We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ingledene House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ingledene House to your Saves list
Ingledene House
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   18-20 Gardens View | Derby Road, Bournemouth BH1 3QA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #99 of 152 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Kettering
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Just returned from a girls long weekend staying at the Ingledene (Fri-Mon), where we staying in one of their triple rooms (room 0) on a bed and breakfast basis. At first we were a little concerned about the location of the room and noise levels as it was on the ground floor at the bottom of the stairs between the front door and the breakfast room, however we had no problems whatsoever. The room was clean, functional (fridge, kettle, tea & coffee, small ensuite, tv), our only complaint was that we couldn't seem to get a happy medium with the shower - it was either tepid or boiling hot! The staff are really welcoming and seemed to be genuinely interested in what our plans for the day were, how we were enjoying our stay etc. There also seemed to be a good mix of guests: families, studies, friends etc. Location was good, plenty of free parking, close to the beach and not too far a walk to the centre of town.
Breakfast was nothing short of excellent - good small selection of continental items and English breakfast freshly cooked to order as required.
We very much enjoyed our stay and would use the Ingledene again or recommend it to anyone looking for a budget bargain stay in Bournemouth.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    30
    8
    8
    10
See reviews for
27
21
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
nottingham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

As before, slightly daunting on arrival as the reception room is very dark. We were greeted by Charles, he made us feel very welcome. We had 2 rooms, a triple (with a double and a single bed) and a twin for our 18yr old son. Both rooms were very clean, beds were freshly made - and smelt clean too. Bathrooms were clean, fresh white towels, shampoo and soap provided. There was a kettle in the room with plenty of tea bags, coffee, milk and sugar provided. A small fridge was in the room too. Plenty of storage for clothes.
Charles gave us directions to the beach and the local supermarket. Nice clean - not too commercialised - Boscombe beach within a 10minute walk, Asda 10mins away, also train station behind Asda.
Breakfast - amazing. Full English (freshly made), toast, cereal, yogurts, pastries, cold meats and cheese. Coffee, tea, hot chocolate, juices, fresh cold water. The staff at breakfast couldn't do enough for you.
You're given a key fob for the main front door as well as your door key - so no curfew : ). There a few families with very small children staying whilst we were there - but we never heard a sound from them.

We would definitely recommend Ingledene to anyone wanting a not too expensive getaway to Bournemouth.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Ingledene guest house is ideal for way you pay for. We stayed for 2 nights over a bank holiday weekend at a very reasonable price. If all you need is a bed to sleep in, a shower in the morning and a hearty breakfast then you can't argue. Its got on road parking right outside. It's 2 minutes from Asda and the train station and a quick taxi ride into the centre of town.
We were a group of girls heading to the Rugby 7's Festival which they had no problem with, we were a same sex group who went out and came home late but thy trusted we could shave ourselves and had no problem in allowing us to stay. Ideal for a cheap easy stay with friends.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the Ingledene in May, arrived to a friendly welcome. We stayed in a twin room which although a little dated was very clean. Tea and coffee was provided as well as a fridge which proved very useful. The bathroom and toilet were separate and you had to walk between the beds to get from one to the other but this was no problem really. Breakfast was very nice with a good choice of cereals, fruit and full english served in a lovely conservatory type breakfast room. Free on street parking - fairly easy to get a space. Small lovely gardens opposite guest house. All in all this was very good value for money and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I must admit in entering the guest house we were a little concerned on how dated the place looked and it was quite dark , but the room we stayed in and whole place was spotlessly clean..had a twin room which suited the purpose, bedding smelt lovely and clean. So quiet too. Its about 20 minutes walk to BIC. Coming back we took wrong turning ,managed to find way back but quite a scary area to walk to.. ( not the rd guesthouse in ) i would recommend it if you are looking for somewhere to stay for one totwo nights.. Breakfast was basic but nice and lots of choice. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here whilst visiting friends over May half term. This is a lovely B&B. We only paid £51 between us via booking.com which included an excellent breakfast - full English plus a continental buffet in a sweet well lit dining area.

Free on street parking is a big bonus, plus free (and fast) wifi. Warm welcome on arrival, map offered and explained. I don't expect a hotel 100% standard from a guesthouse room and this met if not exceeded my expectations with a tv, fridge, tea/coffee, dressing table, towels with complimentary toiletries. The shower was modern, toilet seperate from the bathroom which we liked but no sink - so had to walk through the room to wash our hands.

It's basic but good and what we needed. It's not right near the beach but we were travelling by car anyway. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenbury Wells, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

a great place to stay for families or group bookings! staff welcoming and friendly and breakfast is delicious! We stayed as a group of 10 girls for a hen weekend and had a lovely stay, feeling comfortable and at home. A good location from town and a lovely walk to the beach. would definalty stay again and would recommend to others.

Room Tip: rooms at the top of the building are quieter with less disturbances!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ingledene House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ingledene House

Address: 18-20 Gardens View | Derby Road, Bournemouth BH1 3QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ingledene House 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ingledene House is a 14-bedroom Hotel that overlooks Knyveton Gardens Bowling greens and the adjoining Tennis Courts. Also located opposite the guesthouse is a Cafe and private licensed bar that is open to Ingledene residents. Ingledene Hotel is conveniently situated 2 minutes walk from Bournemouth Central Station, 500 metres from the nearest beach and about a 10-minute walk to the centre and nightlife. Guesthouse facilities include 8 En-suite Bedrooms plus 6 standard rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Ingledene House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ingledene House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.