We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Standard” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN The Royal Chase Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN The Royal Chase Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN The Royal Chase Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Royal Chase Roundabout, Shaftesbury SP7 8DB, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Shaftesbury
Usk, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good Standard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stay at the Royal Chase every couple of months and the standard of rooms, service and food is always good. This time they have put a TV with Sky in the bar to keep us entertained. Friendly staff and welcome from all. Good breakfast and plenty of it. We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    62
    40
    21
    15
See reviews for
50
59
7
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stayed here for a few days last week and found it a very nice relaxing hotel. My room was quite large and nicely furnished. I particularly liked the restaurant. The decor, lighting and furnishings are really nice, the food is very good, particularly the homemade Ice Cream, and the service is very prompt. It is difficult to se how it could be better.
There is adequate car parking and the location of the hotel is very good, close to a roundabout allowing access to the main roads but just far enough back to ensure that there is no intrusive traffic noise.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here and the cleanliness defiantly needs looking at! The food isn't anything to rave about probably better then the local pub though but the bread was stale! Staff quite polite but quite off putting the chef painting the bar while we are having a drink! Maybe do the painting when guests aren't in there?

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

A gem of a hotel with great character and a really comfortable room with everything we needed. The poo and jacuzzi are a real bonus, and the staff are first class, especially Claire on Reception and Rosie in the Bar & Restaurant - friendly, helpful and efficient. Food is well-priced, delicious & served very promptly. This is a perfect location for exploring Shaftesbury & its surroundings. We will certainly go back! Book as early as possible for a good deal.

Room Tip: The Melbury room is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This Hotel may be a bit tired decor wise, but we just returned from a weekend at Royal Chase, and found it to be really clean, the staff were all very friendly and helpful and the cost of staying was reasonable.

The indoor Pool was a real treat, and we enjoyed every minute there. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Well were do I begin! The place itself is ok,
. The rooms are completely outdated. The only good points are the bathroom which was very nice with a hot tub bath and separate shower. It was also very clean. The bed was comfortable and tv was ok but all in all wasn't great. The weekend we went although we booked 6 weeks in advance we were called 5 days before we were due to arrive to let us know about a charitable event that was also going on at the hotel that night we couldn't change with the short notice and we said it would be fine, it WAS NOT!! The music was SOOOO loud and I'm 21 and I felt like I was in a night club it carried on til 12 it was just completely ridiculous! Other guests were just not cared for or thought of at all. The bar staff were soo busy doing up the room for the charity bash we were left waiting at the bar for a drink not really their fault the man working the bar and restaurant was especially helpful and nice i would have hired him personally he was very good, and a lady on reception was also nice. The restaurant food is very good although quite overpriced it was very nice. Overall I would not stay again and would not recommend after we were completely forgotten about and not cared for at all!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KINGSWINFORD
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I stayed here with work for 1 night last week.The room i had was very nice and cosy,i made use of the pool/sauna which was a nice area with plenty of room to smim and to chill out.Staff were friendly and breakfast was nice.I would reccomend anyone to stay here.I am not sure what the food is like because i walked to an indian restaurant which was approx 10 mins away.

Room Tip: Stay in the newer area unless you like history.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN The Royal Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN The Royal Chase Hotel

Address: Royal Chase Roundabout, Shaftesbury SP7 8DB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Shaftesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Shaftesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN The Royal Chase Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in the middle of Thomas Hardy country, this is possibly Dorset's friendliest hotel. Close to the centre of historic Shaftesbury, the hotel sits in its own grounds with its pristine lawns and surrounded by glorious Dorset countryside and the ample charms of Somerset and Wiltshire. Unspoiled, beautiful counties offering a wide range of attractions plus an abundance of rural peace and tranquility. Those not to be missed include Wilton House, Longleat, Stourhead, Stonehenge and of course Shaftesbury's very own Gold Hill. The Royal Chase is privately owned and part of a small chain of quality hotels in Dorset and Devon. Please look at our sister hotels, The Rembrandt Hotel in Weymouth and The Lord Haldon in Exeter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN The Royal Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Shaftesbury
Shaftesbury Best Western
BEST WESTERN The Royal Chase Hotel Shaftesbury, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN The Royal Chase Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.