We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Winter Dene

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Winter Dene to your Saves list
The Winter Dene
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   11 Durley Road South | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5JH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 151 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Burgman12
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pretty average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Well, Renzo ( owner) was waiting behind the (locked) front door when i arrived. He gave me the key, had a very brief chat and that was the last time i saw him. Can't say much about the service, except there was no service front of house.
The room was ok - VERY clean and tidy, but the bed itself was a little tired and it sagged quite noticeably - not the best night's sleep I have had by a long way.
The decor generally is a bit dated and the prints of "old masters" hanging everywhere don't help. It really could be much better than it is.
Breakfast was reasonably good, but starting at 8.30am to 9.15 on a Saturday & Sunday is firstly a bit late and secondly far too short. Likewise dinner was from 6.15 to 7pm only, which makes it a bit rushed.
All in all it is a reasonably average sort of place that really could do with modernizing its decor, and some training in how to do customer service properly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rompipalla, Owner at The Winter Dene, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
I've been waiting to answer this review until I could say we have replaced the bed, which has now been done.

When guests have checked in they are given a key and are welcome to come and go as they please - the front door is kept locked for the security of everybody. Winter Dene is a guest house and typically of this sort of establishment does not have a manned reception desk, however there is a bell to summon assistance at any time.

The meal times mentioned are the times of first and last orders, not the time within which you must enter, eat and leave the dining room. We know that meals are a very important part of a holiday.

When guests sign in and then don't take a meal or summon assistance during their stay it is not easy to give any service, other than to hope that they are happy with their room. We appreciate the chance to have a little chat with guests when they settle their account. Guests who have booked on line with a bank card sometimes take advantage of being able to leave very early in the morning so we don't always have chance to say goodbye.

The decor is quite traditional in the public areas in harmony with the Victorian building and the "old masters" are just that - original oil paintings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    7
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
31
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Had a really loveley weekend - room was very spacious, and was clean and very well appointed. Lovely shower, wanted to take it home with me. We were able to walk to and from the town centre and the beach with no problems at all. Breakfast was excellent. Will definitely recommend and would come back if we are in Bournemouth again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

we have just returned from The Winter Dene and our room was very spacious with a very comfortable bed and two ensuite bathrooms and very clean,at night the hotel was very quiet,the choice of breakfast was good we were not disappointed with any aspect of this stay.the location is fantastic for the beach,places to eat and night time entertainment at the BIC all within 5-10mins walking distance,i would return,we stayed for our 12th wedding anniversary and was very welcomed by Heather and Renzo who made sure you were ok and happy to give directions to the venues we were going to visit,very nice hotel with lovely gardens and plenty of parking.

Room Tip: room 9 was lovely,two ensuites and very comfortable and at the back of the hotel with views of the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This is our 3rd stay at the Winter Dean and we wouldn`t want to stay anywhere else in Bournemouth. Very welcoming, delightful rooms that are spotless clean and a great breakfast that sets you up for the day. Few minutes from the beach , just perfect. Deserves its 4 stars.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

My friend and I have just enjoyed our 4th visit to the Winter Dene. We wouldn't stay anywhere else in Bournemouth. There is a lovely atmosphere at this hotel which has very high standards throughout. The rooms are very spacious and charmingly furnished. The food is excellent with a good choice at breakfast. The sea front, gardens and shops are just a short walk away. I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Been here a few times great hotel, very quite, all the rooms are good value, breakfast is just how it should be. Very friendly
But you are left alone to enjoy your stay. Only usually have bed and breakfast as there are plenty of places to eat out later.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We chose this hotel because of the wonderful reviews and we were not disappointed. We booked on the HB 3 night offer £190pp (4 nights only £240 high season). Our double room on the first floor was huge with an extra single bed as well and 2 ensuite bathrooms. It overlooked the lovely, flower filled back garden. The old pine furniture and antique armchairs made a nice change from the uniform Ikea style of other places. Everywhere in the hotel is very clean and tidy.

Meals were delicious, gargantuan and beautifully cooked by Heather. Good quality, fresh ingredients are used. Renzo recommended some excellent wines by the bottle, which were very reasonably priced. This was much more relaxing than eating in noisy restaurants and pubs. Heather and Renzo are very welcoming and charming.

The hotel is 2 minutes walk from the bus stop to the town centre and rail/bus stations (Route 2a and 2b) and 5 minutes walk to The Square where more buses leave for other destinations. We went to Poole, which is well worth a visit with its quaint streets and tiny pubs. The hotel is 5 minutes walk to the beach which stretches for miles. Turn right and walk towards Alum Chine or left to Boscombe.

We look forward to returning to this lovely hotel. My husband wanted to stay an extra night......

Room Tip: There is no lift, so avoid the second floor if you have mobility problems. Although some reviewers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Winter Dene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Winter Dene

Address: 11 Durley Road South | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Winter Dene 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Britain 4 Star Guest Accommodation with Silver Award and Breakfast Award. An elegant Victorian villa which has been lovingly refurbished to offer comfortable surroundings for your holidays. Situated in a quiet area of the West Cliff, just 5 minutes walk from beach and 10 minutes walk to Bournemouth International Centre and town centre, pier, etc.All rooms are en-suite with bath and/or shower, TV with freeview/radio, hairdryer, safe and tea/coffee making facilities. Superior doubles and family rooms have king size or superkingsize beds. Large car park within hotel garden. Free WIFI. Bed and Breakfast with Evening Meal available on certain dates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Winter Dene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Winter Dene, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.