We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Number 5 Bimport” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Number 5 B&B

Save Saved
You added Number 5 B&B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Number 5 B&B
Number 5 Bimport, Shaftesbury SP7 8AT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 25 Shaftesbury B&B and Inns
Luquillo, Puerto Rico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Number 5 Bimport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

What a wonderful find! We were traveling through England & needed a place to stay. The tourist office had a listing of local places. Checking out Number 5 Bimport, we decided to retire there. Such wonderful hosts Kate & Trevor Toms are. Our stay turned into two nights & we really enjoyed it. Lovely room with an exit to the garden was stunning. Great breakfast made & served by our gracious hosts. Will definitely stay there again. Great experience.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs, this is not the place for you. Rooms are located downstairs &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
11
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

What a smashing B&B. We had accomodation booked for a friend's wedding near Shaftesbury which fell through, leading me to give Number 5 a call. I'm so glad it did - the property is very impressive and the hospitality was warm and welcoming. We had a large room downstairs with a capacious and comfortable king-size bed. The en suite was missing a stand-alone shower, but the large and elegant bath tub felt wonderfully luxuriant in comparison. The breakfast was also really very good. There was plenty of choice and Trevor delivered a marvellous full English, all made with local ingredients.

We were able to come and go as we pleased and Kate and Trevor furnished us with whatever help and information we needed without being fussy or over-bearing. Trevor was even kind enough to give us a lift down the road when we couldn't get a cab at short notice.

All in all a very enjoyable stay. I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

This is a delightful well maintained period property in the town. The proprietors, Trevor and Kate are a lovely relaxed couple who are perfect hosts. Our room was in the basement with french doors that gave access to the garden. Everything about the room was great and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was high quality. We would return again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We had a brief but refreshing stay at No.5.
Traveling is always exhausting but the friendly welcome we received and our comfortable experience was certainly appreciated.
Every attention to detail had been considered, super quality beds, bed linen, towels, decor, even down to the mugs and glasses in the room were superior, a real treat and very unexpected.
We were rushing off to appointments and had little time to spare but we would have loved to have spent a leisurely morning reading the newspapers and drinking more coffee after our delicious breakfast in the tastefully decorated dining room if we'd had the chance !
We would totally recommend a stay at No.5

Room Tip: Front room has a shower, helpful if you are short of time like we were. Back room has a beautiful ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
binfield
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Brilliant accomadation..breakfast and hosts !!!very comfy bed and room even though it didn't have the garden view ! Delicious breakfast made from local produce ...Trevor and Kate were very friendly and helpful without being intrusive suggesting walks and places to eat and drink.Shaftesbury is a little gem with amazing views ..we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic find, my partner stayed here a few weeks ago visiting family, and said we would have to go back there to stay here as a couple, so this weekend (july 3 2012) presented the perfect opportunity. Well the place is fantastic, right in the centre of town yet lovely and quiet. The house was decorated beautifully. The rooms are large warm and very comfortable the bed is huge and sumptuous ( king size) the bathroom was great big and with a roll top bath , just right for a long soak. The room was very clean , the food great and all from local suppliers. You leave feeling refreshed and full and happy, the hosts Trevor and his lovely wife are wonderful and very welcoming. Will definatley being revisiting number 5 again. Oh and ask for the room at the back of the house is has a view of the lovely garden.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Number 5 B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number 5 B&B

Address: Number 5 Bimport, Shaftesbury SP7 8AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Shaftesbury
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Shaftesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Number 5 B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 5 B&B Shaftesbury, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Number 5 B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.