We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Countryside” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Coppleridge Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shaftesbury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Coppleridge Inn
Save
You added The Coppleridge Inn to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Motcombe | Shaftesbury, Shaftesbury SP7 9HW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 25 Shaftesbury B&B and Inns
Stade, Germany
1 review
“Lovely Countryside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We are from Germany and visited the Coppleridge Inn during our trip through South England and we ENJOYED it!
The cottage bedrooms are quite large and clean. The bath are very modern and included a shower. Breakfast was simple but delicious with eggs from their cute house chickens :). Also the dinner and the drinks at the bar tested exellent and enjoyed them outside whike looking at the beautyfull countryside The staff was very friendly an the atmosphere quitewarm-hearded.
All in all it was a very nice but too short stay at this sweet hotel. I'm sure that we will visite it again

Room Tip: Room No. 10 is very large and included to the normal double bed a single bed and a small sofa. All...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    25
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
27
33
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I've drafted this 5 times in the hope that I can convey how wonderful a weekend we had. But they were all terrible, so forgive me, I'm free styling.
We fell in love with the venue when we first visited, we knew we had to get married here, with it's incredible views, fabulous courtyard, great food and lovely country feel.
We went for a very relaxed feel to the whole weekend, and all of the staff at The Coppleridge were fantastic. Very patient with one or two of us too.
The rooms were well equipped, clean and huge! The roll top bath in our room was incredible, I could have stayed there all day!
The food, oh the food, was incredible. Thanks to the chef Phil, who worked incredibly hard behind the scenes ensuring everyone was well fed regardless of allergies etc. Everyone said how much they enjoyed the food and there was more than enough to feed us all.
So that leads me to Adam, Mr cool in a crisis, patience of a saint, wonderful Adam. We are not the easiest of couples to work with, mainly because we are so relaxed and laid back, but Adam made sure everything ran smoothly from beginning to end, He and his staff decorated the tables for dinner with no plan, as I had left that in my room! It looked amazing!
All the room changes were quick and invisible to all our guests, who were amazed at the transformation the barn went through as the day progressed.
The weather was incredible but it was definitely Adam's hard work that pulled our day together. I'll always remember our day. It was fantastic, and that was all down to you Adam and your fab team. I love you all - and we'll be back soon xx

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Booked in again with work collegues and it is still a hidden Gem, locals were fantastic as was the staff. Food was excellent and reasonably priced,rooms are the best we have ever stayed in and is fast becoming the hotel of choice when working in Dorset. Will definately be using again

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Wonderful room and splendid bathroom.Also what a comfortable bed at last !,and oh the peace and quiet was very special.Breakfast was excellent,but the dinner was disappointing,but we will return if for no other reason than that glorious silence,which is very rare now in this country.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the tennis courts have a great view of the countryside
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Myself, husband and two children stayed here for one night after a wedding nearby. We were greeted with a warm welcome and were able to check into our room before the stated time which was a huge help. Our room was spacious and very comfortable with a lovely bathroom. We had lunch in the inn which was delicious, as was breakfast the next day. Every member of staff we met was friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel with no hesitation.

Room Tip: All rooms are round a courtyard. We had room 3 which had a lovely free standing bath and large showe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had lunch with family members one December and were very impressed. My husband arranged a surprise birthday celebration for me some months later and we were not disappointed.
Lovely large room with excellent facilities and delightful view.
Dinner was delicious and breakfast was also very good.
This inn is run by people who care very much about the customer.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We read the Tripadvisor reviews and decided to have lunch at this Inn. We were not disappointed. We had a great lunch. The weather was good so we ate outside on the very pleasant terrace - with good views. The menu was extensive. I had haddock and chips - the batter and chips were crispy and the fish very fresh. The homemade tartare sauce was very tasty. My friend had the salmon and prawn salad and thought it was wonderful. We finished the meal with home-made ice-cream - some of the best we have tasted. Itis a good place for families as there is plenty of space for children. We will certainly return here to eat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Coppleridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coppleridge Inn

Address: Motcombe | Shaftesbury, Shaftesbury SP7 9HW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Shaftesbury
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Shaftesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Coppleridge Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
The Coppleridge Hotel Shaftesbury
The Coppleridge Inn Shaftesbury, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Coppleridge Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.