We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cosy interior and excellent food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sienna

Sienna
36 High West Street, Dorchester DT1 1UP, England
+44 (0)1305 250022
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 108 Restaurants in Dorchester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $92 - $92
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“cosy interior and excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

My partner and I booked a table to dine here for our 5 year anniversary. I had heard rumours that the wait list was very long, but we decided to contact the restaurant on the off chance that there might be a table available two days prior to our visit, and we were indeed successful.

There are two "sittings" in the evening, one at 7pm and one at 8.30pm.

As my partner is intolerant to some foods, this was taken into account and the lady attending us gave us a personalised menu catering to these special dietary requirements. Often, many restaurants do not do this, simply marking the menu items with an asterisk or a symbol, and I felt that this personalised touch was a delight.

We took the tasting menu, and I was impressed by the presentation of the food. It was clear that each dish was prepared just before we were presented with it, and the food was of a very high quality. Some reviews have mentioned the length of wait time, but one surely does not dine in such an establishment for a hurried experience. I enjoyed being able to converse at leisure over meticulously prepared dishes.

I heartily recommend this restaurant. We left feeling satisfied, with good memories on our anniversary and the name of a restaurant I am sure we will revisit in the future.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena B, Owner at Sienna, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review, and we're delighted you enjoyed your evening with us. It's always worth a call to see if we have a table as, other than Saturdays, we're not always booked up as far in advance as you might think!

Also, rather than sittings, we do spread our booking times out between 7pm & 9pm so that your table is yours for the whole evening. To check up to the minute availability, it's best to call us on 01305 250022.

We hope to see you again soon,

Best wishes,

Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    17
    11
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

the food was the best i have ever had! would recommend it to anyone. some reviews say the service was slow however it is nice to be given time to relax and enjoy the company your with and not being pounced on! the service was a nice relaxed speed and extremely welcoming! i do have to agree with some of the décor comments however with excellent food of high quality and brilliant standard of cooking it really doesn't matter!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kintbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A little gem!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I am perhaps being a little harsh in not awarding a fifth star, my reasons are neither the food or service which our whole party enjoyed very much. We were a table of four; each of us selected the "tasting" menu as well as requesting that each course be served with a wine/beverage to compliment. None of us regretted our decision, all very fresh, tasty and very well presented.

Sienna is small; I think we counted just 14 seats, in itself not an issue; however I feel that perhaps the "environment" could be developed to offer a little more "intimacy" or "character" to equal the quality of fare and service on offer.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Deserves its Michelin star.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

A small, top end restaurant, serving excellent local produce. Owned and run by a talented couple. Sensible to make a reservation as it soon gets booked up, being very popular.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Incredible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I have been to Sienna twice - once before and then once after it gained a Michelin Star. It is utterly fantastic in terms of food and service, and the atmosphere is very good bearing in mind how small the restaurant is!

Interestingly, after our first visit, we were constantly raving about the food here compared to Michelin-starred restaurants we had been to at the time - a few months later it gained the star. Much deserved.

Cannot wait to go back!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sienna also viewed

 
Dorchester, Dorset
 

Been to Sienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sienna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.