We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hope you like stairs !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Croydon Hotel

Croydon Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bournemouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Croydon Hotel
Save
You added Croydon Hotel to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   54 St Michaels Road, Bournemouth BH2 5DY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 152 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Hope you like stairs !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a reasonable enough B&B close to the centre of Bournemouth. We stayed on the top floor which meant a lot of stairs every time we went out and got back and even more when going to breakfast, which is served in the basement. The breakfast itself it nice, although not all of the full english was available. The rooms had been refurbished not too long ago and are clean and comfortable, but ours did have a dodgy looking stain on the carpet next to the bed. The bed was comfy and we slept well although we was a little worried by the warning we had about late night noise from nearby properties, however when we stayed, we didn't hear anything. The en suite shower/toilet is a little cramped for anyone over a size 10. Free on street parking is only available when a space appears, which isn't all that often, other than that you can park in a council car park close by, but its £8 overnight. Peter and Sandra are friendly and welcoming and overall its a good value for money B&B.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    28
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
17
45
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Brilliant. Cannot fault anything. Hotel is spotless. The food is excellent, a great welcome from Sandra and Peter who will do anything to help and make your stay comfortable. The rooms have everything you need even down to heat mats for your straighteners! Thanks again for making it so great

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Booked with booking.com but even so owners contacted me re my room request with helpful comments. willingly helped with a change of day nearer the time. Very friendly. Large quiet room, close to beach and shops and v good value. Can't believe we found this one first time... Will be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

I stayed at the Croydon Hotel for one night and Peter the owner was really lovely. I've never stayed in a B&B so didn't know what to expect but it was immaculately clean, with everything you could have asked for. They supply tea/coffee making facilities which you'd expect but the added extras such as dressing gowns, hair dryers, lots of mirrors cotton pads and mini shampoo and conditioners were a really nice touch. Breakfast was great, nice orange juice and fresh coffee in a caffitiere and Peter was on hand to give some advice on the area, but he also seemed to know when to leave me to my own devices. Easy walk into town, 2mins from the seafront. I would recommend this hotel to anyone! Thank you for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Peter put me in a room 6 where I had a lovely sea breeze and could see the sea at the end of the str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed for one night at this hotel and can only echo what other reviewers have already said. Great hotel, lovely staff, fab breakfast and great location! A perfect place to stay in Bournemouth. Thank you Sandra and Peter for a lovely stay!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

I stayed at the Croydon Hotel for a weekend with 8 friends. We booked the family room which had 5 of us in, the double room and the kingsize room. All the rooms were immaculately clean and well equipped with everything you need (especially extra mirrors)
Peter and Sandra were the most accomodating hosts and nothing was too much trouble, they made you feel like you were staying at a family members home. Breakfast in the morning was always good with a good choice cooked by Sandra.
The location was perfect, just away from the seafront and a short walk to the city centre.
Overall very impressed and would definitley come back again!

Room Tip: Family room is ideal for groups of people, esepcially girls going on nights out in Bournemouth! All...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka, Cyprus
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Myself, my husband and 9 month old daughter stayed at this for 3 nights and thought it was great value for money. Good location, walking distance to town center and beach. Room was nicely decorated with everything we needed. Breakfast was good too. Sandra was nice letting us use their fridge to keep baby food in. Only downside is the parking. If your lucky you might be able to park outside if its not busy if not expect to pay 8 gbp to park in a near by car park. But overal, clean, comfortable would definitely recommend this b&b

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Croydon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Croydon Hotel

Address: 54 St Michaels Road, Bournemouth BH2 5DY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Croydon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Croydon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.