We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Authentic Italian Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Caverna

La Caverna
57 Icen Way, Dorchester DT1 1EW, England
(01305) 262 500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 108 Restaurants in Dorchester
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
dorset
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Authentic Italian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Went here for a friends birthday and it really was a memorable evening! the food is fantastic - real authentic Italian food. Delicious flavours, beautifully cooked and great owners. It really is a hidden gem in dorchester as it is tucked away but this place is a proper Italian experience and instead of going to a awful high street chain!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    32
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Powys, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Italian food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My partner and I were staying overnight in Dorchester on route to a few nights break in Devon. We came across La Caverna whilst we were driving around to find a bed and breakfast. We hadn't booked and with it being a Friday evening they were full but they found us a table for half an hour later.

The food was excellent and the restaurant has a very rustic and authentic atmosphere. I woud definitely recommend it to anyone.

When we went to pay the owners were sitting having a drink and they invited us to have one with them. They were very welcoming and friendly.

Overall a very enjoyable evening :-)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“One of the most memorable meals of my life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We went two consecutive nights of a two-night stay in Dorchester to La Caverna because we were so impressed after the first meal, and the second was even better. It really was one of those dining experiences that you look back on as among the best of your life so far.
As other reviews indicate, appearances here are deceptive because from street entrance level you have no idea what awaits. Suffice to say it`s a most unusual and inviting ambience downstairs.
Service is wonderful, food utterly delicious.
The Sea Bass I had on the second evening was cooked to perfection. I chose the second (of three) options for this dish - just with butter, garlic and lemon - because it`s a fish that I think is so lovely as not to need much besides itself. The plate of vegetables and the sauté potatoes went beautifully with it, as did the House White (a Trebiano, I think). The desserts are amazing, also. There was just a kind of elegant simplicity to the food I had, with flavours to die for.
Thank you to everyone at La Caverna for our two wonderful evenings with you. We really will remember them all our lives, and would recommend you to anyone and everyone.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We were recommended to this place by the owner of where we were staying and we wasn't disappointed. The food was excellent its cooked fresh and is very tasty. The restaurant is actually in the cellar and gets very busy so booking is advisable. We would were very impressed with the whole experience

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“lovely meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Went here with friends. Nice atmosphere. Good food. Freshly prepared. Will definitely be visiting this restaurant again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Caverna also viewed

 
Dorchester, Dorset
Dorchester, Dorset
 

Been to La Caverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Caverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.