We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Applewood Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Applewood Hotel to your Saves list
Applewood Hotel
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   7 Durley Road, Bournemouth BH2 5JQ, England (Formerly Kingswood Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 152 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I stayed here as part of a group and i was pleasantly surprised. The hotel is well laid out with its own car park and garden and in a great location a few minutes walk from the town and beach. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff can't do enough for you.
There was a good choice for breakfast and a well stocked bar. What more could you want. I would recommend it to all.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    16
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
14
8
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was a last minute booking and we were really pleased that the larger hotels had no vacancies. Spacious and spotlessly clean room. En-suite bathroom was huge and really clean too. Welcomed by Angie who was able to recommend places to go to and a really good restaurant. Nothing was too much trouble for her and her husband (Nigel) and we would certainly stay again. Not sure about MB83_12's comment about breakfast as we were told that, within reason, we would not be leaving without being fed - even if we were up a bit late. Looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Stayed with a load of mates for a stag do. Clean hotel, brilliant staff who were very helpful.

Not far from town centre. Good breakfast, clean rooms. Good price for the quality and free wifi as well.

Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Pros: felt welcome as part of a group, owners very friendly, clean and comfortable rooms, good breakfast, good location, bar

Cons: limited window when breakfast is served

Conclusion: really enjoyable 2 night stay in Bournemouth at the Applewood.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paignton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I was recomended by a friend of mine to use this hotel
on my visit to Bournemouth on busines trip may i say
he was right .when i arrived the landlady Angie offered me a very welcome mug of tea
with bisquits; then i was shown to my room by Nigel the landlord .the room was immaculate
with tea making facilities there was even a clothes iron the full english breakfast was delicious
and served wery well in the dining room which looked on to the garden next time i visit Bournemouth i wii definitely rebook at the Appiewood Hotel

Room Tip: just call Nigel or Angie
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

The owners were wonderful - fabulous hosts - nothing was too much trouble for them. I stayed in a lovely twin room which was scrupulously clean. Breakfast was great and they were very flexible about what goes on the plate.
The owners helped us book a lovely restaurant for food, and then dropped us off there.
I would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Excellent hotel - very accommodating hosts who went out of their way to welcome us and meet our requests. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. We had a very nice stay and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Applewood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applewood Hotel

Address: 7 Durley Road, Bournemouth BH2 5JQ, England (Formerly Kingswood Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Applewood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllic hotel perfectly located for the beach, town centre and local attractions. Ideal for couple romantic breaks and relaxing family holidays. Corporate and group bookings are welcome. Our aim is to provide you with a friendly,comfortable and welcoming environment, whether your visit is for business or pleasure. Tripadvisor Winners 2014 and 2013 Certificate of Excellence based on customer ratings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Applewood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Applewood Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.