We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good lil Inn..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Greyhound Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dorchester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Greyhound Inn
Save
You added The Greyhound Inn to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sydling St Nicholas, Dorchester DT2 9PD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Dorchester
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Good lil Inn..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

A nice inn in a small village in Dorset.. Would def recommend staying here to anyone looking for a place to stay in and around Weymouth. Cute little villages also nearby, with some very picturesque country lanes to drive down as you navigate your way around the area. The Inn itself was well appointed and the managers very friendly and happy to assist with anything that was asked. The dinner we had in the pub was very nice and in a relaxing environment. The room in the sleeping quarters across from the Inn wasn't huge but it wasn't an issue was we were just needing a clean tidy room to bunk down in.. and it was. If so desired, DVD's, Books and even wellingtons were available to borrow. Somewhere you would recommend to your parents to stay, if they were looking for a nice low-key place in the Dorset area...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    39
    13
    12
    1
See reviews for
25
60
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Went several times a few years ago and stopped because of declining standards. Tried again for Sunday lunch. Bills itself as the 'best pub food in Dorset'. It isn't. Starters OK, not more. Roast beef tough over cooked and flavourless, yorkshire pudding huge dark brown edifice of cardboard, Cold. Obviously made a long while earler. Potatoes rock hard, appeared to have been recooked several times. Lemon sole overcooked and tasteless. Puddings just about OK, bread and butter pudding solid and stodgy. Nice building, lovely location, Nice beer. Service very amateur. Not cheap. Won't go again, much better food is availale locally. And they rather give themsleves airs!

Room Tip: Only used resaurant. Did nto stay the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

A pub with rooms in an adjacent building. The room was well appointed and being in an old building had odd corners and ceilings.
We had a skylight looking onto other roofs - disappointing view
The lobby has wellies and umbrellas for guests to use
Breakfast is in the dining room of the pub - it was good with very well sourced ingredients and nicely presented
Apparently the pub does good meals but we did not get a chance to try this out

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We had a great lunch here - fish and chips twice followed by an Eton Mess for two to share. Food beautifully presented and tasted good too. Service with a smile and biscuits for our puppy. We have been several times when on holiday and this has always been a reliably good place to come.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Came upon the Greyhound by chance, sadly it was closed that evening but decided to go back with friends the following day. Wonderful food, well worth the trip back. Would go again. The slow roast belly pork was wonderful!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bordon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

had very chewy steak which was served with a overpowering orange butter which ruined the taste of the whole meal did not ask for the butter
cheescake would have been ok but had lumps of undisolved gelatine
did not stay only had food

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Six of us booked for dinner on Good Friday evening. Our table was in a very crowded main bar area where a quiz night was being held (no mention of this when we booked) and not in the restaurant which remained empty all night for some strange reason. We had a vase of Daffodils on the table which would have been a nice touch had they not been dead!! The lady who took our order was very friendly and took our order in the way you would expect. I had Mussels, which were overcooked and accompanied by stale bread. Two people had Fish n Chips which were grossly overpriced in relation to the portion size- it was a case of spot the fish inside the thick layer of batter.The rest of the party deemed their meal as average. We were planning to stay for dessert but the Quizzers were hovering around our table waiting for our seats which made everyone feel uncomfortable. One final grizzle - I went to the bar to buy a round of drinks and part way through serving me the barman answered the phone and left me standing while he had a fairly long conversation- no apology followed!. We eat out a lot in the area and whist the Greyhound has a lovely character it lets itself down with the food and service and we certainly wouldn't go back there in a hurry!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Greyhound Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greyhound Inn

Address: Sydling St Nicholas, Dorchester DT2 9PD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Dorchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Greyhound Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence 2012 this is Dorset's Dining Pub of the Year twice in the past three years. Handsome 18th century coaching inn in one of England's prettiest villages, full of thatched cottages with a trout stream running through. Mentioned in Thomas Hardy's novels and the setting for Hollywood films of his work.Six newly refurbished bedrooms, dvds, ipod docks, proper pillows and duvets, wellies for bad weather and an award winning restaurant just across the car park from our stable block rooms.Families positively welcomed and we'll make you something to eat no matter what time you arrive. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Greyhound Hotel Dorchester
The Greyhound Inn Dorchester, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Greyhound Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.