We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booking cancelled with less than a week to our stay!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Avalon Beach Hotel

Avalon Beach Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bournemouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Avalon Beach Hotel
Save
You added Avalon Beach Hotel to your Saves list
43 Grand Avenue Southbourne | Southbourne, Bournemouth BH6 3SY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Booking cancelled with less than a week to our stay!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We booked to stay at this hotel (nearly 2 months prior to our stay) for a couple of days over the Easter holiday with a couple of kids who badly needed a break. With just 5 days to go to our stay we were emailed to say that our booking in our apartment (Elaine) had been cancelled, but that we could stay in a room in another hotel behind Avalon Beach. Unfortunately no reason was given for the cancellation!

Although the owners did apologise and offer us free cooked breakfasts (and promptly refunded our deppsit) we felt that such a cancellation should not have happened without very good reason.......we were given none at all.

Suffice it to say....we didn't get to experience the hospitality of this highly acclaimed hotel and won't risk booking here again!

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    17
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
84
51
7
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Situated a stone's throw from the quietest part of the Bournemouth coast line in Southbourne, the Avalon never disappoints.

Owner and manager Paul has won several awards for hospitality and you can see why. Comfy, well appointed rooms. Friendly, personalised service. The perfect balance between stepping into someone's home and all the privacy you could want.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Excellent value for money, friendly and clean. Very flexible too. We were delighted with the service and the way we were treated. All very good. We'd certainly book here again. It is close to the sea and excellent sea walks and if you don't want breakfast in the hotel there are some very good cafes on the hight street too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Lovely second stay at this comfortable hotel. Well maintained hotel with a super,caring service from Paul and his team. The relaxed atmosphere is pleasing. Have now stayed at the Avalon on two occasions and will definitely stay again! Would recommend

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Although this is a very good B&B my issue is they charge £7 plus service charge for a cooked breakfast. So be warned about this hidden extra. It spoiled for us what but for that would have been a pleasant stay. I think £58.40 per night pp for this is excessive

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Safe to say we're regulars here now - Paul and his team are simply brilliant - nothing is too much trouble. Halfway between central Bournemouth and Christchurch, so very peaceful. Good access to beach (5 min walk South) and local shops/restaurants (5 min walk North). Very clean. Very safe. On site parking (but mind the tree when reversing!) If only the sun would come/stay out!! Keep flying the flag Paul...

Room Tip: All rooms good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uster, Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

A very nice hotel that offers all we need: good location close to the beach, very good breakfeast, a clean and comfortable family room and a great hospitality (with good advises given by the owner) ...many thanks to Paul and his team!
We stayed with our 2 children six nights in this lovely house and enjoyed our stay very much. The kids loved helping to feed the rabbits every morning. We will for sure stay at Avalon Beach Hotel again when we travel to the Bournemouth area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avalon Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Beach Hotel

Address: 43 Grand Avenue Southbourne | Southbourne, Bournemouth BH6 3SY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Avalon Beach Bournemouth
Hotel Avalon Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avalon Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.