We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good stay at the Kings Arms Dorchester” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Kings Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Kings Arms Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Kings Arms Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 High East St, Dorchester DT1 1HF, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Dorchester
West Sussex
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very good stay at the Kings Arms Dorchester”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights bed and breakfast, we had room 209 which was large and very clean, everything we needed. The hospitality from David in the bar who was very polite and accommodating also Selena who we found very good at her job nothing was too much trouble, from the pleasant lady and her staff on reception. Our room was very clean.
Congratulations to all the kind members of staff who went out of their way to make sure our stay was enjoyable.
We stayed from sat 19july to Monday 21st.
Best wishes and hope to stay with you again.
Bill and Gill Brandon.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    108
    46
    24
    9
See reviews for
26
114
12
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hundon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I stayed there for one night on business. I was annoyed to have to shower and shave in stone cold water in the morning. The organge juice at breakfast was off and had gone fizzy as they top up the jug day after day without emptying it. When I checked out, another customer was complaining that he didn't have hot water either. When I complained the receptionist said that I was exaggerating and that the boiler although broken, had only been off for a short time. I then mentioned that the orange juice had gone rotten and she informed me that 'I only work here, what do you want me to do' and exited through the back door of the office and wouldn't return. A simple apology and explanation would have sufficed. So, in summary, tired hotel, rude staff. Could I recommend it? No.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else if you want hot water. My room was at the front of the hotel, there is no double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Devon
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

As mentioned by other reviewers this hotel in central Dorchester is ideally situated for exploring the surrounding area and beyond. The nearby resorts of Weymouth and Swanage for example are within easy reach as well as many other tourist sites - e.g National Trust Properties, including Corfe Castle. Public Transport in and out of Dorchester is good with bus or train services serving many locations so you can leave the car behind and relax.
With the hotel being mentioned in Thomas Hardy's "The Mayor of Casterbridge" you can gauge that there is quite a bit of history attached to it and it does not have the modern layout one finds in so many hotels of today. A "holiday hotel" it is not and it stokes a compromise catering for most needs.
We were fortunate to have a ground floor superior room and negotiated a discounted rate for a four night stay. This gave us a very spacious suite although fairly sparsely furnished. Facilities were no more than one gets in most hotels these days and like other reviewers I have to agree that, even with the discount, it was substantially overpriced. I would have expected Dinner, Bed and Breakfast for the price we paid not just Bed and Breakfast. It was a very hot four days and there was only a fan to cool the room. Being at the back of the hotel was an advantage.
The quality of the food for breakfast was generally good - particularly the selection of fruit and cereals. The hot breakfasts were a bit hit and miss - the scrambled egg one morning had possibly been cooked the night before! However, mostly it was ok. The toaster was slow. Service varied from very good to slow and on the last day a more senior person on duty was more intent on trimming the foliage then serving customers. When she did clear plates she made sure every one knew by making a lot of noise!
We only had one evening meal as we were not inspired by the menu which did not vary.

Room Tip: Try negotiating a better deal than advertised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I had a short break at the Kings Arms in Dorchester. The hotel is a Best Western chain hotel but it has kept its roots as an old coaching inn. The room I had was a double but small, and the bathroom was tiny. You get all the usual tea and coffee facilities and fee bottled water but as its an old building there is no airconditioning, also for security the windows dont open fully. That is my only negative, but understandable.
We had dinner in the resturant and the portion size was excellent and the choice was very good. Free parking at the hotel and free wifi.

Room Tip: If your travelling in the summer ask for a room with fully opening windows and a fan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

A very short notice business trip to Portland , and a lack of available rooms in Weymouth on one night of my visit saw me end up staying in Dorchester . The one night stay was ok , but the room was in need of updating. However it was very clean , soft towels and plenty of tea coffee and milk .
The bar was well stocked and staff very friendly and helpful
Breakfast was superb , great choice of cereals and fruit , and the list available for the fried option had something for everyone and was very very nice.
Would stay again , but would prefer to be closer to my work location

Room Tip: Rooms facing the main High Street can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Whilst the Best Western Kings Arms Hotel in Dorchester is pleasant enough and clean, there are a few drawbacks to a stay there.
The first is the layout. The building is old (c.1720) and suffers from having a lot of stairs, even after one has used the lift. Quite often, there may be 15 or more stairs to negotiate between the lift and one's room, which, for the less able-bodied, or for those with heavy suitcases, represents a real problem. The staircases and fire-doors also tended to be narrow, which compounds the problem.
Secondly, the temperature of the water in the shower in my room was nigh-on impossible to regulate. A minuscule twist of the hot tap would either result in scaldingly hot water being fired at my naked skin, or in cold water suddenly giving me a surprise during a soaping. Not ideal, in either case.
The hotel is generally well-kept, and is clean, and staff are neither intrusive nor unhelpful. Add to these the hotel's very central location, and a stay at the Kings Arms may make sense to those on a budget.

Room Tip: Ask the hotel for a room near to the lift if you have problems with mobility, or dislike stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Kings Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Kings Arms Hotel

Address: 30 High East St, Dorchester DT1 1HF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Dorchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Kings Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Kings Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dorchester
Dorchester Best Western
BEST WESTERN Kings Arms Hotel Dorchester, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Kings Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.