We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Greyhound Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Greyhound Inn to your Saves list
The Greyhound Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   26 High St | Sydling St Nicholas, Dorchester DT2 9PD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Dorchester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
south west
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great weekend break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Tastefully decorated rooms in gorgeous Farrow & Ball colours, big comfortable bed with quality cotton bedding, gorgeous toiletries, friendly & welcoming staff team (so hard working it was very busy when we were there & they were still smiling!) good food, wine, real ales and Thatchers Cider, if that's your thing,it's the OH's so he was happy! Little gem of a place to stay and use as a base from which to visit the beautiful Dorset coast and villages. We hope to be able to make a return visit in the winter to enjoy the open log fires and wood burners we spotted!

Room Tip: Would say book a table if you intend to eat there during the evening or for Sunday lunch it's a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    39
    13
    12
    1
See reviews for
27
66
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I went with 3 friends for an evening meal. Pleasant pub with 3 real ales.
Very limited and expensive menu. In fact I have never been to a pub restaurant with such a poor choice. Starter of cappacio off venison was good, scallops average. Further starter of risotto as a main was tasteless. Main of " vegetable and brie Wellington" was a vegetable pasty in which it was difficult to find the vegetable and I could not really detect any brie.A side order of vegetables was good.
The service was relaxed and pleasant.
Fine to go for a drink but I would certainly not eat ther again at the moment.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Arrived with the family at 1.40pm to find a packed pub. All the tables were taken, but no problem as they opened the restaurant for us, normally only open at night, and we had an excellent lunch. Our two 11 year olds had pasta with Mediterranean vegetables and Muscles, we enjoyed Calves liver on mustard mash. Puds - treacle tart, pear tatin and white chocolate mousse, oh and a beautiful Australian pudding wine. Will certainly return and book next time.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights Saturday to Monday. The room was generous and comfortable, and very clean. Friendly and helpful staff, really welcoming. We ate at The Greyhound on 2 evenings - good mix of pub/restaurant style food, excellent standard. Quiet location in pretty village; lots of walks around.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here for one night and it certainly is away from it all!
The room we had was a standard double and although comfortable bed and surroundings the room is not very big. But ok for one night or two and had all the trimmings

There was no shelf in the bathroom but we used the window sill

We ate in the evening and found the food to be very nice and a busy pub with atmosphere

I was disappointed in the breakfast in the morning - wasn't particular hot

All in all a good a stay

Room Tip: Possible pay the extra for a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The Greyhound inn is in a beautiful village of thatched cottages with a stream running through it. It really is an idyllic location. The room was spacious, clean and restful, the bed was very comfortable and felt very luxurious, the bathroom was modern with lovely shower gel etc. The inn is full of character with friendly staff and a good menu. Breakfast was one of the best I have ever tasted. I cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We had Sunday lunch here and will definitely be going back! The pub has been beautifully refurbished and we were greeted with a very warm welcome. The location is very picturesque. I had nut roast and my husband had roast beef, both were delicious and served with perfectly cooked veg and potatoes. Slightly more expensive than we would normally go for, but well worth it.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Greyhound Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greyhound Inn

Address: 26 High St | Sydling St Nicholas, Dorchester DT2 9PD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Dorchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Greyhound Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence 2012 this is Dorset's Dining Pub of the Year twice in the past three years. Handsome 18th century coaching inn in one of England's prettiest villages, full of thatched cottages with a trout stream running through. Mentioned in Thomas Hardy's novels and the setting for Hollywood films of his work.Six newly refurbished bedrooms, dvds, ipod docks, proper pillows and duvets, wellies for bad weather and an award winning restaurant just across the car park from our stable block rooms.Families positively welcomed and we'll make you something to eat no matter what time you arrive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Greyhound Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greyhound Hotel Dorchester
The Greyhound Inn Dorchester, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Greyhound Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.