We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impeccable service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grosvenor Arms

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Grosvenor Arms to your Saves list
The Grosvenor Arms
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Commons | High Street, Shaftesbury SP7 8JA, England (Formerly Hotel Grosvenor)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shaftesbury
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
488 reviews 488 reviews
123 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
813 helpful votes 813 helpful votes
“Impeccable service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

Arrived to the hotel, John the GM assisted us with our luggage, then showed us where to park the car (free of charge parking behind the hotel). He helped us with the Wi Fi connection and was very charming. We meet the owner which was also very lovely. It is a very nice hotel but needs a few changes. It is a boutique hotel of a good standard great service, with contemporary paintings on the walls.
We ere taken o our room, a standard room with a double bed, my husband did not like it as it had only a small double bed and the room faced the high street. ( the room had no double glazing). We asked to be upgraded (we were free of charge) and were willing to pay the extra charge. John showed us another room in the back of the hotel, much superior to the standard and said we could be moved there, but only for 1 night as the hotel was full the next day, we shall be moved back to our original booking the next day. We agreed. The room was very spacious indeed, it had a king size bed, very comfortable, a rather small TV for such a large room. The bathroom had a walk in shower with no bath. The toiletries and fine towels. It did not have any robs. The rooms do not have a non disturb sign, nor a book explaining about the area etc. The room did not have double glazing, so one could hear the dog barking next door for a while. There isn't any sound proofing a. s we could clearly hear next door. Around midnight all was silent and peaceful. The bar has an extensive wine collection, the service was impeccable. The next day wee were moved to our original booking - a standard room facing the high street on the 1st floor. The room is much smaller then the superior room, the sink is very small. There is not a shelf in he bath room to put our personal toiletries, again a walk in shower with no bath. after 2300, the noise from the street was incredibly loud. Groups of drunks were walking along the street and could be heard till 0445! Which is in fact when we finally fell asleep. Al this would have been stopped with double glazing or indeed secondary glazing. In the morning, we came down to breakfast and waited to be served for 15 minutes, as we were in a harry, my husband had to go to the kitchen to call on a waitress who indeed were laughing and chatting to her fellow colleagues in the kitchen. Her service was not good. We shall return to the hotel as the service and the food was brilliant, but never to stay in any of the rooms facing the high street.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    61
    35
    12
    3
See reviews for
26
142
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

My husband and I met up with friends for cocktails and dinner at this beautifully renovated and stunningly decorated new "boutique" hotel. After a fabulous dinner we stayed the night and had a delicious and leisurely breakfast the next morning before wandering about the picturesque little market town and heading home, feeling as though we'd had a wonderful 24 hr escape from real life.

The hotel is exceptionally good value - beautiful surroundings, a tranquil and chic atmosphere and delightful and professional staff don't usually come at this price! Our other friends had 2 young children staying, and the staff were fantastic with them too - a "grown up" hotel that manages to be both chic and unstuffy, easy for families or friends to meet, but elegant, romantic and spoiling for couples. The public spaces are fantastic - lots of different areas to linger over coffee or a cocktail on your own or with friends.

The rooms are spacious (even the standard doubles), with lovely decor (all rooms are individually decorated - I had a look at several!), the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in, and best of all a Bodum coffee/tea machine which makes delectable coffee. The bathrooms are very chic, all marble, with wonderful toiletries - it all feels smart and rather luxurious.

I/we will definitely be back - it's so refreshing to find a hotel which is actually about giving its customers what they want rather than showing off its own trendiness.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

What a great find. A beautiful boutique hotel. Room and service were impeccable.
Need to single out one thing - the fantastic chef and his restaurant. The food was delicious. Some of the best I've had in an English hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

We were looking for a meal in Shaftsbury and passed the Hotel Grosvenor. Husband had set menu which was 2 courses plus glass of wine for £15. I had two courses of a la carte for same amount - no wine.

The quality of the food was totally excellent. We eat out a lot and often feel sold short, but congratulations to the chef. The service was also very good and the environment was a delight. Would love to go back and stay in newly refurbished hotel in lovely setting.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

We stayed here for just one short night and wished we could have stayed longer. Very friendly and discreet service, completely delicious food, a REALLY comfortable bed and gorgeous products in the bathroom. It felt very glamorous and luxurious. We'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

We booked our weekend at Hotel Grosvenor after reading reviews on Tripadvisor and seeing it mentioned on Sawday's site. We had high expectations and we weren't disappointed.Upon arrival at the hotel we were taken to a beautifully chic lounge and provided with tea and coffee. Our bags were taken to our room and when we followed, we were just blown away. Stylish furnishings, wonderful toiletries, crisp white bedding and the list goes on. We had chosen to have dinner in the hotel on each of our 3 nights and are so pleased that we did. The dining room is stylish and contemporary and the food is sublime. We chose the fixed menu on night one ( just £25) and were staggered at the quality, presentation, taste and attention to detail. Mark Treasure the chef is indeed a treasure ( we actually did a cookery course on the Monday morning before leaving and can only recommend that if you can book a place then do so!) and every dish was a delight. the same is true for each of the meals that we ate. The bar area is stylish, the cocktails ( try The Grosvenor ) sublime and the staff without exception a joy. We are already planning our next trip... by the way, Shaftesbury itself is a gem as is Sherborne which is fantastic for shopping - if eating in Sherborne try " The Green" but you'll need to book.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2010

This hotel has been lusciously refurbished and makes for a gorgeous getaway. The staff are wonderful, friendly and professional, nothing is too much trouble. My room was extremely attactive, appointed to a very high standard with a very comfortable bed - which is a rarity these days, and fine Italian bed linen. We dined in the restaurant and were delighted by the exceptional quality of the cuisine. Thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grosvenor Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grosvenor Arms

Address: The Commons | High Street, Shaftesbury SP7 8JA, England (Formerly Hotel Grosvenor)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Shaftesbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shaftesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grosvenor Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Grosvenor Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grosvenor Arms Shaftesbury, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grosvenor Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.