We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great country location and an amazing breakfast!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fox Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Fox Inn to your Saves list
The Fox Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Ansty, Dorchester DT2 7PN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 50 Dorchester B&B and Inns
Poole
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great country location and an amazing breakfast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed in the Fox Inn for one night. Unfortunately on arrival our room had all of the radiators turned off so was absolutely freezing! After turning them on and keeping our coats on for a few hours it became a nice temperature.The breakfast in the morning was lovely. Location is perfect for lots of countryside walks (although currently a bit muddy!).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    50
    22
    14
    11
See reviews for
25
101
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed for two nights in one of the larger rooms. The room was precisely to our liking - i.e. nice and large with a comfortable bed. The bath, unlike most hotels, was large enough to stretch out and relax in and also easy to exit. Dinner in the evening and breakfast in the morning seemed to hit the spot. I was also amazed at the price and quality of the bar meals at lunch time.The hotel is advertised as being very much in rural Dorset. It is all of that. It is great to find that places like this still exist.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Have stayed here twice.

Incredible 'proper' English breakfasts. They have their own farm, so own bacon, eggs, sausages. Probably not best if you are on a diet!!

The location is amazing. Close to Milton Abbas and the Abbey. Lots of fresh country walks, real ale, proper living. Very good value for money.

Love this place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brough
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The room was excellent the food was lovely but if you advertise a beach party you put some effort in to creating a beach environment eg a blow up palm tree or two and maybe put your staff in beach wear rather than their own shorts and t shirt. The DJ didn't put much effort into getting anyone on the dance floor well not whilst we were downstairs a shame really because there was so much potential there. I would stay again but not for a New Years Eve.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We spent one night here in this B&B, room ok, but cold, small tv. Walls quite thin so could hear the conversation in room next door, not conducive to good night sleep. Bathroom a little 'tired'.

The food was good, we ate in the bar area as we had a dog. They are very dog friendly - some people even took their dog down to breakfast.

We did though have a pleasant stay, thank you

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Working locally, the office found this place!
When I think of country pub hotels the first three things that spring to mind are.
i) traditional food
ii) roaring log fires
iii) quaint rustic rooms

Well let me tell you, food although basic honest to goodness fare very enjoyable, well cooked.

Beer (real ale well kept)

Bedrooms. Pleasant country house mix - match.
Accept on a cold winters day, please owners turn up the heating prior to a guest arriving!
(nothing worse than walking into a cold room)

Roaring Log Fire.
Doesn't have any, would appear owners "mean" as the few radiators on the lowest possible setting.

In sympathy to owners, they have a rambling building......and heating costs must be nightmare!
Why not close off unused areas and keep guests happy?

And as pointed out: total nightmare to find.......even confused regularly updated Tom Tom

Would I return:
Yep in Summer months

Room Tip: Check in detail Hotel directions prior to going........sat nat "post code" miles away
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Staying nearby and looking for somewhere to eat we stumbled on "The Fox Inn" and we are very glad we did. Food was beautifully cooked and presented and all ingredients including the meat were locally sourced. Best steak we have had in a long time and perfectly cooked to our requirement. Service was excellent and although decor was dated it was cosy with crisp white linen on the tables.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fox Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox Inn

Address: Ansty, Dorchester DT2 7PN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Dorchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fox Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Fox Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fox Hotel Dorchester
The Fox Inn Dorchester, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fox Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.