We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B &B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fenn Lodge Hotel B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bournemouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fenn Lodge Hotel B&B
Save
You added Fenn Lodge Hotel B&B to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   11 Rosemont Rd. | Alum Chine, Bournemouth BH4 8HB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 151 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
1 review
“Lovely B &B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This was our first stay on one of our annual visits to Bournemouth.Bruce and Sandy are a delightful couple and give every attention to the details which make their guests stay comfortable. Our room was beautifully clean and had a lovely view of the garden where we watched foxes and badgers feeding. The breakfasts were wonderful especially Sandy's Healthy breakfast.My husband recommends the Full English! The staff are friendly yet very professional. It was a memorable week and we look forwardto returning next year.


  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcometoexcellence, Owner at Fenn Lodge Hotel B&B, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you so very much for your tremendous revue. The staff were delighted with your view of them!! Thank you for mentioning them to as they do work hard behind the scenes.
It certainly was special for us to have met you both we hope you are able to return again and again. Take care of each other Bruce & Sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    27
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
86
180
33
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Woolmer Green, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We have stayed at Fenn Lodge with Sandy & Bruce on many occasions and they manage to improve the experience.(There are fresh ideas every year) The breakfast is a wider choice than ever and we always get made to feel special. The room we stayed in was spotless and having access to a fridge is a big plus for me. Waking up to the smell of Fresh bread is also nice. Going the extra mile is not too strong a phrase! I cannot praise them highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcometoexcellence, Owner at Fenn Lodge Hotel B&B, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thanks both of you for your Luuuuvely revue! You do know you cannot 'spoil ' a special thing don't you? ...its nothing you do not deserve....especially when you are on holiday and its certainly a pleasure, not a job for us. We really look forward to your next trip and we pray for total success with the medical.
In the meantime, take very good care of each other.....Bruce & Sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We have stayed here before and will be back. Wonderful location but also quiet and peaceful. A lot of thought is given to those little extras that make it stand out - great guest lounge, guest fridge, microwave, herbal teas, special diets - a real home from home but with the service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcometoexcellence, Owner at Fenn Lodge Hotel B&B, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you so very much for that lovely revue and thank you for taking the time in todays' busy schedule to do it for us. It was special for us to have you back with us and we very much look forward to your next visit. In the meantime take care of each other and abundant blessings. Bruce & Sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Sandy and Bruce gave us a very warm welcome and were kind, helpful and friendly throughout our stay. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Our room was very comfortable and it spotlessly clean when we arrived and was cleaned every morning. The whole hotel was spotless too. The dining room was a lovely big room. There was so much choice for breakfast, including Sandy's home made bread. It was nicely cooked and presented, We had a lovely week in one of the nicest B & B's we have stayed in and hope to stay there again in there future. Sandy and Bruce deserve all the accolades they get.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcometoexcellence, Owner at Fenn Lodge Hotel B&B, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you Jenny for your lovely words. High praise indeed and we would just love to have you back anytime. I am very glad your B & B experience was good after the happy times you had in Burnaby. Take care of each other Bruce & Sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

From booking the night, to the time we left, there was an individual personal touch that followed the whole experience. Bruce and Sandy know their stuff, easy and friendly to book, a welcome that is unrivalled, and all so personal. Our room was decorated, (our anniversary), now that is going the EXTRA mile. Sandy gave local information, and recommended restaurants, not by her, but by returning clientele - that is the way to do it. Breakfast was superb, not rushed, home-made bread. a fantastic all English. For my wife and myself, I cannot recommend Fenn Lodge and Bruce and Sandy enough. Great people, fantastic experience and even an email afterwards asking us if we had a safe journey home.. Thank you and we will definitely come back

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcometoexcellence, Owner at Fenn Lodge Hotel B&B, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
I am so glad you and Sarah had a great anniversary down here in Bournemouth....and it was an absolute pleasure decorating your room! It was such a special occasion and it was nothing you didn't deserve.
Thank you so very much for the lovely revue you have given us. I have to say its the kind words like this that encourages us to keep on trying!! Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you both back down here again. Take care of each other Bruce & Sandy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

A very clean & comfortable Hotel Sandy & Bruce are a lovely couple & that is just what you need when you go on Holiday alone. Breakfasts are Wonderful so much Choice & Sandys' Health Breakfast is certainly a Recommendation also her Home Made Bread still warm at Breakfast & a very nice Cream Tea when you arrive. Beds are very comfortable. So handy for the Beach & if you don't want to Walk back from the Beach there is a very Handy bus back that stops at the end of the Road. I certainly could not Fault Fenn Lodge & i would Recommend it to anybody. Also if you need a meal in the Evening there are plenty of Restaurants nearby in Westbourne. Its certainly home from home & have already booked for 2014 so i shall look forward to going again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcometoexcellence, Owner at Fenn Lodge Hotel B&B, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
I am really pleased you were so comfortable during your break here with us. Thank you very much for all your lovely words in your revue. I have to say tho that I am still in absolute awe of you for swimming for so long in September! Well done! Both Bruce & I look forward to your return visit next year and hope the weather is just as kind. In the meantime, take care of yourself and thanks again. Bruce & Sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Once again I am here writing my praise to what we have now personally awarded "Our Most Favourite B&B in the UK!".

We have been visiting Fenn Lodge for around 10 years and every year it just gets better & better! We stayed for five nights from 6th - 11th September. We were once again warmly welcomed by Bruce & Sandy and shown our room, which was Room 4 on the ground floor. This is ideal for us as my wife suffers with mobility problems due to a serious illness six years ago.

Having never stayed in this room before we were pleasantly surprised when we walked in. A huge bay window looking out over the veranda and the birds feeding away on the bird stands placed on the veranda. Two arm chairs in front of the bay window were a god send after long days out walking. It was nice to put your feet up and watch a bit of telly on their new 26" LCD televisions they now have in every room. The ensuite bathroom was a good size and the usual fluffy logo embroidered towels and flannels were nicely placed at the bottom of the bed.

A nice change for this year was our complimentary tea or coffee in the lounge. This year Sandy produced a lovely Cream Tea, which was a nice reflection on being in Dorset. A nice treat after our lengthy journey to Dorset.

The breakfast menu has also been updated for this year. There was an additional Savoury English Breakfast choice plus the famous regulars of the Healthy Option and their awesome Full English Breakfast with Black Pudding!! (Yum). Cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurts, fruit juice, tea/coffee, toast and of course Sandy's famous home made bread made breakfast times my favourite time of day.

The addition of Sandra, who helped serve breakfast, made it a much more flowing breakfast time, and also less pressure on Bruce who always used to seem up against it when everyone came down for breakfast at once!

On a personal note I would like to thank Bruce & Sandy very much for making my Mum very welcome, on her first trip down to Dorset on her own. She loved her stay and their fantastic hospitality made it a very enjoyable experience for her. Thank you so much for that.

Again, it is impossible to make a bad comment about Fenn Lodge, Bruce & Sandy or their staff. Our trip was faultless from the moment we walked through their door right up to the moment we said goodbye. So much so we have already booked a one week stay for July 2014!!

We would highly recommend Fenn Lodge to anyone wishing to be well looked after in very comfortable surroundings in a glorious location away from the hustle and bustle of Bournemouth. Westbourne is in an ideal location for walking to the beach or Bournemouth, plus the plush Compton Acres & Sandbanks which is always worth a visit. I highly recommend taking an evening drive to Compton Acres and sitting by Poole Harbour watching the sunset, absolutely amazing view.

Bruce, Sandy & Staff thank you so much for making our final holiday of the year a truly wonderful time. Can't wait for July 2014. Keep up your amazing work!

Room Tip: The back rooms all have lovely views over Alum Chine and the wildlife that ventures into their garde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcometoexcellence, Owner at Fenn Lodge Hotel B&B, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Wow...... Andy & Sue. Thanks sooooooo much for all those lovely words of encouragement. It is always such a pleasure to have you both down here with us and Mum is also a firm favourite with us and the staff. Sandra has also asked me to thank you on her behalf....she was quite overcome! I am hoping she will be with us again next season too.
We look forward to your next trip and in the meantime, take good care of each other. Bruce & Sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fenn Lodge Hotel B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fenn Lodge Hotel B&B

Address: 11 Rosemont Rd. | Alum Chine, Bournemouth BH4 8HB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Hotel Class:4 star — Fenn Lodge Hotel B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fenn Lodge is an award winning, totally non-smoking B & B situated in the exclusive Alum Chine, nestled between Bournemouth and Sandbanks. A 4 minute stroll, through the heavily wooded Chine, brings you onto 7 miles of sandy beach.All rooms are individually decorated with many extras for your comfort. The extensive breakfast menu is extremely popular with the smell of hot homemade bread waking guests. You are assured of a very warm welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fenn Hotel Bournemouth
Fenn Lodge Hotel Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fenn Lodge Hotel B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.