We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect anniversary treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Fleur de Lys

La Fleur de Lys
Bleke Street, Shaftesbury SP7 8AW, England
+44 1747 853717
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 37 Restaurants in Shaftesbury
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $41 - $51
Cuisines: French, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: We established the restaurant here in Shaftesbury over 20 years ago & have built up an enviable reputation for fine cuisine using some of the best quality ingredients to be found both locally & from afar, all expertly prepared & cooked to order by David & Marc. We invite you to come & enjoy a delicious Lunch or Dinner. Why don't you look at the current menus and wine list and choose what you will eat today.All dishes are cooked fresh to order by David & Marc, we cater for all tastes and diets but should you not find something you like from our menus, then please do ring to discuss your requirements. We will do our best to accommodate you. We also cater for small parties or groups and have weddings facilities for up to 40 Persons.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A perfect anniversary treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

At every point the meal was perfection. Every dish was crafted with care, and we were attentively but not disruptively cared for. It really is a hidden gem; in some ways it felt more like visiting someone for tea than a usual restaurant meal. If I had any criticism it would be the meal was relatively costly, but the standard of the food justified it. Book early as they fill up fast.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    11
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A bit of fine dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

If you want somewhere for a special dinner La Fleur de Lys is the place to go in Shaftesbury. It might look a bit formal from the outside, but it's comfortable and relaxed and all the staff are very friendly, and efficient. The food is really good. Not 'challenging' as seems to the trend these days ( I don't want to be challenged when I go out to eat), but intersting - things I wouldn't have thought of perhaps - there were great flavour combinations. We had the scallops starter, followed by wild boar and I had veal (not had this for years but it's English rose veal so that was alright) - it melted in the mouth. The deserts are everything deserts should be - indulgent or comforting, or both. For any smokers out there, there's a lovely little garden at the back. Very pleasant on a summer's evening with a coffee, a good Armagnac, and the relaxing trickle of the water feature. And excellent value for money.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We treated ourselves to a meal out at La Fleur de Lys,, not too long ago, and it was superb. The hospitality is second to none,attentive, but not overly so. The food is absolutely incredible. It is not a cheap night out, but it is certainly worth it, as a treat or for a celebration. all locally soured produce, expertly cooked to make it sing!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidgriffinshepherd, Owner at La Fleur de Lys, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to tell others about how much you enjoyed your visit to us, we really appreciate it & look forward to seeing you both again in the near future.
Kindest regards
David & Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“This is how it should be!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Walking into this beautiful restaurant, we were greeted by a pleasant young man who took our coats. We took a seat in the very comfortable lounge and enjoyed a few drinks while deciding what to eat from the delightful menu. Once we had decided, our orders were taken. Then just before our food was ready, we were shown through to our table to enjoy a wonderful 3 course meal. After which, we were invited to retire to the lounge to enjoy our coffee and brandy and some gorgeous petit fours. We both felt so relaxed, it was a completely unrushed dining experience . I thought the chef coming out to ensure we enjoyed our meal at the end was a great touch. We will be back to try something different soon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous Fleur de Lys”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We just returned from an outstanding dinner at the Fleur de Lys. The best meal we have had during our vacation so far, and we have had many fine meals. Even the vegetables were delicious, they were so fresh. Sumptuous dining, excellent wine and a very cozy dining room. The service was excellent. Although expensive compared to other places in Shaftesbury, it was well worth it if you want a special meal.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidgriffinshepherd, Owner at La Fleur de Lys, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Good Morning
We very much appreciate you taking the time to let others know how much you enjoyed your dinner here at La Fleur de lys. We always appreciate getting feedback from our guests and glad to hear how much you enjoyed your meal.
We trust you had a great stay in the UK and trust you will return again here in the future, have a safe journey home .

Kindest Regards
David & Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Fleur de Lys also viewed

 
Donhead Saint Andrew, Shaftesbury
 

Been to La Fleur de Lys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fleur de Lys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.