We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to come back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Croydon Hotel

Croydon Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Croydon Hotel to your Saves list
Croydon Hotel
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   54 St Michaels Road, Bournemouth BH2 5DY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 151 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
London England
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Can't wait to come back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We booked this hotel for a 2 night break via a Groupon deal and for the price we paid we never expected to have such a perfect stay.
We were warmly welcomed by the lovely owner Huw who was so helpful and friendly, what a nice start to our weekend break. Although we had arrived much earlier than the check in time we were told our rooms were ready and to make ourselves at home. We had booked rooms 5 and 7, a small double and a large double for the 3 of us. Both of the rooms were spotless and very tastefully decorated with nice comfy beds and plenty of storage. The bathrooms were quite small but as they are shower rooms they were more than adequate and like the rest of the hotel they were immaculate.
We had a quick look around before heading out. The hotel guest lounge is gorgeous! So beautifully decorated with some really fab artwork. The lounge has a tv and bar and although we never got around to using it, it was a very inviting and relaxing place to chill out in. I will definately make use of it on my next visit.
The hotel is in a wonderful location, just a few minutes walk to the beautiful beach and the town centre with its great selection of shops, bars and restaurants. You can park your car in the street outside the hotel for free and just forget about it during your stay here if you wish as everything is so accessible on foot or by bus. We did just that and enjoyed the nice walks along the promenade and around the town.
We slept like logs during our stay, the hotel was so quiet and with the lovely comfy beds and good quality bedding it was just the ticket for a restful nights sleep.
Breakfast was served in the bright and airy dining room on the lower floor. The room is again beautifully decorated with some lovely touches and was such a nice relaxing place to begin the day. The breakfast was just fab, there were nice cereals(the muesli was delicious) fresh orange juice and yoghurts. We were served by a polite and friendly young guy who bought us tea and coffee and toast. We had our breakfasts cooked to order by Huw and they were so good, we all come out sufficiently stuffed to the brim!
I had a look at the outside garden area which was a little oasis of calm and would be a really nice place to sit and relax.
Every member of staff we met at The Croydon Hotel were exceptionally friendly, polite and helpful, such lovely service makes such a difference to your holiday and this hotel has it in spades.
My only gripe was that we didn't stay longer, I felt at home from the minute we arrived right until we left.
I couldn't fault a thing about this lovely hotel, go and see for yourself, you won't be disappointed.
So a huge thank you to Huw and the team at The Croydon Hotel for a wonderful stay and we can't wait to come back soon.
Jane, Mark and Enya

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    28
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
17
45
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This was an excellent hotel, all round, on arrival after checking in - in the lovely lounge/bar area, the gentleman carried our suitcase upto our room and was well informed of all the facilities that was available to us. The hotel is located in a fantastic position, it is spotless and tastefully decorated. They accomodated my needs (wheat/gluten intolerance) at breakfast so helpful, smashing break.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We found this little gem via a groupon deal. Delightful establishment. Very modern, clean and tidy, very friendly staff. A few minutes walk to both beaches and town centre meant no need to use the car. Although we booked B+ B, evening meals are also available, and afternoon teas, Hoped to use super little garden for that - but unusual weather put paid. Maybe next time? In house bar, lounge, but so enjoyed lovely room (3), overlooking front. Croydon actually had more local information than the Tourist Office that we went to ! Enjoyed fresh salmon at breakfast and 'real' coffee. Surprisingly quiet given central location. Bless you.

Room Tip: Ones we saw looked great - we liked 3 - overlooking road, and glimpse of sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Well, to start with a tiny negative -- staying here made me kind of feel as if I was living in an episode of "Three in a Bed" :) ... But the good news is, this B&B would come out on top. Everything was particularly nice, from the greeting during check-in, to being shown the room, to the very very nice breakfast the following morning.

The only problem with the room is that it has one of those ridiculous sliding bathroom doors that doesn't really shut OR lock, which can be a problem. Also the hot water in the shower was very inconsistent.

Those small things aside, the stay was great, the price was affordable (in terms of UK standards anyway) and the breakfast consisted of some of the most expertly prepared fried eggs I had ever eaten. They serve a 'full english' (traditional or vegetarian) for the record!

Would stay again if I were so inclined to go to Bournemouth again ...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

In addition to the other glowing reviews which I can certainly vouch for, The Croydon is also the perfect spot for a break if you are a vegetarian - The breakfast was lovely and a far cry from the usual - well its eggs or eggs - approach experienced previously - It was indeed a full Veggie English breakfast served with a smile - even small details normally unnoticed by hoteliers was catered for - i.e. vegetarian yoghurts.

Huw kindly went out of his way to investigate suitable restaurants and The Croydon is ideally situated for a trip to the popular vegan restaurant The Mad Cucumber - see the Trip Adviser reviews. Although Huw will be serving his own evening meals shortly I understand.

Our stay coincided with the Bournemouth Food and Drink festival and were able to visit a great Vegan Fair at the Marriott just up the road from The Croydon - so that- and beautiful sunshine - made for a very happy veggie break. Thank you Huw and Staff.

Room Tip: We had room 2 which is a very quiet room at the rear of the hotel. The Croydon also has a spacious 5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We stayed at the Croydon in June with our family. From booking to check out we were provided with excellent service and treated exceptionally well. Huw was the perfect host and catered for all our needs. The recently refurbished rooms were tastefully decorated and were always kept spotlessly clean. There was a great choice at breakfast and was always very enjoyable and relaxed. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and look forward to returning ourselves.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancing, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I was deciding on where to go for a short break within the UK & chose Bournemouth.
I looked at a long list of hotels, guest houses & b&b's.
The Croydon Hotel seemed to foot the bill & booking was very easy indeed.
On arriving at the hotel I was made to feel very welcomed indeed & the staff were very friendly.
It almost felt like a home from home & that's something I like very much.
Nothing was a fuss or a bother to the staff & breakfast was wonderful & set you up for the day.
Even though the hotel is going through some room modifications, the standards were already high.
There is a really large & spacious lounge so you don't have to sit in your room all day & it comes with a large flat screen tv & a mini bar(bonus).
Down in the basement & by no means dark, there is a very bright, airy & colourful breakfast room & they play classical music while you eat & drink.
Another added bonus is the rear garden & terrace, once again, nicely decorated & has nice lights, plants & flowers so on a warm evening you can sit outside, chill have a chat & drink.
The town centre is just a few minutes walk & there are so many local buses to take you to just about every area in & around Bournemouth, its perfect.
The Croydon Hotel is truly a star & i'll be staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Croydon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Croydon Hotel

Address: 54 St Michaels Road, Bournemouth BH2 5DY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Croydon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Croydon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Croydon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.