We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous, highly recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Croydon Hotel

Croydon Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Croydon Hotel to your Saves list
Croydon Hotel
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   54 St Michaels Road, Bournemouth BH2 5DY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 151 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Hungerford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous, highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

This hotel is ideally situated for a visit to Bournemouth. Staff are very warm and welcoming. It is a clean and tidy hotel and our room was very comfortable.

We stayed for one night, made good use of the licensed bar, and was pleased with the short walk into the town centre.

Breakfast was plentiful with fresh extra tea & coffee on request. Gluten free bread was also supplied on request. Thanks!

We were very impressed with everything about this hotel. We had a fabulous stay and would highly recommend it. I'm sure we will return on our next stay to Bournemouth!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    28
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
17
45
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stroud, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights at the end of May. It was a great little place. The hotel is currently being refurbished and they're doing a brilliant job of it. The rooms are modern, bright and clean. The lounge and breakfast room are especially beautiful. I'm looking forward to going back to see it when complete. The owner Huw is delightful and his staff are really pleasant and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We have just returned from this lovely b&b where the atmosphere and ambience of the hotel was incredibly friendly and relaxed.

We only stayed over night, however we found the bed to be comfortable, the room clean and spacious and the en-suite of satisfactory standard.

The hotel was quiet and the guests seemed to respect other residents.

This b&b is excellent value for money with a great breakfast selection with a full English provided too.

We found the staff very friendly, helpful and charming, nothing too much trouble.

We wish the owners every success for the future.

Our tip is for parking, use West Hill car park, £9 for 24 hours and a 2 min walk to the hotel.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in May for 2 nights and I would have happily stayed longer. The owners were extremely friendly and always happy to help. The breakfast was of a good variety and the rooms were clean and boutique feeling. This hotel is still in the process of being refurbished and I am looking forward to seeing the difference when I next stay there.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I had a two night stay at the end of April and thoroughly enjoyed it. The hotel is spotless, charming, lovely decor, relaxed atmosphere and nothing too much for Huw and Stuart to do to make you comfortable. Bar/lounge a lovely, comfortable room. Great breakfast, too. Hotel perfectly situated for beach, town and beyond. Heartily recommended. I will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southsea
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Stayed 3 nights at this hotel in Mid May during excellent spell of weather. Room was clean and everything needed was nicely placed to hand and functional. Huw and Manuel (yes Manuel) were ideal hosts and did everything they could to provide a pleasant stay. Huw even went out of his way to provide "politically incorrect" fried bread at breakfast. Decor in the communal areas is a bit quirky and some refurbishment of these areas was ongoing. Hotel is about 8 minutes walk to beaches and town centre. Hotel is excellent value for money and I wish new owners well in making further improvements in an incremental way.

Room Tip: Try for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Spent a couple of nights bank holiday weekend and I can only repeat the positive praise of the other reviews. Huw made us very welcome. The place was spotless, breakfast excellent and the little bar was just the icing on the cake. We met a few fellow residents in the bar and we all had the same high opinion of the hotel. You can see the amount of effort that has gone into upgrading the premises and Huw and team deserve all the praise given. We normally stay in larger hotels (for the restaurant and bar facilities) but would not hesitate in returning to the Croydon.

Swindon couple (stayed 25 & 26 May)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Croydon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Croydon Hotel

Address: 54 St Michaels Road, Bournemouth BH2 5DY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Croydon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Croydon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Croydon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.