We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bournemouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel
Derby Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3QE, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
CLICK FOR GREAT DEALS!
Ranked #36 of 70 hotels in Bournemouth
Derbyshire
1 review
“Very good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Have done a number of Shearings breaks including Straphpeffer in Scotland, Isle of Wight, Eastbourne, Paignton, St. Ives and Ilfracombe (3 times) and have to say that the Majestic Bournemouth is the best so far. Can't really fault it at the price. Staff were friendly and efficient, food was very acceptable and slightly above average (for Shearings). The hotel itself was comfortable with spacious lounge/bar areas. The bedroom was clean and perfectly adequate, the only annoyance was the constant ticking of a retro clock radio!
All in all a very pleasant and enjoyable break.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Hi activexp
Brilliant thanks for another great review. We are honoured you feel we are so good it’s lovely when people tell us we are getting it right. I will pass your comments on to the rest of my team. As for the annoying radio we are slowly replacing them with flat screen TV’s, next time just let me know if you have one in your room and I will get it removed. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    108
    44
    21
    8
See reviews for
26
142
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
somerset
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We have just returned home from the most fantastic weekend here again!!!! this is the fourth time we have stayed and have always enjoyed it, when I book I request the room I would like and they always oblige, very pleasant and friendly staff, good food and great entertainment. This hotel is excellent value for money. Also it's being refurbished and looking good. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone, We look forward to our next visit. Thank you to everyone working at this hotel

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Hi Truthfulpeeps
Fantastic thanks for your great comments its lovely to get reviews from so many regular customers its very reassuring that were getting it right. We will all endeavour to keep it up to ensure things get better and better. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Having enjoyed previous visits to The Majestic we booked again. More refurbishments have taken place and our room, although a little on the small side, was recently decorated and the bathroom (very small but useable) was in good order. We were on the top floor and so had to use the lift but found that we only had to wait a short while - it only takes two people so sometimes there is a queue to use it. Food was good and portions ample, service was quick although our waitress didn't smile much but she was efficient. We did not go on the arranged outings although part of a coach group as it is so easy to pop on a bus (the stops are very near the hotel) to Salisbury, Christchurch, Poole, Bournemouth etc. and we prefer to be independent. The entertainment was very good - Amanda Jayne as always was a delight and got everyone involved. We also had drinks vouchers which made the holiday even better value. Another enjoyable trip to the Majestic - we will be back again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Hi Seasidedancer
Lovely thanks for your great comments I am glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of our 1st class bus service. I will pass your comments on to Amanda and the rest of the team. We all hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Went as a party of 4. Hotel was excellent just a couple of things, the lift is small only holds 2 people our friends used it but we managed with stairs to second floor. My main disappointed was dinner on the first night which starts at 6.30, we went in just before 7 and the 4 of us ordered garlic mushrooms as a starter only for the waiter to return and say they had all gone. This meant 2 of the party had no starter as they didnt like the other options. The hotel was busy with 3 coaches in but would have thought they would have an idea of how many would be needed. In fact having done several of these trips over the years this area of menu choice would be the hotels weak spot. Saying that what we did have each night was nice. Breakfasts were excellent. The rooms were good with newish tvs and beds and were very clean. Our bathroom in room 205 was ready for updating but our friends in 204 had had theirs done, but it didnt in any way spoil the holiday. Yes the floorboards are squeaky but again not a huge problem we all slept reasonably well. The evening entertainment was I would say the best we have had on one of these trips, being a very good standard every night. Trips were good and I must mention Ricky our driver for this trip who was brilliant. So overall has to be excellent review and would definately return at some point in the future

Room Tip: Stay to 2nd floor or below to avoid lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Hi PattiNV
Thanks for your lovely review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us We are hoping to do the bathroom in the room you stayed in early next year so it should look like your friends did, I am glad you didn’t find this inconvenient in any way. I will have a chat to our chef about the mushrooms it’s very unusual we run out of them. If you give me a call next time you wish to stay with us I will see if I can get you room 204 0r 205 again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Reception Staff -welcoming and helpful; Food - Good; Entertainment - Good; The Lift - Totally inadequate; The twin room. Bedroom - Bedding clean, only one chair, window filthy inside and out,
The Shower Cubicle was a breeding ground for legionnaires disease. I have photographic evidence. Oh! - nearly forgot to mention - you have to supply your own Shower Gell.

Room Tip: Suggest upgrade to Premium Room when Booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Hi John W
Thanks for your comments I am glad to see my team looked after you during your stay and you enjoyed the food. Unfortunately not a lot I can do about the size of the lift but it does its job and is quite a fast lift in comparison to some of the newer ones. I will look in to the other points you raised and ensure any improvements needed are implemented immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
romford
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This was the second time this year we have stayed at this hotel this year i must firstly say it was just like going back home the welcome on arrival from the manager was very nice check in was swift we were in our room within mins.Room was very good nice new bed nice bathroom tea and coffee in room they realy add the finishing touches to make your stay a pleasent one.
The drinks card for 4 free drinks per day per person is very good for pensioners, all of the staff are to be complemented for the way they treat thier guests they make you feel very welcome nothing to much trouble.now for entertainment Amanda Jane is a very talented lady as sone as she walks in she has you laughing sheerings are lucky to have her,also Niel Young is very good.The standard in this hotel is as good as any you get anywhere.
I must finaly complement all the resturant staff for there hard work also room staff who kept our room excellent thankyou.cant wait to go back again next year

Room Tip: rooms at 1st floor are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Hi Jeffrey b
Fantastic thanks for such a lovely review. I am delighted to see you feel like you’re coming home when you visit us. I will pass your comments on to the rest of my team. We look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

A well organised weekend.
On arrival the staff got us to our rooms quickly.
A nice menu,the waiting staff worked smoothly and efficiently.
The room was warm cosy and clean, nice bathroom.
The entertainment was very enjoyable,liked ABBA & Terri Christopher.
This Hotel should be a benchmark standard for the Bay Hotel Group.
Will come again.
Martin & Hazel White

Room Tip: If not watching evening entertainment, or need an early night avoid rooms over ballroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Hi Martin Hazel W
Fantastic what a lovely comment about us being a benchmark for bay hotels I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.. We look forward to seeing you again soon and if you give us a call when you book I will try and get the same room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel

Address: Derby Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3QE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 70 hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic hotel is located on the East Cliff and is just a few minutes' walk from the seven miles of glorious golden sand that is Bournemouth beach. The bay offers beautiful vistas and on a clear day you can easily see the Needles on the Isle of Wight and Old Harry’s Rocks over in the Purbecks. The hotel is just a short walk to the shops and variety of seaside attractions and is set in a great location for you to explore the surrounding area. Dinner can be enjoyed in the comfortable restaurant and guests can also benefit from a snooker room, outside terrace and swimming pool. With a contemporary ballroom and bar, lively entertainment is provided most evenings including music for dancing, visiting cabaret, quizzes and bingo. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel to your Saves list