We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once again a very good weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bournemouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel
Derby Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3QE, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
CLICK FOR GREAT DEALS!
Ranked #36 of 71 hotels in Bournemouth
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Once again a very good weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

After nearly twenty years of going to the Majestic we are always pleased to return. Staff are always pleasent and the service is great, Food good and the Bedrooms are always clean. The entertainment is good, this time it was a Motown weekend.
The one downside is the hotel needs some referb especialy in the bathrooms. Taking into consideration the cost Shearings do a great job.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Hi Terry E
Thanks for you great comments i wonder if 20 years is our longest returning customer? If anyone can better that please let me know. As for the bathrooms we do have an ongoing program of refurbishment so things are improving all the time. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    108
    44
    21
    8
See reviews for
26
142
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rugby
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Very good weekend, good food, excellent entertainment, friendly and helpful staff. Overall good value for money!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Hi eileen t
Fantastic just what we like another satisfied customer, hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012 via mobile

As regular non-resident visitors to this hotel, we wanted to say how much we enjoy our visits.

We have access to the bar fron 10am until late, a good selection of locally made cakes and with Dowe Egberts coffee we can't go wrong!

We've enjoyed many hot lunches (12-2pm). We love the chips and spicy wedges! Later in the afternoon (2-10pm) we've enjoyed beautiful chunky baguettes, very generously filled.

The friendly staff always make us welcome. The Majestic has a large bright lounge with comfy big chairs and tables by big windows that let the light in (our favourite spot).

Sometimes we'll sit outside and enjoy the sun for hours (as the seating gets light from both south and west). If we fancy a change there are other seating areas too, including sofas, but the windows are our favourite.

We've had evening dinners here many times too and have always found them very substantial, well cooked and with a good variety on the menu (all three courses and tea/coffee included). One of us being vegetarian is also well catered for with a different main course every day!

We've enjoyed evening entertainment (something every night during autumn and winter) by resident entertainers Amanda Jayne and Neil Scott (both fabulous) along with other visiting entertainers and tribute cabarets.

We can even watch tv or play snooker!

This hotel is truly a local gem that other non-residents should come and check out!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Hi Dawn_Mark_2012

Thanks for your great comments i couldn't of put it better my self. I am pleased you have found your self a nice little daytime haven and its good to see you take full advantage of everything we have to offer. I will pass your comments on to the rest of the team i know they will appreciate them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Majestic on a five day Mondy to Friday break with Shearings, 5th March.
When considering the cost to stay at the Majestic, it represents great value for money. Although the room we stayed in, 304 on the 3rd floor, was a little tired looking and in need of a coat of paint, it was nevertheless spotlessly clean with a comfy bed and an adequate bathroom. The food was very good and the service was excellent.
We enjoyed good entertainment each evening sitting in a spacious lounge area. The staff were very frendly and obliging.
I would have no hesitation recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: If you have no mobility problems, choose a room on the third floor wher it tends to be very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Hi Ron B

Thanks for your great comments another satisfied customer reading all these great comments is a joy i must say. Redecorating and upgrading is something we plan carefully as we want to improve things for our guests but at the same time ensure everything runs smoothly and our guests are not unconvinced in any way while we carry out the works. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

a few reviews i read about this hotel makes me wonder what people want for their money- i cannot fault this hotel we had a very comfy room on 3rd floor room 323 it was nice and warm comfy beds plenty of hot water - we only had a bath with a shower attatchment so you can make do the towels where changed every day and tea/coffee facilities provided if you run out reception give you more.the food was excellent with plenty of choice the portions are only small and this is my only critism the food was that good i could have eaten two lots!!! the service was excellent and all the staff are very helpful.the entertainment was also excellent on all the 3 nights we stayed. to get to beach turn left out of hotel cross road and an alley way leads you to zig zag path that takes you down to beach --- right to bournemouth left for boscombe the views are lovelly and a nice walk which ever way you decide to go. i will be returning to this hotel in summer as there is an out door pool to enjoy too cant wait

Room Tip: if you have trouble walking upstairs ask for lower floor there is a lift but it is really small -- s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Hi chrisntony

Thanks for the great review i makes our day to read when people have enjoyed their stay with us and like you say we are ideally situated far enough out of town to be quiet but close enough to get to easily and with the beach 5 minuets away and buses only 50 yards away and running in to town every 5 minuets what more could you want. Our swimming pool is open May to September and if its too cold for a dip we have lovely comfy loungers and the patio is a sun trap catching the sun all day so bring your sun cream. I am glad you enjoyed the food and feel it was nice enough to eat more, now for a hot tip if you fancy a little more just like the tea and coffee in the rooms just ask your waitress nothing is to much trouble.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

We have been back to the Majestic and enjoyed it again very much. The staff especially in the Restaurant cannot be faulted and look after me so well especially as I am Wheat & Gluten Free.This is the first Shearings that we have been to that has a seperate W/G Free menu and the staff all go out of their way to help me. Everyone else in our party enjoyed their food too.
There is now a smart coffee bar to the side of the main bar and the rooms are gradually being refurbished by the look of it. We and our friends occupied 3 rooms,ours had been modernised and the other two not.[photos] The others were still clean and comfortable but a bit more old fashioned.
Entertainment was good as usual at the Majestic and I don't know how anyone can fault it for the price.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Hi again worzelle

Its always lovely to read your comments. I am glad you like our smart new coffee bar and i hope you sampled our new coffees and cakes. As you say we are gradually upgrading and refurbishing, both public ares and bedrooms and i am pleased the new look meets with your approval. I will pass your comments on to the rest of the team and i know we al look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Stayed here recently having travelled on a Shearings 4 night coach tour with a discrete group from our local church. Our room was lovely - clean and spacious with a good walk-in shower. The food was excellent with a good choice and we could not fault the service in the dining room. The entertainment was good but we would have liked more opportunity for dancing given that there was such a lovely dance floor. We have found this in other hotels, too, that the artists seem to prefer to wander up and down the floor rather than stay in one place allowing people to dance!! However, this is a very small criticism and we had no complaints whatsoever about the hotel.

Room Tip: We requested a shower and it was lovely. Some rooms have bath only - so if you want a shower, then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Hi MarianVaughn
Fantastic i am pleased to see we lived up to your expectations. Its always good to hear people enjoyed their time with us, i will pass these comments on to the rest of our team..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel

Address: Derby Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3QE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 71 hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic hotel is located on the East Cliff and is just a few minutes' walk from the seven miles of glorious golden sand that is Bournemouth beach. The bay offers beautiful vistas and on a clear day you can easily see the Needles on the Isle of Wight and Old Harry’s Rocks over in the Purbecks. The hotel is just a short walk to the shops and variety of seaside attractions and is set in a great location for you to explore the surrounding area. Dinner can be enjoyed in the comfortable restaurant and guests can also benefit from a snooker room, outside terrace and swimming pool. With a contemporary ballroom and bar, lively entertainment is provided most evenings including music for dancing, visiting cabaret, quizzes and bingo. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel to your Saves list