We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not go back” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Piccadilly

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Piccadilly to your Saves list
Hotel Piccadilly
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Bath Road, Bournemouth BH1 2NN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 151 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Would not go back”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

My wife and I went for a 3 night break over the bank holiday weekend to Hotel Piccadilly. First impressions were poor as we checked in and the receptionist was incredibly rude, didn't even tell us where our room was or when breakfast was, and then didn't offer any help with the bags.

The room was a double but very small with only just enough space at either side of the bed to walk down. Room got very hot at night but when the window was opened the traffic noise was too loud. So we were stuck in a catch 22. The bath was dirty when we arrived with hairs in at and the bathroom carpet was mouldy on the edges.

The food at meals was pretty poor. The food was bland and concentrated more on larger portions than quality. One night my wife had pasta with blue cheese and spinach, which basically consisted of some over cooked watery pasta and some oil drizzled on top. We sent it back and got something else. Service was alright but a bit abrupt at times. Plus the restaurant seemed to shut about 7:30pm for some strange reason.

Overall the hotel caters alright to its older dancing clientele but didn't really seem to care about younger guests like ourselves. Wouldn't go back at all, there's lots of other better places to stay in Bournemouth.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    35
    16
    6
    5
See reviews for
6
46
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Just stayed two nights at Piccadily Hotel.
It looks like it has just recently been decorated so it has a real nice clean feel about the rooms.
Dinner and Breakfast included in price and quality of food was superb. Cannot find any fault at all. Try the roast lamb. Melts in your mouth
Service great, location near to town and beach.
Only downside is a small car park which tended to be really busy but apart from that, well worth the money. Big thumbs up

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

I whisked Lori away for an overnight social dance hosted by ‘UK’s leading hotel for ballroom and latin dancing.’ The proprietor is a dance aficionado and made a bit of a specialty catering to dance events. They offer a special package of dinner, dancing, dance show, room and breakfast.

Probably the best value overnight event/stay we have ever had. The dinner was simple but tasty. The full English breakfast was first rate complete with fried bread and fresh ingredients freshly cooked.

The dancing was hosted in a lovely, understated ballroom. The show and compering were done by one of the best Ballroom/Latin Dance acts in the UK – Richard Still and Morgan Hemphill. Their UK and world champion form is matched by their charm, charisma and warmth as they join in and work with the couples.

Anyone interested ballroom/latin dance should get on Hotell Picadilly’s mailing list if their other events are anything like this programme.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

Just by chance we happened upon this gem of a hotel. We had a 3 day mid-week deal of D.B&B the breakfast was buffet style totally faultless, as was the dinner with a varied and well constructed menu. Our room was comfortable, and is due to be up graded, a concern we had, having read a review that the beds were too soft , I rang the hotel expressing this concern only to be assured that our beds would be firm! True to their word our needs were met.
All staff that we came into contact with were friendly and prepared to go the extra mile to ensure our stay was happy. Cavan MacDonald

Room Tip: ask for a room to the side or rear of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

Squeaky floorboards and a tiny lift for 2 are the introduction to this hotel, which could do with a facelift, but otherwise it's clean and tidy with excellent food and very accommodating staff. No seaviews, but only a 5/10 minute walk to the seafront or town. The rooms are suffice, with ensuite bath/shower. The double bed was so soft you rolled to the middle! Hot water is hit or miss. The hotel specialises in dancing tuition and holidays so best suited to the older generation who return regularly due to the special attention they receive from staff. The restaurant provides excellent food and the bar facilities excel too.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

Had a wonderful couple of days dancing at this lovely friendly hotel. Loved the art deco feel of the lounge, the food and the staff and had a fabulous time dancing.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

Our first visit to the Hotel to improve our ballroom dancing and we were not disappointed. The tution was friendly and sympathic for those guests who were new to dancing or needed to brush up their technique whilst advanced lessons were available for the more experienced. There was lots of time to visit the town and take other trips. A friendly atmosphere prevailed over the break and the staff could not be more helpful. The rooms were adequate and spotlessly clean. The restaurant provided trational quality style service, wih excellent freshly prepared food with adequate menu choice. We will go again. Excellent value

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Piccadilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Piccadilly

Address: Bath Road, Bournemouth BH1 2NN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Piccadilly 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Piccadilly is a privately owned 3 star hotel situated close to the town centre and a short stroll from Bournemouth's award winning beaches. The Hotel is both comfortable and stylish with many of its staff having worked at the Hotel for a number of years - all of this adds to the warm, friendly and welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Piccadilly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Piccadilly, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.