We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food in a special way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The King's Arms

The King's Arms
Bleke Street, Shaftesbury, England
01747 852746
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 39 Restaurants in Shaftesbury
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food in a special way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Wonderful food, but make sure you are hungry! delightful staff and reception. Noisy at times but this adds to the atmosphere. fully recommend the £5. lunch too. But book well in advance.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    0
    5
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Have just had lunch it was excellent it is obvious the chef has changed, get in quick, it's going to get very busy. the food is all home cooked. About time somewhere that has excellent pub food

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emneth wisbech
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Dissappointed!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Food was fine, service was a bit lacking especially having to ask for the bill three times, and I was a bit dissappointed in loss of atmosphere after being told it was the best place around.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Don't go there”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This was the second time we had gone in and a short while later gone out again,we will not be going a third time. The toilets were disgusting and not useable.
Very unfriendly place,we orderd a drink each and felt that was enough by the way we were dealt with. No one seems to care or be bothered you could sit there for hours and no one would bother about you or ask if you were ok.
Terrible place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Kings Arms should be folded!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We had eaten at this venue a couple of times before, probably a decade or more ago so perhaps I was naive to believe that a reasonable quality of food would still persist.

On arrival we took a seat at a table, only two other tables in use. A friendly young lady took our food order and delivered our diet Cokes. Then we waited for our soup starter. After about fifteen minutes it arrived. It was hot and tasted nice.

Another couple received their main course around the same time and they left quite quickly and there seemed to be a lot left.

Once finished our empty bowls were taken away and we waited and we waited. After some fifteen minutes I challenged the waitress and she said it was on its way. After another five minutes she appeared with our two orders of sausage and mash and onion gravy. The potato was quite lacking in form and was mushy rather than a rich inviting mash. There were three sausages. As we began my wife asked whether mine was hot, well no it was not. 'How about yours?" No.

I then went to the bar and told the bar tender that I wished to settle for the drinks and starter as we had waited too long for the main course and that now it had arrived it was not hot. She then had a problem with the till so I asked what we owed and she told me £10.50. With a £10 note n my hand I told her she would have to settle for that. She offered an apology and told me the chef was on his own. This is an excuse I have heard before in other places, when will people recognise that if they are going to open for business they must get temps in if the chef is alone.

A very bad experience and I would not revisit this establishment again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Manager at The King's Arms, responded to this review, October 26, 2014
The Pub Has Now Change Hands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The King's Arms also viewed

 
Shaftesbury, Dorset
 

Been to The King's Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The King's Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.