We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little county town hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Casterbridge

The Casterbridge
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Casterbridge to your Saves list
The Casterbridge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   49 High East Street, Dorchester DT1 1HU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Dorchester
Bournemouth
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Lovely little county town hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

This is the ideal place to stop over for a few nights if are visiting the region. Close to Weymouth and Poole and set in the beautiful Hardy countryside.
Very welcoming staff and the room was very clean with a very comfortable double bed. En-suite bathroom with plenty of white fluffy towels!!!
Superb breakfast!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    14
    11
    3
    6
See reviews for
10
36
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and could find very little to complain about. the rooms are clean and nicely furnished with all the basics provided. the breakfast was very traditional and well cooked. I don't really have any complaints but a few observations which could be suggestions. The public rooms are very smart but dark and dated. Great spaces that are completely wasted, with a little thought and vision the two ground floor rooms could be turned into a really nice bar and games/TV/ reading room. The outside of the hotel is delightful but inside the whole place is a little dated as highlighted by the boast "hotel of the year 2007" proudly displayed.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

This was a very nice and warm place to stay, we stayed here for two nights being contractors we wasnt met with the judgemental stare u get from most places thinking we would roll in at all hours steaming drunk, no both hosts were warm polite friendly and couldnt do enough to accomodate us, rooms were home from home beds very comfy, shower was hottest id experianced, but by far the thing that made my trip was the choice at breakfast more than enough to see us through the whole working day 8-6 all in all would recommend and most definatly return, keep up the good work guys from two full n happy contractors

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay at The Casterbridge. It is a very comfortable and welcoming hotel. We booked two bedrooms for our party and both were absolutely lovely. Very comfortable beds, nice crisp bed linen, and everything was spotless. Excellent breakfasts; lots of choose from and the cooked breakfast came piping hot. Excellent quality tea and coffee. The hotel had every facility that we could want (and more). Superb!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Fools on this site who gives this hotel one star because they missed their breakfast. If you're not told breakfast times, you can of course ask. Another reviewer states that the bathroom was one metre by one metre. Are you sure that you're not getting 'bathroom' confused with 'shower cubicle'? Another who insists that the room was 'absolutely tiny'. Did you want to throw a party in there? Still, the number of five star reviews has to speak loudest and I would concur with them although we should take into account that some of the unfavourable reviews may apply to the previous management.

Our recent stay in this hotel proved to be extremely pleasant and very enjoyable, with our hosts being both friendly and helpful. The room was perfectly adequate and the bed very comfortable. Our room overlooked the street and with the window open, it was a bit noisy on Saturday night.

The breakfasts were without doubt the highlight with pretty well everything being available to allow you to get stoked up for the day. And I mean for the day. Fruit, juices, cereals, yoghurt, cooked and toast. Good coffee too.

Take heed of the five star reviews but be aware that this probably isn't a five star hotel by the standards of those who rate such properties with over blown criteria or by those who expect a swimming pool, fitness suite and Jacuzzi. This hotel is not ostentatious but it is characterful and this to me is far more appealing. If you like the sound of it, go for it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

A two night stay in The Casterbridge proved to be a perfect break. The hotel is conveniently situated at the bottom of Dorchester High Street and the welcome we received was extremely warm and friendly. Superb breakfasts - everything you could want is available and cooked to perfection - taken in the conservatory overlooking the garden. The bedrooms are quiet and extremely comfortable with en suite, wifi, tv, with tea and coffee making facilities. Any advice you need on walking or where to find the most exciting bird life can be arranged! So much nicer than the chain hotels.

Room Tip: Even has a four poster bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Lovely little hotel, very accommodating hosts.
I left my credit card behind and was contacted straight away.
Clean, cosy and welcoming. Extremely good mattress. Thanks for the hospitality
Breakfast was fresh and made to order as was the coffee.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Casterbridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Casterbridge

Address: 49 High East Street, Dorchester DT1 1HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Dorchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Casterbridge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Casterbridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Casterbridge Hotel Dorchester
Casterbridge Hotel Dorchester
The Casterbridge Dorchester, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Casterbridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.