We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Junction Hotel

Junction Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Junction Hotel to your Saves list
Junction Hotel
42 Great Western Road, Dorchester DT1 1UT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Dorchester
Beaminster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“One night stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Although the pub looks like it could do with a bit of a face lift from the outside . Once inside our room we had no such worries . The decor and fuurniture was good and very clean . Most impotantly the bed was very comfortable and despite the rooms being beside a busy road and right next to the busy pub the room was very quiet . The staff were effiecient and friendly , no hesitations in recommending .

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    18
    13
    6
    0
See reviews for
9
25
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Whitstable
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I stayed for two nights in this hotel while staying in Dorchester for my work. It is essentially a pub with a restaurant and sleeping accommodation, and while it is of a reasonable standard it is nothing spectacular. It has a car park but residents might find it difficult to find a parking space when there are guests in the pub.
Accommodation is outside the main building, probably a converted stable block. The room was very well appointed and clean, but the bed was elderly and creaked every time I moved in bed. On both nights there was a disco in the main building which did not finish until 1 o'clock in the morning, but despite being close I could hardly hear it in my room.
English breakfast is included in the price.
Going into the main building in the evening to get a drink was not a pleasant experience as the outside of the only entrance door was completely surrounded by people smoking: not at all nice for non-smokers. It would be far better if they were to encourage smokers to go a bit further away from the main entrance.
All right for a short stay, and while it is not the best place I have ever stayed in, it is far better than many.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

this hotel/b&b is okay for a couple of nights. the rooms are in the pub grounds and were old garages or sheds, don't get me wrong they done out real good. The beds (we had twin beds) have seen a fair bit of action, but were clean the carpet could do with replacing. Staff were very helpful and friendly, we ate in the pub at night and the food was abit more than your normal pub grub. my wife and I with a couple of friends stay for three nights as we visited monkey world and Lulworth Cove.I would not say it is a hotel for a weeks stay.

Room Tip: all about the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

stayed here after a visit to Monkeyworld. The Pub was busy on our arrival and there didn't seem to be enough staff on duty to ensure we were attended to promptly. Staff friendly and professional. The room was perfectly fine for our purpose however it could have used a bit of a repaint.. nothing drastic. It was a bit disappointing to be informed there would be a disco on the Saturday night this was still going on our return from our evening out and did keep me awake for a while..
The breakfast the following morning was very good... the coffee was nice but it was a bit puzzling when it became apparent that the cafetiere didn't have coffee grounds in it!!! Breakfast service was good

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Travelling by motorcycle, I needed to stop for the night and happened across this hotel. Rooms were available, and checked in.. Nice big room and comfortable. They gave me a discount rate too, arriving at about 7pm. Ate in the pub, the menu looked very good. My meal was delicious. Friendly staff. Good food, comfortable. Well done, Junction!

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I stayed with some friends for a weekend as we were going to a wedding nearby. The rooms were clean and pleasant, though as they're in old out buildings they are a little dark. The staff were so friendly and helpful and went out of their way to check we had what we needed, they were also really friendly to the little children that were with us. The food was nice pub food and the breakfasts were really lovely. It's one of the cheaper places to stay in town and a nice enough place, the staff are really helpful and this made all the difference.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

we and friends stay for three nights, you get what you pay for, and we found the staff, food and rooms match the price we paid.We would not stay again because its not the sort of place we like The rooms were good, staff helpful and the food ok, apart from the Sunday lunch the roast potatoes were awful. Don't let me put you off try it.

Room Tip: not rooms 1 and 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Junction Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Junction Hotel

Address: 42 Great Western Road, Dorchester DT1 1UT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Dorchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Junction Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Junction Hotel Dorchester, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Junction Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.