We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Piccadilly

Save Saved
You added Hotel Piccadilly to your Saves list
Hotel Piccadilly
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Piccadilly
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Bath Road, Bournemouth BH1 2NN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 150 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Southampton
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We had booked with Groupon for one night on a Saturday on a Bank Holiday weekend. Amazed we got in and even with a £20 extra for Saturday stop we paid £70 bed and breakfast for two. We arrived at 130pm but unable to book in until 2pm but it does say so. Parking ok at front of hotel off street. The hotel is tastefully decorated and recently updated. Pleasant bar area and lounge. Our double room was top floor (second floor) front facing and even with window open was not too noisy at night. Tea and coffee in room with a bath and shower. Room Clean but a bit small. The downside was the exceptionally small lift. it said it would carry two people but i can say don't take luggage too! also read the notices. if you stand the wrong way the lift stops and for some could be a worry. I was very impressed by the breakfast which was excellent. There was cereal and cooked. Staff in restaurant were very efficient but top marks go for the lovely non greasy cooked breakfast. I am not sure I would pay the normal per person rates but they do reflect the value offered to the dancing groups who so obviously do enjoy this hotel.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    30
    13
    6
    4
See reviews for
3
38
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Had 5 nts/4 day dance holiday with YDC. Had a great time. Staff overall good. Rooms basic but clean and quiet at the side/back. Good dance floor but need to sort the AC so it works better. Would come again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here recently as we had purchased a Groupon deal. The weather was beautiful and the hotel is perfectly located for a trip to the beach, as well as a wonder in to town. The only downfall is, it is definitely aimed at an older audience - I think we were the only people in the hotel under 50! However the bed was very soft and comfy and staff were friendly enough. The cooked breakfast was also fantastic!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PB_Direct_Ops, Manager at Hotel Piccadilly, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Hi I want to say thank you for your observations and comments about our hotel.

I am the newly appointed Operations Director and will be looking at various improvements over the next few months including how to attract a younger clientele as well as our established customers.

I'd be very interested to hear your views on what we might do or have in place to bring you and others your age back? Please feel free to email me personally;

paul@hotelpiccadilly.co.uk

Regards

Paul B .... A very young 50 year old! ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Booked a Superior room and the bed was the smallest Double ive ever slept in. It also was very soft causing us to roll in the middle so a very uncomfortable sleep. There was also a problem with the boiler which caused us to wash in cold water. When enquiring about this and when it would be fixed, there seemed no urgency about this, just told it was being dealt with and we should stagger showering. Rather difficult when we didn't know what times other people were using their showers. There also needs to be some sort of air conditioning in the ballroom as it got very not with 100 plus people in the basement!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleetwood, England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is our 2nd stay at the hotel in 9 months and it was just as fab. We stayed again in room 224 on the 2nd floor at the front of the hotel. Though you can hear road traffic noise it certainly didn't worry us. The room is very large in an Art Deco style. The only criticism is that the shower is not powerful enough. The food as last time is fantastic with plenty of choices beautifully presented and delicious. The dance floor is one of the best we have danced on.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed for a three day dance holiday and booked a superior room at the front of the Hotel. The room was good in itself with interesting old high quality art deco furniture. The double glazed window did not fit properly and let in a lot of street noise which on a Saturday night was fairly raucous. I recommend booking a room at the back. The restaurant is very good with efficient staff and good food. Reception staff were cheerful and helpful. The Ballroom is very good although the bar to the ballroom was not staffed some of the time which caused problems. The dance tuition and dance music by Danceworks Devon was very good and created a welcoming atmosphere

Room Tip: Might be better at the back of the Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We have visited the Piccadilly Hotel many times with our Dance Group and have never been disappointed. The ballroom is top notch and we always have had a lovely bedroom. Some rooms are bigger than others, have doubles or two single beds. This hotel has been gradually upgrading and refurbishing all the rooms over the years and is our No. 1 choice when visiting Bournemouth. The food is always good and we often relax in the Lounge. Their Sunday Lunch is very popular. The rooms on the front of the hotel can be a bit noisy if the window is open, but things quieten down later on. (Plenty of ambulances and police cars use Bath Rd though.)

One of the pluses is the location on Bath Road, very close to the bus stops and on the flat! This has proved important for those who dislike walking or are unable to walk up and down all the hilly roads. We travelled down by car, but hardly use it as the buses are so good and the roads are busy. Incidentally, the car park is very small but any overflows can use the adjacent hotel. We've visited lots of the sights and places in the area and can't wait to go back. The weather is often very good in spite of the forecasts and always warmer than the rest of the country. The staff are always very welcoming and helpful and have got to know us all now.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have no view but are nice and quiet. Rooms with two single beds tend to be larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Piccadilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Piccadilly

Address: Bath Road, Bournemouth BH1 2NN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Piccadilly 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Piccadilly is a privately owned 3 star hotel situated close to the town centre and a short stroll from Bournemouth's award winning beaches. The Hotel is both comfortable and stylish with many of its staff having worked at the Hotel for a number of years - all of this adds to the warm, friendly and welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Piccadilly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Piccadilly, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.