We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something between Amazing and Strange!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Kings Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Kings Arms Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Kings Arms Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 High East St, Dorchester DT1 1HF, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Dorchester
Mönchengladbach
1 review
“Something between Amazing and Strange!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2008

It's a pretty old building at the main street, near the city
Service is very good, friendly employees and the waiter is an attraction you must have seen!!
The food is good, yummy!!

But before you get to your room you have to make a journey!
upstairs, downstairs, right, upstairs, left, up and down the stairs again,... something like this!

Unless you reach your room it's okay.
a great bed, table, chairs, paper and envelopes, radio, TV, alarm clock, bath with tube!
And be carefull, in some bathrooms the ground might be slope!!
At the end, if I'll need a hotel in the near Dorchester, I'll be back *G* and check in at the Best Western!

  • Liked — the waiter alone is worth the trip
  • Disliked — too many stairs up and down to the room
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    95
    42
    21
    9
See reviews for
23
101
11
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cumbria
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2008

Stayed just the one night. The Hotel was comfotable, clean and very friendly staff. Reception area requires refurbishing. The bedroom was clean and comfatable. The toilet seat was very comfatable, theese things are very important. lol. Breakfast looked excellent. I arrived for breakfast 07.15 cooked breakfast was arriving bit by bit. First beans 5 mins later bacon 5 mins later eggs etc... it was 07.45 by the time it all arrived, this was ok for me, but buisness men had only half their breakfast as they could not wait. Still i would recomend this hotel, great location, easy parking.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — recepion area, requires pa\intwork
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2008

It was okay -- but room quality was spotty. One room was huge and sparsely furnished and the other was cramped, low-ceilinged (I hit my head on the ceiling) and had terrible ventilation.
The restaurant was just average. I expected better food. The parking lot was cramped and the alloted space for my car was too small. There is a much better hotel almost right next door -- and their food is superior too.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2008

I've just returned from a two night stay at this hotel. First impressions were good, reception staff were very friendly and the building was beautiful - I was impressed to learn it had featured in the Thomas Hardy novel The Mayor of Casterbridge. The room was average, not what I would have expected for the money I paid, but I made allowances for the age of the building. The problems started soon after. There was no air conditioning which is understandable, the building is a few hundred years old, however I would have expected to have been able to open the window and have it stay open. After several attempts we managed to hold it open using first the ashtray and then, when it became unbearably stuffy, the information folder. Our toilet had a temperamental flush and the light in the bathroom would blink and hum for 10-15 minutes before coming on.

On the first night we went down to the bar to meet some friends - again a nice bar with original touches and a nice atmosphere. As it was pouring down outside we decided to eat in the hotel. The restaurant was full but we were told by the reception staff that we could order the same food in the bar, so we decided to do that. We ordered the food and then waited an hour and ten minutes, at which point we asked if there was a problem. We were told the restaurant was really busy which had held our order up, but that it would be another five minutes. Fifteen minutes later we asked again and were told that they had a function on and our order would be a while yet. This was now 8.45pm. We decided to go out and get fish and chips from a local takeaway and brought them back to the bar. We were given our first morning's meal free as compensation, however this was not offered we had to ask. As there were 6 of us and we had been waiting almost an hour and a half, I felt that something should have been offered early on. Breakfast was fine, although the second morning was very unorganised. There was a constant queue for food because they weren't replenishing things quickly enough. The waiting staff seemed unsure of who they had spoken to and who they hadn't.

Having said that the staff were all very friendly and the place was clean. I probably wouldn't stay there again as I didn't think it was worth the money. We paid £89 per night not including breakfast which was another £15 on top! £104 a night for a 3* hotel?! I don't think so. Especially as the Casterbridge Hotel a few doors down (AA Rated 5*) is £99-£110 per night B&B.

  • Liked — the history
  • Disliked — the cost!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2008

Stayed just one night, managing to get a Superior Room (The Elizabeth) for just £49 - breakfast extra @ £6.95. So B & B worked out at £63 for the two of us.

The room was across the car park in a seperate small building, and was like an apartment. Although a little inconv. when raining, well worth it the 10yd. dash.

There was a hallway with a large cupboard for coats etc.
A large, clean bathroom with his & hers sinks. A bath with jacuzzi !!
The bedroom was huge, complete with large 4 Poster bed, 2 large armchairs in front of a 42" screen TV. Also a dressing table and chair, and a dining table and chairs.

All the rooms were clean, comfortable and warm.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful - cheerful too.

The dining room was not open, so a very pleasant evening meal was taken in the cosy, warm bar area.

Free car park was a bonus.

Overall, a short but very pleasant stay at a traditional cosy hotel.

  • Liked — Warm traditional hotel + friendly staff - great value.
  • Disliked — noise from generator nearby during the night.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Kings Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Kings Arms Hotel

Address: 30 High East St, Dorchester DT1 1HF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Dorchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Kings Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Kings Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dorchester
Dorchester Best Western
BEST WESTERN Kings Arms Hotel Dorchester, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Kings Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.