We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AN EXPERIENCE NOT TO BE MISSED” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Surf and Turf at Shelley's Plaice - CLOSED

Surf and Turf at Shelley's Plaice
Trinity Street, Dorchester DT1 1TT, England (Formerly Billy the Fish)
01305 757428
Improve this listing
Price range: $6 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Surf and Turf at Shelley's Plaice (Formally Billy the Fish). Your local fish and steak restaurant with a personal flair. Enjoy locally sourced fish with a large range of dishes, including gluten free, dairy free and vegetarian options.Has an open kitchen so you can see Shelly and her team whipping up delights for you. Open for lunches and evening meals. Great for special occasions and group bookings.
ROMSEY
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“AN EXPERIENCE NOT TO BE MISSED”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

A one off, totally unique. Rather than in the middle of Dorchester hidden down an alleyway, you would expect to find a restaurant like this in a Cornish fishing / smuggling village. A posh restaurant, it ain't, but superb fish freshly cooked to your request, in front of you in open kitchen. A place of real character as is the chef. Brillaint. Loved it.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    19
    15
    2
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous fish and friendly people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We found this place by accident having never been to Dorchester before. It was pouring with rain and we were miserable, but not for long, As soon as we walked in we were made to feel very welcome. The atmosphere was great and the restaurant done out with lobster pots, fairy lights and drift wood furniture all added to the atmopshere. My son (aged 10) was a bit of a wuss with fish as was I. Shelley's son soon had him beheading, filletting and deboning mackeral and cod. My son then insisted on eating the mackeral he had prepared and so Shelley even allowed him to prepare his meal and make my fish fingers. If you have children I can not recommend this restaurant enough. It brought sunshine to a miserable day and reintroduced fish to our family for the better. Fantastic and friendly people and great value for money.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Friendly local spot with very fresh fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

The restaurant is now run by Shelley and her son. She cooked at the restaurant for the previous owner, Billy. It is now known as Shelly's Plaice. It was a quiet night and Shelly and her son, Ashley, were very friendly and helpful. We asked many questions about the local fish and they gave us a lot of information and made great recommendations for us. If we lived in Dorchester we would be regulars at this friendly spot.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great fish, uncomfortable atmosphere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

We had beautifully cooked fish - my wife, having had a bad experience with a crab dish somewhere else, is now hooked again (pun intended). Unfortunately we had a mixed experience with the proprietor/staff, which made us feel uncomfortable. Firstly, not a welcome but a somewhat abrupt 'Have you booked?' was the opening line. With friendly banter soon forthcoming I put this down to genius chefs being 'characters'. However, a customer before us seemed to have a query with his bill - he acted quite calmly but was accused of 'shouting' and then afterward the situation was discussed with another family member in front of us, including that this customer was no longer welcome. This made us feel quite nervous as previously the same customer had looked like part of the family! What had he done? Could we make the same mistake? Ashley seemed so keen to sell the monkfish that he wrote that down instead of what I'd ordered - thankfully the mistake was admitted and I ended up taking the extra dish home. Correcting mistakes well is a great piece of customer service, it's such a pity the other elements let the place down. Also my wife had an enormous piece of salmon. It was delicious but we'd have sooner paid a bit less for a smaller portion. The side orders of sauteed potatoes and salad were also beautifully presented and very tasty. Shelley if you read this please get some customer service training - I sincerely wish you all the best but I won't be rushing back. Pity, as the food is great!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious night to remember”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Shelley's Plaice - no longer called Billy the Fish - is a glorious surprise in the middle of Dorchester. Apart from the rather chilly weather, you could easily imagine yourself in a fish bar in the Caribbean from the atmosphere and decor of the restaurant. Shelley herself is a real character, very welcoming and friendly and with a wonderful line in pre-Beatles pop music. And she can cook fish!! We ate gurnard - I'd never had it before but on her recommendation we both chose it and it was cooked superbly - enormous platefuls too, you could not possibly leave hungry! And don't miss Ashley's Eton Mess for pudding. Strongly recommended for a fun evening out.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surf and Turf at Shelley's Plaice also viewed

Dorchester, Dorset
Dorchester, Dorset
 
Dorchester, Dorset
Dorchester, Dorset
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surf and Turf at Shelley's Plaice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.