We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum yum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Caverna

La Caverna
57 Icen Way, Dorchester DT1 1EW, England
(01305) 262 500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 108 Restaurants in Dorchester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dorset
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Yum yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

La Caverna is that little gem of a restaurant tucked away from the high street, and you would never know it was there unless it was recommended or you found it by chance. I am a returning customer, I love the food it's cooked with passion by a excellent sicilian chef. My personal favourite dishes are so defiantly the fish..love your Fritto Miso and its a must try! La Caverna is no doubt the best restaurant in Dorchester, it's quaint and unique with its restaurant seated in the cellar. Thumbs up from me!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    34
    9
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We came upon La Caverna when looking for somewhere to eat in Dorchester and what a gem we found! The food was delicious, especially the scallop and puy lentil special as well as the best Carbonara I've ever tasted! All cooked to order too! The Sicilian chef and his wife have created delightful friendly atmosphere.We shall definitely revisit when next in Dorchester.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francoipaf, Owner at La Caverna, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you. We do our best. So glad you liked it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“great little place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Unpretentitious and genuine-feeling true Italian family-run restaurant - NOT a chain! Great food, attentive staff. One drawback for someone with mobility or claustrophobia problems might be that you have to descend a narrow and slightly dark stairway to get to the eating area - hence 'La Caverna!' Have eaten here quite a few times and never disappointed, the service is particularly good.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Really Italian Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Excellent food every time we come. The service is impeccable and the Scampi Amore and Pasta Carbonara are fantastic!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Consistently great, authentic italian meals served in a great atmosphere in a querky subterranium location. You'll love the painted walls! The head Chef is Sicilian and very passionate about his food. "La Cav" is our favourite restaurant - so we just keep going back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Caverna also viewed

 
Dorchester, Dorset
 

Been to La Caverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Caverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.