We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Great Guest House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of westwood house guest house

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added westwood house guest house to your Saves list
westwood house guest house
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29 High West Street, Dorchester dT1 1UP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Dorchester
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely Great Guest House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We visited the Westwood House last weekend for a flying trip to a friend's wedding. I cannot recommend enough or compliment Tom and his wife more on this great little place to stay!
The rooms are a great size and extremly clean and the breakfasts are to die for. It has a great location in the High Street and nothing is too much trouble for them.
I will be telling all my friends about Westwood House and I will definitely visit again in the future.
Thanks

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    32
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
79
10
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Highly recommend this Hotel/ B&B. VERY comfortable bed, nice large king (US size), great location for accessing the Jurassic coast- just a quick 20 minute drive to get to the major landmarks. Excellent location for walking and eating downtown, very friendly service and a really good value. We stayed in room #6 and other similar places we stayed in England typically were 150% more cost.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norbury, london
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stayed at Westwood last weekend, there were four of us, my husband and myself and our two daughters. When we arrived we stopped outside and called Tom, the ownner and he came out took our luggage inside while my husband went to park the car. What a star! one of our cases weighed an absolute ton and he carried both of them right up to the top floor where our rooms were. I was impressed. We had the family rooms which as i said are on the top floor. There are two interconnecting rooms and a bathroom, very clean with really comfy beds although as it is a loft space it is a bit compact and particularly if you are very tall people like us ( i am 5,9 and my husband is 6,5) so it wouldn't be a problem for most people. The breakfast was absolutely lovely and was enhanced by the lovely little cat hanging about, which my daughters enjoyed immensely, There is a lovely living room that we lolled about in after our breakfast for a bit., too and a bookshelf full of books to read. It is close to a shops (not loads but enough to a bit of a sniff round) and a good selection of restaurants and a couple of cinemas. We went to Monkey world (brilliant) and the beach (brilliant) and Harry Ramsdens on bournemouth beach (brilliant), All in all a lovely weekend especially if you get good weather, which we did. The owners are really great people and nothing is too much trouble.I must have rung the little downstairs bell for assistance about a million times and Tom, the owner always appeared in seconds to help me. Highly recommened.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We stayed here weekend just gone, This is a beautiful guest house. Very clean and bright. Room was spotless and the bed was amazingly comfortable. A lot of care has been put into this house. The owners are very helpful and friendly. Not to forget the delicious breakfast which was plentiful. Would definitely return,

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Right on the High Street but this is a lovely tranquil place. The décor is tasteful and everything is absolutely spotless. We had a room at the back overlooking gardens so it was very quiet. The king size bed was huge and the pillows really comfy. The bathroom is large and airy with very big bouncy white towels. The toiletries were good quality even the cotton buds were fat!. Lovely powerful shower. Breakfast was served in the sunny conservatory with a fantastic choice. Mix your own muesli or have yoghurt and fruit. I chose the eggs benedict and they were perfection. Hubby had full English and all produce is locally sourced. They had the biggest selection of marmalade I have ever seen. The resident cat sits in at breakfast and is a delight.
There are lots of real pubs with good food and real ale all within walking distance. Couldn`t find anything negative to say at all. Just lovely.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

A centrally positioned guest house. Owners are welcoming and helpful. Rooms spacious and clean. Excellent breakfast. Downside is no parking but there are car parks near by. Lots of restaurants within walking distance. Rooms and breakfast are excellent value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

I was so pleased to find this B&B and had a very comfortable stay. The whole place was spotless and I liked the chic understated decor. My room was right at the top and was really quiet so I had a great sleep in the comfy bed. Breakfast is in a wonderful light and airy glass walled room. The menu was delicious - including smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, and a full English vegetarian breakfast. It is also so conveniently located in the town centre. I highly recommend Westwood House and look forward to a return stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to westwood house guest house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about westwood house guest house

Address: 29 High West Street, Dorchester dT1 1UP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Dorchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — westwood house guest house 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the historic county town of Dorchester, Westwood House is an attractive Georgian property built in 1815 by Lord Ilchester we believe for his coachmen. Converted to a town house guest house and personally run by resident owners Tom & Demelza Stevens, the accommodation offers a comfortable, informal non-smoking environment for the business or leisure visitor during their stay in Dorchester. The guest accommodation comprises of seven en-suite bedrooms all are well equipped with modern facilities, including LCD television with over 30 channels, hairdryer, tea and coffee making facilities and complimentary Wi-Fi.A variety of restaurants, pubs and cafes are only a short stroll away from the house. Alternatively bring in a take-away and relax in your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your westwood house guest house reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westwood Hotel Dorchester
Westwood House Guest House Dorchester, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage westwood house guest house, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.