We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grosvenor Arms

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Grosvenor Arms to your Saves list
The Grosvenor Arms
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Commons | High Street, Shaftesbury SP7 8JA, England (Formerly Hotel Grosvenor)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shaftesbury
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We've just spent a weekend here. A good central location and tastefully renovated building. Our room was lovely: elegant decor, really comfortable bed, excellent en suite, great coffee machine. Friendly and very helpful staff. Impressive food, with locally sourced ingredients. One of the best breakfast menus we've ever found, and a very good evening meal, especially the sea bass. We'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    61
    35
    12
    3
See reviews for
26
142
4
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Lovely welcome, great new look and really friendly staff.
Locally sourced menu was varied and food we ordered was delicious.
Children all had pizzas and loved watching them being made.
Highlight for them was the nutella pizza for pudding.
Looking forward to going again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I heard through a local that it may be worth a trip to Shaftesbury, I was not disappointed great to see "gold hill" home of the hovis ad. even better was finding Grosvenor Arms. A smart classic building with a simple and great restaurant bar.

Food was simple, rustic and modern but still presented with care, and a kitchen that can cook. We tried several dishes quinoa with wild mushrooms, scallops from Lyme Bay, simple and delicious and not expensive. Main dish simple roast partridge (£12.50 a bargain) and fresh sea bass. Finished by sharing brioche with figs and vanilla ice cream.

Service was a little amateur but nice smiles, whilst food missed a little it was great value go now before they get busier and prices will have to increase

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mere, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Shopping in Shaftesbury saw the sign outside saying pizzas from a wood burning oven went in to have lunch. Newly refurb'd stripped floor open plan in the kitchen area. We sat in the conservatory with limestone pavior floors, nice but it needed some plantings to make it less stark. The staff were very attentive and brought the menus over right away. Italian theme menu but not a lot of choice especially for the pizza but a bit pricey too. Ordered a salami pizza and my wife had the linguine, no drinks just water. Food came fairly quickly and the pizza was very thin and crispy, however, and I hope the management take note, I have been eating pizzas since the early '70s and guys there was just not enough tomato or cheese. The outside of the pizza was barn and a little charred, but what was there was tasty. The pasta according to my wife was a little oily, especially if you were trying to eat a little healthy.
However the little lad sitting near by wad absolutely thrilled with his Nutella pizza for desert.
I hope the management would look at their menu and perhaps offer a lunchtime special, maybe £9.99 for two courses. We felt £22.50 for two without drinks was a little steep.
We will probably go in again when we are in town only to see if things have changed.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

V dissapointed. Room dusty and luxury description far from right. Having a coffee machine not luxury! Downstairs looks great I agree but 2 girls running sunday bfast first wkend in oct v poor. Kept apologising for wait and asking if we wanted anything. Just breakfast pls! Felt ripped off for price

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We were visiting Shaftesbury and choose to have a light lunch at The Grosvenor Arms. What a delightful place. The service was excellent, the food was very good and the ambiance was idyllic. It appears the hotel has been recently refurbished. What an excellent job they've done. I'd happily visit again and would love to stay the night. The dinner menu looks great! What a gem!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

What a find, my mum, daughter and step dad found ourselves in shaftesbury in the pouring rain last night, too early for dinner anywhere and not keen on going to a traditional pub with my 9 year old we wandered into the Grosvenor Arms. What a joy to discover they have a small persons pizza menu and are not averse to letting the adults tuck into it too. For an incredible £4.00 per pizza my daughter spent a happy half an hour sitting on the stools by the beautiful pizza oven watching her tea being cooked and chatting with the friendly pizza chef while mum and my step dad and i enjoyied a drink. The pizzas were delicious, thin crust, just perfect and the kids can give their "input" on toppings. They are easily big enough for a light-supper for adults and a great tea for little people. As we were being greedy we ordered the Grosvenor burger between us too! If i was hyper critical the tiniest bit too well done, but the chips were sublime and relish mouthwatering! The hotel has just had a refurb and although I think there are a few teething issues, when you walk in you, are not totally sure where to go first, (the general manager told us they have had delays due to planning and other issues) its a warm and inviting atmosphere and the decor beautiful. We will definitely be back for more!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grosvenor Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grosvenor Arms

Address: The Commons | High Street, Shaftesbury SP7 8JA, England (Formerly Hotel Grosvenor)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Shaftesbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shaftesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grosvenor Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Grosvenor Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grosvenor Arms Shaftesbury, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grosvenor Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.