We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb, cannot find fault and we are fussy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Number 5 B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Number 5 B&B to your Saves list
Number 5 B&B
Number 5 Bimport, Shaftesbury SP7 8AT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 25 Shaftesbury B&B and Inns
Berkshire, UK
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
284 helpful votes 284 helpful votes
“Superb, cannot find fault and we are fussy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Beautiful decor, breakfast delicious and lots of choice, Kate and husband simply charming hosts. Every touch thought of from bottled water to toiletries to local chocolates. Bathrooms and bedrooms exceptionally decorated, Location excellent, beautiful walks and the town on doorstep, everything a perfect B&B should be. We too had the 2 rooms, but they are sufficiently self contained for It not to matter if you didn't know the occupant in the other. Very friendly lab, Molly, but like the owners absolutely not intrusive. Would definitely return, and sets a gold standard for us in terms of future B&B stays!

Room Tip: Either nice, the garden one great probably for summer/ warmer evenings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
15
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

A perfect nights stay!! We booked both rooms and it's a lovely building to look at from the outside...and that door handle!!

Excellent welcome; gentle but effective. The dog and cat help you too!
Both rooms were perfect. A decent size and....just comfortable!! Everything you would expect at a top B@B.
It was so nice to use the French windows to walk into the garden.

Breakfast was lovely; after a friends birthday party the breakfast was really looked forward to!! And it did not disappoint! Even papers to read (not all places do this simple thing...mind you it was disappointing to read how England failed to win the Six Nations; not the B&Bs fault!!).
An excellent location in the town and a lovely house.
Stay and enjoy!

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night apart from the cold draught through the old window, I found the place quite enchanting. The rooms are tastefully decorated and the bed very comfortable.
The breakfast was lovely I even took photos of the building to show my wife.
But fix those windows

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

One of the most beautiful places we've stayed: gorgeously Georgian. It evoked a lot of house envy! We appreciated and loved the careful attention to every detail a host could provide. The enormous bed meant a perfect night's sleep. The location is perfect to potter around Shaftesbury and there are great pubs/ restaurants within moments. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Stonington, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed for two nights at this charming B&B. We chose the smaller room with the shower, which which we found perfectly adequate--and I was impressed by the fluffy towels and the built-in closet. The breakfast was delicious and the room in which it was served was sunny, private and elegant. Shaftesbury itself is charming and the fact that this establishment is steps away from everywhere in the town you might want to be--well, that makes it ideal.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth,UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The house is in a wonderful position a stones throw from the centre of Shaftesbury with secure parking opposite.Lovely hosts and nice room downstairs with french doors to garden.En suite has no window,and the shower only good for hair washing as no curtain,The breakfast was great with fresh figs from the garden as well as the usual cooked fayre,all beautifully cooked.Tea and coffee in room with fresh milk.Bed was huge (six foot).Altogether a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: There are 2 rooms,the front one has a good shower.but is smaller and noisier as the road was busy in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We spent a night with Kate & Trevor at Five Bimport earlier in the week. Having spent a couple of days on a farm on the Somerset / Devon border, this beautiful Georgian town house couldn't have been more different in style, but equally unforgettable for its warmth, hospitality, design and charm.

Shaftesbury deserves a visit - a beautiful town perched on a hill, originally an Anglo-Saxon settlement, but with a thriving town centre with a very attractive independent feel. 5 Bimport is a perfect place to stay.

You park safely in the Trinity Church car park opposite the house and there are two basement rooms (both of which we took). One opens out onto a lovely little garden (and a welcome from a sweet black labrador in the morning) and the other looks up to the street. The decor is striking and the room facilities second to none.

Kate was a lovely host. She prepared a wonderful breakfast and gave useful advice about making the most of the visit (no one should miss Gold Hill and anyone of a certain age will recall the old Hovis ad shot here) and you should set aside a day to enjoy the town.

The breakfast / dining room is quite spectacular. With Kate's own art work adorning the walls (and available to purchase) it's a great way to spend the first couple of hours of the day.

The house itself is also memorable and, like the previous review I've made, we wish we'd spent another night here. We'll certainly be back though. Thanks Kate & Trevor.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Number 5 B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number 5 B&B

Address: Number 5 Bimport, Shaftesbury SP7 8AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Shaftesbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Shaftesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Number 5 B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 5 B&B Shaftesbury, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Number 5 B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.