We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptionally lovely B&B. Great choice as a base for the beach.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Croydon Hotel

Croydon Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bournemouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Croydon Hotel
Save
You added Croydon Hotel to your Saves list
54 St Michaels Road, Bournemouth BH2 5DY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 151 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Exceptionally lovely B&B. Great choice as a base for the beach.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Well, to start with a tiny negative -- staying here made me kind of feel as if I was living in an episode of "Three in a Bed" :) ... But the good news is, this B&B would come out on top. Everything was particularly nice, from the greeting during check-in, to being shown the room, to the very very nice breakfast the following morning.

The only problem with the room is that it has one of those ridiculous sliding bathroom doors that doesn't really shut OR lock, which can be a problem. Also the hot water in the shower was very inconsistent.

Those small things aside, the stay was great, the price was affordable (in terms of UK standards anyway) and the breakfast consisted of some of the most expertly prepared fried eggs I had ever eaten. They serve a 'full english' (traditional or vegetarian) for the record!

Would stay again if I were so inclined to go to Bournemouth again ...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    28
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
17
45
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

In addition to the other glowing reviews which I can certainly vouch for, The Croydon is also the perfect spot for a break if you are a vegetarian - The breakfast was lovely and a far cry from the usual - well its eggs or eggs - approach experienced previously - It was indeed a full Veggie English breakfast served with a smile - even small details normally unnoticed by hoteliers was catered for - i.e. vegetarian yoghurts.

Huw kindly went out of his way to investigate suitable restaurants and The Croydon is ideally situated for a trip to the popular vegan restaurant The Mad Cucumber - see the Trip Adviser reviews. Although Huw will be serving his own evening meals shortly I understand.

Our stay coincided with the Bournemouth Food and Drink festival and were able to visit a great Vegan Fair at the Marriott just up the road from The Croydon - so that- and beautiful sunshine - made for a very happy veggie break. Thank you Huw and Staff.

Room Tip: We had room 2 which is a very quiet room at the rear of the hotel. The Croydon also has a spacious 5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We stayed at the Croydon in June with our family. From booking to check out we were provided with excellent service and treated exceptionally well. Huw was the perfect host and catered for all our needs. The recently refurbished rooms were tastefully decorated and were always kept spotlessly clean. There was a great choice at breakfast and was always very enjoyable and relaxed. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and look forward to returning ourselves.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancing, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I was deciding on where to go for a short break within the UK & chose Bournemouth.
I looked at a long list of hotels, guest houses & b&b's.
The Croydon Hotel seemed to foot the bill & booking was very easy indeed.
On arriving at the hotel I was made to feel very welcomed indeed & the staff were very friendly.
It almost felt like a home from home & that's something I like very much.
Nothing was a fuss or a bother to the staff & breakfast was wonderful & set you up for the day.
Even though the hotel is going through some room modifications, the standards were already high.
There is a really large & spacious lounge so you don't have to sit in your room all day & it comes with a large flat screen tv & a mini bar(bonus).
Down in the basement & by no means dark, there is a very bright, airy & colourful breakfast room & they play classical music while you eat & drink.
Another added bonus is the rear garden & terrace, once again, nicely decorated & has nice lights, plants & flowers so on a warm evening you can sit outside, chill have a chat & drink.
The town centre is just a few minutes walk & there are so many local buses to take you to just about every area in & around Bournemouth, its perfect.
The Croydon Hotel is truly a star & i'll be staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungerford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

This hotel is ideally situated for a visit to Bournemouth. Staff are very warm and welcoming. It is a clean and tidy hotel and our room was very comfortable.

We stayed for one night, made good use of the licensed bar, and was pleased with the short walk into the town centre.

Breakfast was plentiful with fresh extra tea & coffee on request. Gluten free bread was also supplied on request. Thanks!

We were very impressed with everything about this hotel. We had a fabulous stay and would highly recommend it. I'm sure we will return on our next stay to Bournemouth!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights at the end of May. It was a great little place. The hotel is currently being refurbished and they're doing a brilliant job of it. The rooms are modern, bright and clean. The lounge and breakfast room are especially beautiful. I'm looking forward to going back to see it when complete. The owner Huw is delightful and his staff are really pleasant and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We have just returned from this lovely b&b where the atmosphere and ambience of the hotel was incredibly friendly and relaxed.

We only stayed over night, however we found the bed to be comfortable, the room clean and spacious and the en-suite of satisfactory standard.

The hotel was quiet and the guests seemed to respect other residents.

This b&b is excellent value for money with a great breakfast selection with a full English provided too.

We found the staff very friendly, helpful and charming, nothing too much trouble.

We wish the owners every success for the future.

Our tip is for parking, use West Hill car park, £9 for 24 hours and a 2 min walk to the hotel.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Croydon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Croydon Hotel

Address: 54 St Michaels Road, Bournemouth BH2 5DY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Croydon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.