We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a hotel which caters for all” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bournemouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel
Save Saved
You added Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel to your Saves list
Derby Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3QE, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BREAKS FROM £99
Ranked #30 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
Kendal, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“a hotel which caters for all”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Just back from our 8 day stay having travelled from the North West. A good journey down and a very quick and efficient service by the friendly staff on reception and a journey in the lift to our room. The lift has to be the smallest it is possible to be legal but just added to the overall fun to be had at this hotel. Room was at the front of the hotel and was surprisingly quiet considering its position. Kept clean and tidy and coffee sachets topped up regularly. Bathroom adequate but water pressure could have been better.
Meals in the dining room were nice and generally of a good standard. Served very efficiently by the hard working staff who stayed behind when our coach broke down on the Isle of Wight which was much appreciated by us all. Entertainment was very good and the lounge area was very spacious so no feeling of being cramped.
Would recommend this hotel if you want to stay somewhere where the staff definitely go out of their way to make you feel welcome.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Hi 78Lin
Thanks for your great review Customer service is our top priority here at the hotel. I will pass your great comments on to the rest of my team. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    114
    45
    22
    8
See reviews for
29
152
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Just got back with my sister from our 1st trip with Shearings holidays. We went for 8 days and cannot fault this trip at all. We got picked up from Sheffield by a feeder coach to Woodall services where we met our Shearing coach our driver Micheal was brilliant. Arrived at the hotel where check in was fast and efficient. Our room was very spacious with 2 single beds, wardrobe, dressing table, bedside table and 2 chairs, the bathroom was also very spacious. We over looked the coach parking and outdoor pool. There was a good choice at both breakfast and evening meal, the waiting on staff work very hard, our waiter Csaba was very efficient and helpful. The hotel is very clean and cannot see what people have to complain about. Our room was cleaned daily and had 2 lots of clean towels. Cannot comment on the entertainment as we did not watch any. The trips that were included in the price were very good 2 full days and 1 half day were included with optional trips that you paid for. Our driver went out of his way to show us places of interest and gave lots of commentary. The hotel is 5 minutes walk from the beach down a zig zag path, Bournemouth town is 20 minutes stroll away and Boscombe 15 minutes walk. There are lots of shops in Bournemouth which also has a good bus service.

Room Tip: Higher rooms overlooking the pool are good, room 309 is big. The are also 2 rooms with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Hi home40
Fantastic what a lovely review I am so pleased to see you enjoyed your first Shearings holiday I hope its the first of many. I will make sure I pass your comments on to Csaba and the rest of my team. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We needed a hotel with close proximity to the beach as we were exhibiting at the Bournemouth Wheels Festival in May. A smart and clean hotel close to the clifftop and beach but set back a little for improved peace and quiet. Reception staff welcoming and attentive, as were all the other staff. Very relaxed atmosphere put us at ease immediately.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Hi Team C
Great thanks for your review and I must say what a fantastic Wheels festival it was I am glad to see you were able to relax after the hectic days at the festival. I hope to see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Visited this hotel on a Shearings 8day break had a great time, the hotel was very nice, the staff were very helpful and the dining room staff were very good, we had room 208 it is very small but ok the only minus is not enough room for your clothes in this room but we made the best of it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Hi Allan M
Thanks for your review I am glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us. Give me a ring next time and I will see what i can do about rooms for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Stayed at this hotel in March with Shearings. Very comfortable. The food was excellent and the staff very good. Entertainment in the evening was a quiz, bingo and speciality acts. My husband and I would definitely go again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Hi Chrissie191125
Thanks for your great review I will pass your kind comments on to the rest of my team. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern England
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We enjoy our visits to the Bay Majestic. The hotel itself is gradually being updated. The room we had on the first floor had adequate space for clothes and other belongings. There was only one drawer, but the new-style wardrobe had shelves as well as hanging space. The en-suite was usable, but the shower cubicle was very small - about two feet square. The door could only open about halfway, so more generously proportioned guests may well have a problem accessing the shower. However, the water was always hot. The bed was comfortable and there was a flat screen TV with all the Freeview channels.

Reception staff were all very helpful, and were quick to arrange for us to have an extra pillow, and also a supply of coffee, tea and milk when the room attendant forgot to leave us any one morning.

The food was also good, and the restaurant staff were hard-working and helpful. We found the portions of food to be sufficient, but we noticed that if guests asked for more vegetables, or larger portions at breakfast, the staff were willing to oblige.

There was entertainment each evening and a quiz, plus bingo. However, no bingo on Sunday.

Parking spaces can be pre-booked for £5 a night. However, if you visit the hotel just for a weekend, bear in mind that there is no charge for parking in Derby Road and some nearby roads after 5pm on Friday until 9am on Monday. We arrived just after 1pm and paid just £2 for the four hours parking until 5pm. Just ensure that you move your car before 9am on Monday morning!

Buses run from near the end of Derby Road, towards Bournemouth, Poole and beyond to the west and Boscombe and Christchurch to the east. Those who enjoy a walk can access the east cliff by turning left out of the hotel, heading to the mini roundabout and walking through a short alleyway. It takes about 20-25 minutes to walk into Bournemouth if you can walk at a reasonable pace.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Hi RainbowDays
Thanks for your review it was nice to see you chose to stay with us again and for giving us such an honest review, as always I will look in to the few minor issues you raised and see if I can get them ironed out. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Hotel was very clean and tidy. Staff very obliging.Stayed in room 118 it was clean and comfortable en-suite was very small but useable. Food and entertainment were very good really enjoyed playing snooker and all the other facilities were excellent.Wish we could have used the swimming pool.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Hi Christopher M
Thanks for your review I am pleased to see you enjoyed your time with us and made use of most of our facilities. The pool is open now; I went in it last week for the first time this year and as it’s an outdoor pool I can confirm it should only be used by the brave until the weather warms up a bit. Its still a sun trap and the loungers make it a lovely spot for some sun bathing. We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel

Address: Derby Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3QE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic hotel is located on the East Cliff and is just a few minutes' walk from the seven miles of glorious golden sand that is Bournemouth beach. The bay offers beautiful vistas and on a clear day you can easily see the Needles on the Isle of Wight and Old Harry’s Rocks over in the Purbecks. The hotel is just a short walk to the shops and variety of seaside attractions and is set in a great location for you to explore the surrounding area. Dinner can be enjoyed in the comfortable restaurant and guests can also benefit from a snooker room, outside terrace and swimming pool. With a contemporary ballroom and bar, lively entertainment is provided most evenings including music for dancing, visiting cabaret, quizzes and bingo. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.