We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not as good as other bella italias i've been to :-(” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Italia Bournemouth - CLOSED

Bella Italia Bournemouth
84 Old Christchurch Road, Bournemouth BH1 1LR, England
01202 296993
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $9 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“not as good as other bella italias i've been to :-(”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Always enjoy bella italia, food, atmosphere, staff and value. However, if this had been my first visit i would not return! Unhelpful staff. Cold restraunt. Poor, poor customer service, cold food.
A real shame coz others in the same chain have always been fantastic....London, Oxford, Brighton, Aberdeen, Edinburgh. Like I say tried and tested on many occaisions.
Sorry Bournmouth, you need some extra effort.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    28
    18
    5
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“just a like a mamma make”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

always a good standard with this chain
& always a safe bet when visiting places.
We have yet to find a 'Bella' that is lacking
in any way & this one was no exception.
Would recommend the sharing platter for
2 as a starter... a tasty & fun experience.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great menu choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Reallr good experience, I haven't been here in about 3 years as last experience was quite poor however went in there with a clean slate and a brand new menu to last time. I had a really nice pasta dish but was spolit for choice in all honesty. It was a lunchtime service so quiet but staff were attentive and food was good value for money. would definitely go again so I can try something else on the menu!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Nice interior decor - lousy service - poor managers”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

New Year lunch here we had hoped would offer a comfortable break inna nicely decorated restaurant. Took too long for drinks to arrive and then we were told the soup we had ordered was no longer available. We questioned why we had to wait nearly 20 mins. to be told this and then miraculously we were told by 'deputy' manager that soup was available. All rather odd. Staff were insulting and so we left. A complete waste of time.
This is a shame. The restaurant was not particularly busy but we noticed all customers seemed to be waiting a significant time for their orders. We felt that staff were not efficient and lacked basic customer care. Drinking straws shpuld not be touched at the top where people then have to drink. This restaurant needs to be sorted out as its not doing customers justice.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Dreadful food and extremely slow service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Food was in edible and had to send it back when it finally arrived.
Children's vegetables were cold but burnt and so wilted- disgusting

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bella Italia Bournemouth also viewed

Bournemouth, Dorset
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bella Italia Bournemouth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.