We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“check before you book” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Kings Arms Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Kings Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Kings Arms Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 High East St, Dorchester DT1 1HF, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 hotels in Dorchester
high wycombe
1 review
“check before you book”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

i stayed at this hotel on august 2nd this year. We were given room 106 and told there was a wedding at the hotel that day. Beware of room 106 - it looks out over the kitchen extraction and is immediately over the Disco Room . The noise from the wedding disco was so bad that the floor was vibrating and we could hear it even with the TV cranked up to full volume! Whoever did the room allocation did not have enough brain to keep non wedding people well away from it - a room on the 2nd floor and overlooking the road would have saved the day! We paid over £120 for the room - I have paid £50 for similar elsewhere. Breakfast was good though.

Room Tip: dont go at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    82
    36
    17
    9
See reviews for
21
85
10
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Encountered a cocktail of really pleasant and plainly unhelpful and rude staff. It would be a good idea to keep the pleasant staff at the reception at all times as this makes or breaks the hotel's impression for a guest. The restaurant provided some rather nice food, it's a shame the £10.00 room service charge denies many guests the comfort of having this luxury in their hotel rooms which is quite different from most Best Western hotels I've been to. The breakfast range is quite wide, which is good to set one off in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 01305 265353.
Yours sincerely,
Donna Rado
Duty Manager
BEST WESTERN Kings Arms Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clonmel, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Based on the things we value
Location: Great location for exploring Dorset - very central. South of Cerne Giant and north of a fantastic coastline from which our highlights were Golden Cap and Lulworth Cove. Dorchester itself is home to Miaden Castle but apart from that we were really just passing through so can't comment.
Room: The room was a standard double and it was fine - nothing special - weather was very hot and the fan helped when left by open window - no aircon.
Wifi: Free and good signal.
Public Space: Overall the hotel was a little dated but clean and appeared to be well run. Public spaces were functional but nothing special.
Value for money: A litle expensive for the standard.
Quality of Food: We went room only and didn't eat there so no comment.
Friendliness of staff. All of the staff we encountered were lovely.
General: Fine as a base for going out and about but wouldn't necessarily recommend for an extended stay. Can't complain overall though.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Sir
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 01305 265353.
.
Yours sincerely,
Donna Rado
Duty Manager
BEST WESTERN Kings Arms Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The Living Literature Society hosted a memorable Thomas Hardy Weekend at the King’s Arms Hotel in Dorchester Dorset. Bags of character, this is the very hotel featured in Hardy’s ‘Mayor of Casterbridge'. It also provided the perfect base for a two day tour of Hardy’s Wessex. The hotel chef presented members with a beautifully prepared three- course gala dinner in the spectacular Casterbridge Room where, in the novel, the Mayor was seen through the window from the street by the wife he'd auctioned off years earlier. Here, after coffee and dessert, The Hardy Players presented an atmospheric theatrical and musical Hardy miscellany. The food and service maintained its high standard throughout our stay. This hotel was also where Thomas Hardy met Robert Louis Stevenson when Stephenson was travelling to Dartmoor for his health. Our en- suite rooms were spacious and comfortable, and the hearty English breakfast almost rendered lunch unnecessary.

Room Tip: Choose the room at the back for the most peaceful night's sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Mr Lamb and Guests
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 01305 265353.

Yours sincerely,
Donna Rado
Duty Manager
BEST WESTERN Kings Arms Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We arranged a family meal at the King's Arms on a Saturday evening. The office staff could not have been more helpful in setting it up for us and the bar staff and waitresses were also great. We all stayed the night and the rooms were spacious and very clean. The meal was excellent and very reasonably priced and the breakfast was also very good.All in all a brilliant weekend.

Room Tip: We stayed in the elizabeth suite, it was large and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Mr Chandler,
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 01305 265353.
Yours sincerely,
Donna Rado
Duty Manager
BEST WESTERN Kings Arms Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

A lovely old Hotel in the middle of Dorchester friendly helpful staff and the rooms are clean and comfortable. As an Old coaching inn this is not a modern hotel but it has bags of character and fits its setting perfectly. It was a real treat staying here and would thoroughly recommend it if visiting the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Colin,
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 01305 265353.
Yours sincerely,
Donna Rado
Duty Manager
BEST WESTERN Kings Arms Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST SUSSEX
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed at this hotel whilst exploring the area. We had no trouble parking in the car park even though the hotel was full one night of our stay.The hotel is old but has a certain character.
Our room overlooking the car park was large with settee and king size bed, shame that it was a bit hard to sleep comfortably on, room also had a 50 inch television. The mixer shower in the bath was difficult to regulate and was always too hot.
Breakfast was excellent and the staff friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Kings Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Kings Arms Hotel

Address: 30 High East St, Dorchester DT1 1HF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 hotels in Dorchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Kings Arms Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Kings Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dorchester
Dorchester Best Western
BEST WESTERN Kings Arms Hotel Dorchester, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Kings Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.