream.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Three Wishes also viewed

Sherborne, Dorset
 

Been to The Three Wishes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Three Wishes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.