We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bargain room !!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Ship Inn

The Old Ship Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Old Ship Inn to your Saves list
The Old Ship Inn
16 High West Street, Dorchester DT1 1UW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 50 Dorchester B&B and Inns
Dorchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“bargain room !!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Brilliant stay only stayed one night but it was great we had the hardy room yes its small but it was clean and the bed was better then my own lol staff are amazing thank you only down point is whenu leave if early and if u come back after 3am you have to go through the kitchen!! Bit odd so could do with a back door maybe?? And there's nowhere to leave your key as we left before 10am so had to walk around to the front door and post it back in!!! the noise didn't bother us either . so thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    2
    3
    4
    10
See reviews for
10
7
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsville, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Booked 4 nights and couldn't be more pleased !! Management fairly new, but perfect for affordable budget. Rooms behind the oldest pub in town. Outside to beer garden. No problem with noise... short distance to antelope walk. Managers were wonderful and accommodating. Room is smaller but very clean but didn't come to Dorchester to sit in a room ! Bed was comfortable and Food in the Pub was outstanding. A definite come back to accommodation and would recommendation to my friends ! Management personally helped with daily activity planning to ensue we had a good time. From the outside it looks like we are staying in old fashioned stables but clean and accommodating PERFECT !

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

My room was so small that I had to walk sideways to get around the bed, there was no table or desk where I could do the work I had to do, and the bed was uncomfortable. The furniture was old, there was a sickly smell in the room which was very noisy until the bar closed downstairs. The TV worked most but not all of the time, and it had an extremely limited selection of channels; no BBC channels were available at all. The room was generally very clean but the bathroom could have been better.
When I booked I was aware that breakfast was not included in the price, which is quite common nowadays; I had not imagined I could not get breakfast at all, and I had to go into town for breakfast.
When I arrived and booked in I was told that they would be having parties until 3 o'clock in the morning on my second and third nights, which is no good when you have to be at work early the next morning. To their credit they did offer to find me alternative accommodation for those two nights.
Their ir location is very central, but the publicity saying that there is on-street parking nearby is, in my opinion, a misrepresentation as the on-street parking is for limited periods and expensive. There is a relatively inexpensive long stay car park a few hundred yards away.
The only reasons I am giving them a second star are that they were very helpful and friendly, the Wi-Fi was free and worked perfectly, and their hygiene rating for food (not breakfast), awarded independently, was the maximum.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Went there for lunch after shopping trip. Surprisingly few suitable pubs. Weatherspoons was rammed. Could not believe the prices. Mains for £3 something, bottle yes bottle of wine for £6.99. Less than most pubs charge for 2 x 175 cc glasses. Lasangne adequate, gammon &eggs ok. Portions large. Bit of a delay with food but was lunch time rush. Slightly grubby atmo sphere. Go here if you want a very economical meal. Barman pleasant but worked off his feet. Plenty of kids in there as it was half term & their meals were free! These prices attract all day drinkers so do not expect to sit next to Lord Grantham. Overall well done the Ship

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We chanced upon The Old Ship in between camping trips in Dorset and couldn't have been more delighted.
Located near all the attractions in Dorchester it is ideal for those with a young family to take in all the museums etc. on foot.
The food served at The Old Ship is fabulous pub grub and excellent prices - even made a fussy vegetarian or two happy.
As for the staff and the service they could not have done more for us. It's hard to believe that this family only took over 7 weeks ago.
We wish them all the very best and would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We were due to stay with a group of friends at a hotel in Weymouth but the booking was cancelled in error and the only rooms they could find for four of us to stay was here. When we arrived we were warned that there could be people sat in the garden area until 2am, when they close. We were then showed to our rooms, which were directly next to the garden patio area.

After a night in Weymouth we returned and sat in the garden ourselves for a while, waiting for other drinkers to leave before we went into our rooms. We waited until 1.45 am as they were due to close and lock the back gates at 2am. Unfortunately it seems that everyone, including the bar staff, then decided to sit outside until gone 3am talking loudly and therefore we had a severe lack of sleep.

We left at 9.30 am the following morning and were greeted by the bar staff returning, worse for wear, in the same clothes as they had on the previous evening, looking to get back into the pub.

The rooms were overpriced, they were basic and needed a bit of a clean, and definitely not somewhere to get a good nights sleep!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Transfered from another hotel due to a booking fiasco on their behalf we were greeted with "You won't be going to bed early will you, we close at two". Getting back from Weymouth the pub was quiet apart from the garden where the area where the rooms were. Loud conversation continued with staff sat out until just after 03:15 when they finally left and we could get to sleep. The new management need to realise that rooms are NOT viable.
Do not stay here, even if you are paid.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dorchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Dorchester
Premier Inn Dorchester
#2 of 8 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 stars 509 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kings Arms Hotel
0.1 mi away
Wessex Royale Hotel
Wessex Royale Hotel
#4 of 8 in Dorchester
4.0 of 5 stars 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Casterbridge
The Casterbridge
#3 of 8 in Dorchester
4.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#6 of 8 in Dorchester
3.5 of 5 stars 61 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#1 of 8 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 stars 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ship Inn

Address: 16 High West Street, Dorchester DT1 1UW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Dorchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Old Ship Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Ship Hotel Dorchester
The Old Ship Inn Dorchester, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Ship Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.