We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so cheap and cheerful in a terrible town” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Britannia Hotel Bournemouth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Britannia Hotel Bournemouth to your Saves list
Britannia Hotel Bournemouth
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3DP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 71 Hotels in Bournemouth
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“Not so cheap and cheerful in a terrible town”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

If you've already staid in Britannia hotels, you pretty know what you'll have for the price. They are old fashioned, a bit worn and faded, not really spotlessly clean (it goes with the old fashioned faded side) but the room is relatively spacious and clear, the bed comfortable, the bathroom quite small but all in all, it is all right for a one night stay on the way. I would not stay here more than a night.
The breakfast is a not very good. Poor quality of products. Not ham or cheese if you do not want or like greasy fried eggs or watery scrambled ones (obviously not well prepared powered mix). It is the same kind of breaky in nearly all those hotels. Except that in run down Bournemouth, you have to pay £7 for it! Too much if toasts is all you eat there...
You also have to pay £5 for the car park. At the end, it is not that cheap...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    132
    180
    155
    262
See reviews for
121
385
29
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Poole, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

this was by far the worst afternoon tea I have had. the hotel was shabby and not overly clean, we had bought in scones,mini muffins and defrosted eclairs.and we were given milk cartons for our tea.all in all not an experience I will be repeating

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Had the misfortune to stay in this hotel for the weekend, carpets in bedroom were stained and worn, paint peeling off radiators and pipes, no toilet roll holder, no bath mat I had to use a hand towel to prevent slipping, lift stopped working so had to use the stairs to third floor, indoor swimming pool was charged extra as was the car parking. Had to ask for our bins to be emptied and the room was not vacuumed during our stay. We paid a premium for a room with sea view which was a joke as the sea was so far away you needed very good eyesight to spot anything.
Huge amounts of money need to be spent to bring this hotel anywhere near acceptable standard.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking pool and garden area are very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Central Location - but then again most hotels in Bournemouth are in a central location.

This hotel is the worst hotel I have ever been to! Was miss sold this hotel by the pictures you see when booking!
Lifts were small and the display was missing so you could not tell what floor you was on and not very clean, (carpet could do with replacing). Indications of former damp patches on room walls, which although dry, would indicate dampness in winter. Overall quality for price...Poor!

Windows was dirty ( looks like not been cleaned for ages

Poor parking for the amount of rooms also you have to pay for
it

Would not stay here again!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Bournemouth has become a toilet. Wandering anywhere outside the hotel is overtly threatening as it would seem that bournemouth council's marketing department have done a fine job in attracting all the UK drunks, low life's, beggars and scum into their town. Unpleasant would be an understatement. The hotel is thankfully a walk away from the dreadful bar street and we were surprised to be given such a pleasant room. Spacious, lots of opening windows and a great bed. Can't really fault the place. Won't ever return to Bournemouth though. Grim town!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

My son, bless him, bought me an Afternoon Tea for two for Mother's day - either he hates me or is too young to read reviews. Think Asda basic range but worse and you are half way there. Sandwiches were edible, the scones were cloggy, the cream warm and lumpy and one little jam (not a jar) for two scones. The "pastries" were frozen éclairs and those tiny muffins you get from cartoons in the supermarket. The tea (well we brought our own decaf tea) was hot water with cartoons of UHT milk and the coffee was revolting. The accompanying "sparkling wine" was very sweet. The staff, to give them their due, managed to keep a straight face when they handed out the "afternoon" tea and they were polite when you could find them!!!! I shall obviously lie to my 12 year old and say it was lovely but be warned.........

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Given an e-birthday pressie for afternoon Tea for two. Really NOT nice. Sandwiches with some crusts still on and quite damp, obviously been in the fridge too long. Scones put in the microwave to appear 'freshly' made., but they were dry inside. Mini choc. Eclair and a baby muffin, not appealing at all. Two tea bags left on a tray, two baby cartons of milk, no extra hot water. One baby carton of jam, really not enough for two scones!! I could go on and on. Room we were in was not very clean and still had deflated balloons on the ceiling. Keep away.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Britannia Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Bournemouth

Address: East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 71 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel Bournemouth 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Britannia Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bournemouth Britannia Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Britannia Hotel Bournemouth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.