We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with lovely staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Applewood Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Applewood Hotel to your Saves list
Applewood Hotel
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   7 Durley Road, Bournemouth BH2 5JQ, England (Formerly Kingswood Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 151 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel with lovely staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Applewood as part of a hen do and we couldn't have picked a nicer place. The staff were incredibly friendly and we couldn't fault the cleanliness of the hotel. Breakfast was lovely and served quickly. Would definitely recommend this to anyone wanting a nice hotel close to the town centre and beach.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    15
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
13
7
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

We've just returned from a stag do at applewood and I have to honestly say the owners of this place Nigel and Angie provided the best hotel/b&b service I've ever come across. All weekend we were treated like kings for example the Saturday morning we all missed breakfast due to an early taxi taking us to activities, we were just about drive off and Angie came running out the door with packs off cooked sausages and bread for the journey! The rooms were very clean and comfortable, hotel close to the town and beach. Next time I visit Bournemouth 110% will be booking a room at the applewood, whether its a stag do or night away with the girlfriend. Thanks Nigel and Angie! Matt (part of the group with the man in the grass skirt)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stansted
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stumbled across this hotel by chance on an unplanned trip to take advantage of the best weather for years. Travelled with my sister. Arrived on the 15th July after spending a day at the beach to be greeted with the best hospitality I have ever experienced. I am a seasoned traveller at home and abroad for both business and pleasure. After being shown a couple of rooms and deciding on a family room offered fresh milk to make a welcome cup of tea. Room clean and comfortable. En suite adequate for 2 of us with lovely white fluffy towels and fruity shower gel. Given complimentary bottles of cold water every day to take out. Breakfast really good, lovely bacon, scrambled and poached eggs cooked to perfection. Quality sausage and mushrooms. Felt so comfortable stayed for 4 nights. Attention to detail and hospitality first class. Would like to keep this place a secret but they deserve high praise. Will definately return.

Room Tip: In hot weather with windows open rooms at the front will experience road noise from traffic however...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meijel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

On my motorbike trip (Netherland- South England) I staid two nights in the Applewood hotel.
The hotel offers a lot for a good price! It is on a good location (near the beach and town center), comfortable rooms, good breakfast and a excellent service/staff. They gave me all the help/support I needed .
Angie and Nigel thanks a lot!!
So if you are looking for a good address to stay: you found it!!

Karel Leenders

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frimley Green, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We booked into Applewood and straight away we thought, great we have landed on our feet, nothing was to much trouble, so refreshing to find somewhere clean, tidy, great staff, close to all activities etc,etc, the weather was amazing which probably made the stay even better as we sat in the nice grounds and drank beer and had a crack, the owner Nigel even ordered us pizzas so we could just chill in his grounds, will definatley go back with friends and even take my family, THANKS APPLEWOOD.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for my stag do 5th July for 2 nights and the staff and facilities were spot on, we couldn't fault a thing all weekend, breakfast was spot on both mornings, all the staff were friendly, and the rooms were comfortable and just what we needed after two hard nights on the town in Bournemouth which was fantastic! ,Thanks so much for making my stag do so memorable for me!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The Applewood Hotel reminded me of holidays by the seaside with my parents many years ago. The distinguishing feature of this Hotel is the extremely friendly and helpful owners Nigel and his wife. They always talked to us as we left and came back to the hotel and provided many helpful tips on the best ways to the beach and town with two excellent recommendations for places to eat : the oriental garden, great chinese cafe/restaurant and the fish and chip shop chez Fred in westbourne ( Nigel even drew us a little map of how to get there.)
Rooms were reasonably good size for the three of us, the bathroom fine and the shower worked well. The rooms and whole hotel was extremely clean and our room was cleaned in the day even though we stayed for just two nights. Another benefit of this hotel is they have a lovely garden and we played cards with the boys in the evening there and Nigel also has a bar where you can buy drinks. It was great for the children and they also liked stroking chelsea the dog.. Location is also ideal; in a quiet location 5-10 minutes walk to the beach and town (with the children aged 7 & 9)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Applewood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applewood Hotel

Address: 7 Durley Road, Bournemouth BH2 5JQ, England (Formerly Kingswood Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Applewood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllic hotel perfectly located for the beach, town centre and local attractions. Ideal for couple romantic breaks and relaxing family holidays. Corporate and group bookings are welcome. Our aim is to provide you with a friendly,comfortable and welcoming environment, whether your visit is for business or pleasure. Tripadvisor Winners 2014 and 2013 Certificate of Excellence based on customer ratings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Applewood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Applewood Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.