We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Resturant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Blakes Restaurant

Blakes Restaurant
30 West Hill Rd, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England
+44 1202 29802
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Blakes Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 557 Restaurants in Bournemouth
Price range: $26 - $54
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Description: Overlooking the garden, this hugely popular double rosette restaurant offers one of the best dining experiences available for visitors to Bournemouth and local residents alike. Offering a wide range of modern cuisine, the menu is inspired by the best of British and French food. Blakes has held its double rosette since 2011 and is very proud to also have been awarded with TripAdvisor's "Certificate of Excellence 2014",With an extensive wine list and an experienced team, led by Maitre d', Nicky Rutigliano, you will be pampered from the moment you arrive.On those balmy summer evenings, why not have a romantic dinner, al-fresco, in the candlelit garden - or during the winter months retire after dinner to the warmth of the open fire in the drawing room.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice Resturant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We had our evening meal in Blake's Resturant The meal was nice and service good The Resturant decor and atmosphere is very nice

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Blakes Restaurant, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you very much Bee for your kind review.

With best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    41
    9
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“HIGHLY RECOMMENDED”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

I would highly recommend Blakes. The restaurant is well laid out with a warm atmosphere. There is an excellent choice of food well presented and the food tasted absolutely delicious (well done chef). There was a group of 20 of us yet there was no waiting, all served together and was served hot. The waiting staff are friendly, jovial and a credit to the hotel. Well done Nikki and the team.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Blakes Restaurant, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you very much for your tip top receommendation Lyn and thank you also for the splendid review you wrote about the Connaught Hotel.

With best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol England
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Superb food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Had two lovely evening meals .in Blakes Restaurant whilst staying in the Connaught Hotel.
Both meals we had were superb and well presented. The service was excellent and could not fault this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Blakes Restaurant, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
A simply delightful review Jersey, thank you very much. Thank you also for the 5 star review that you posted about the Best Western Connaught Hotel - very much appreciated.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent Quality/value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

The stay my wife and I had at The Connaught Hotel was marvelous. We came to celebrate our 24th wedding anniversary and we left very impressed. We had a lovely meal on the Saturday night in the Blakes Restaurant where we both had the fillet steak, it was the best we have ever tasted, thanks to your chef.
I must also say thanks to your Maitre d', Nicky Rutigliano who looked after us from the moment we arrived.
The meal we had on the Sunday was equally impressive (roast beef). Breakfast again was very relaxed and set us up for the day ahead. We both made full use of the leisure facilities during the stay which left us feeling very relaxed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Blakes Restaurant, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you Martyn for your "Excellent" 5 star review which delighted Nicky and his team and thank you also for the super review that you posted about the Connaught Lodge Hotel - all very much appreciated.

Hope to see you again in Bournemouth later this year - maybe Valentine's when we have a wonderful gala dinner and accompanies by our very own jazz saxophonist......

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

absolutely beautiful, had the spa day menu which was fantastic, Cheesecake out of this would and would recommend paying the £9.95 supplement for the rib-eye it was beautiful.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Blakes Restaurant, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Just brilliant Henny, thank you very much and thank you also for the lovely review you posted on the Connaught Hotel site.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blakes Restaurant also viewed

 
Bournemouth, Dorset
 

Been to Blakes Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blakes Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.