We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aquila Heights Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dorchester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aquila Heights Guest House
Save
You added Aquila Heights Guest House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   44 Maiden Castle Road, Dorchester DT1 2ES, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 50 Dorchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We spent five nights in Aquila Heights and it was just like the great Trip Advisor reviews had said. It became a perfect basis for our exploration of Dorset - with top breakfast (try great kippers poached with butter!), a nearby bus stop towards Weymouth, a picturesque town centre within a walking distance, great traveller´s advice from Joan, a very friendly B´n´B owner, loads of leaflets, maps and bus schedules and a proximity of one of the most spectacular British historic sights - Maiden Castle, an Iron Age hill fort, Aquila Heights added to a top experience we had in Dorset. The area is very quiet at night, the room is spotless, bathroom has a lovely strong shower and there is a huge selection of toiletries. In addition, the room No.5 where we were staying has a wonderful view of Maiden Castle! Priceless!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
32
12
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coleraine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

A very enjoyable stay at Aquila Heights. Good location on the outskirts of the town within walking distance of the town centre. We stayed in the garden suite (double bed + two single beds for our daughters in an adjoining alcove). Facilities in room were good - having a DVD player was very useful with children - and there was ready access to garden. Breakfast menu was excellent - as good or better than any hotel. Warm welcome and very good value for money.

Room Tip: Garden suite good for families with children, although a little warm in very hot weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

A good location in residential area yet an easy walk into town. We had a spacious, light and very clean room, with the biggest choice of toiletries I have ever seen in a hotel or B&B. Very warm welcome, nothing was too much trouble, and breakfast was freshly cooked with good quality ingredients. Aquila Heights rightly deserves top ranking in Dorchester

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I very much doubt if there is a better B and B in the country than AQUILA HEIGHTS. Every need is catered for in a friendly and professional way. The standard of cleanliness is excellent and the choices for breakfast could hardly be matched by a 5 star hotel. The ensuite bedrooms are delightful and even wifi catered for. Joan and Michelle couldn't be better hosts. They have set a standard that will be difficult for anyone to surpass.

Room Tip: If there was a swimming pool and fitness centre they would be excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Aquila Heights is an outstanding B&B guaranteed to make the best visit to Dorchester even better. The owner is friendly and very helpful, going out of her way to ensure guests have a comfortable stay and the rooms are well appointed and spotlessly clean. Breakfast includes the widest range of cereals you can imagine, and a number of variations on the full English breakfast. This was my third visit and I will happily return for a fourth.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I stayed with my boyfriend and my sister for 2 nights. The owner was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was exceptional. This B&B was a real surpise, clean, calm - just perfect.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Quiet yet very convenieint location; wonderful welcome and increidible breakfast. But what makes it special are the many details that attend to every guests' comfort. I would be extremely hard pressed tofind even the smallest fault or suggestion. The only problem now is how dissapointing every other B & B by comparison!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aquila Heights Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquila Heights Guest House

Address: 44 Maiden Castle Road, Dorchester DT1 2ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Dorchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquila Heights Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aquila Heights Guest House offers a selection of seven light, bright and airy bedrooms furnished and decorated to enhance their individual ambiance and charm • Visit England 4 Stars accreditation plus Silver and Breakfast Awards • Free Wi-Fi • Free Parking • Excellent award winning Breakfast Menu designed to cater for all tastes and dietary requirements - individually cooked to order • Locally sourced products and fresh local produce in season are used whenever possible • LCD bedroom Televisions with Freeview • Generous hospitality trays with a beverage selection • Ground floor Garden Room Suite with level wheelchair access and full facilities for guests with reduced mobility • Prestigious, peaceful location with panoramic views towards the ramparts of Maiden Castle Iron-age hill fort, Hardy's Monument and Came Down (Golf Course - original home of the Ryder Cup) • Short walk to Dorchester's historic Town Centre, two mainline train stations, New Brewery Square development, the Duchy of Cornwall's Poundbury, and all local amenities • Ideal central location to visit Dorset's World Heritage Jurassic Coast - Lulworth Cove, Durdle Door, Weymouth, Isle of Portland, Chesil Bank, Abbotsbury, Bridport's West Bay [ITV's Broadchurch] and Lyme Regis • Cyclists and Walkers Welcome • Secure overnight cycle storage and wet clothes drying available • We are pleased to welcome guests for short or longer stays with seasonal room rates all inclusive of Breakfast and VAT • ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aquila Heights Guest House Dorchester, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aquila Heights Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.