We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sea View Break” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Ocean View Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Ocean View Hotel to your Saves list
The Ocean View Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AR, England (Formerly Ocean View Hotel Bournemouth)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
Cowdenbeath
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Sea View Break”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We arrived at the hotel on Monday the 07/07/14 and stayed till Friday the 11/07/14 we had specifically asked for a balcony with sea view on check in there was uncertainty as to wether this was what we were getting however we did in fact get what we asked for there is only x 3 rooms with the balcony sea view and in this we were not dissapointed the view was excellent the room was comfortable however the floor creaked every time we moved around the decor was good the hotel had recently had a refurb x 3 years ago and apart from the creaky floors throughout the hotel it was good I noticed there was no table for the Balcony I phoned reception and in a short time Amy appeared with a table for us to use when sitting out on the balcony great the overall service was great I used the bar on several occaisions at night and enjoyed the service from Naomi and Frank who we also met in the restaurant at breakfast the service and food was faultless however if you required the restaurant service for the evening this was available through the sister hotel the Cottonwood Boutique next door this was not suitable for my wife because of her disability, I did ask at reception for a fridge on our arrival for the room as it was warm and I needed to keep water soft drinks etc cold for my wifes medication but unfortunately this was not available they did offer the use of the Hotel fridge which was not really what we wanted also I think I should asked for a fan for the room earlier I didnt know till the last night one was available I had mentioned this to Frank and he immediatley sourced one for me we enjoyed our stay the weather, views were great we used this location to tour dorset and it was a good choice,

Room Tip: There is only x 3 rooms with a Balcony Sea View confirm your requirements at booking also the evenin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    76
    41
    14
    16
See reviews for
40
79
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This was a last minute booking on the day as we decided to get away for the weekend. This hotel was surprisingly nice given the outside of it - looking a bit worse for wear.

Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Room was very large (surprisingly) - 306 with a seaview
Bathroom was large but the shower was rubbish (only fault of the room) water was hot but not enough of it (no power shower)
Clean and tidy.
Bed wasn't great for me but i'm use to luxury but it was good enough for a two night stay
Breakfast room - beautifully decorated and clean
Food was good standard for this type of hotel - usual
Good end of East Cliff far enough away from the noise but do check about functions being held before you book and ask about the Cottonwood Hotel next door's functions (part of same group) as these can be loud. The area echos due to large buildings, just the way it is. At 4am a couple of drunks were messing around on their way home to hotel and it was loud but this isn't the norm.
Free parking (if not in this hotel the one next door)
Pool area and gardens are kept very very well. I watched the pool being cleaned and it is thorough... the maintenance man is obviously good and thorough - nice to see for a change!
Be aware that there are 3 floors therefore significant stairs to climb but there is a lift if you can't be bothered.
Would recommend to anyone business, families, groups and solo. Reasonably priced and nicely kept.

Room Tip: 307,308, 306 - all seem to be seaviews (same on lower floors)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I visited with my sister for a midweek mini break. We had managed our expectations so knew we were to have a budget holiday in a 3 star hotel. We were pleasantly surprised to find a moderate sized hotel, very friendly staff and bright cheery decor. The lounge and restaurants are light and welcoming and the pool area clean and inviting.

We did have one issue that impacted our overall experience. The shower in room 202! I'm not sure if it is unique to that room or the whole hotel, the receptionist said that we were the first to raise it as an issue. There was zero water pressure, you could be there for half an hour and just about get damp. The cold tap was a mere trickle this meant that only scorching hot water came out, my sister did actually get burnt. A maintenance man was sent to fix the problem but we did not notice any difference. On our last day we resorted to using the public showers on the sea front. It was such a dissapointing end to an otherwise perfect holiday.

Room Tip: You must specify if you require a sea view. The rooms are quite stuffy. There is a lift but also ste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushey, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stayed at this hotel the first weekend in June for a Masonic ladies w/end, the staff were most helpful and given the age range of the guests in our group (4 - 81 yrs) they were amazing. The food and service was very good although breakfast could be quite busy. We will be going back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Spent the day here to eat and used the facilities (specifically the outdoor pool) for a birthday party. We had a brilliant day and the staff were fantastic, so helpful – nothing was too much trouble! There was a lovely atmosphere. The staff are what make the hotel.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Down in Bournemouth for a wedding, we decided to stay an extra night, so we were looking around at hotels at 5.30pm. We booked the Ocean View, and made our way there. Fantastic location, we parked in the somewhat small car park, and made our way into reception. The receptionist was very friendly and efficient, and we were soon shown up to our room. We booked a double, but ended up with a large triple room. We didn't have a sea view, and because we took about the last room, we didn't ask for it - I would imagine that they fill those rooms first, and we were happy anyway.
The room itself was immaculately clean, the bed huge (two singles zipped together) and although I found the bed quite hard, the bedding was clean and fresh, as you'd expect. The TV was quite small for the large room, although adequate. We had room 114, situated above the reception at the back of the hotel. Not too much noise, but I would imagine Saturday nights are perhaps noisier.
The bathroom could definitely do with being refurbished - some cracked tiles here and there, and a generally jaded look, but the shower was fine, nice and hot, and the shower head removable from the wall (I hate fixed shower heads!)
Biggest drawbacks in the bathroom were the fact the towel rail was HOT! On a very warm July evening, that was not a welcome touch! And it couldn't be switched off. Also, the large bathroom window looked out onto a flat roof, which was home to a number of pigeons (noisy) a broken glass roof window, and also meant security was compromised if it was left open, which I wanted to because of the towel rail.
Breakfast.... Second to none! Buffet type, help yourself to cereals, full English too, as much as you want, there was plenty there - all served in the large airy dining room with views over the superb gardens, pool and across to the sea. I went and relaxed for half an hour by the pool, in the sun, before we had to book out - the garden is a lovely sun
trap.
We were given a voucher for 10% off a meal at the Cotton wood next door, so we dined there. Gorgeous food, well presented too. Unfortunately, we dined rather late, at a time when there seemed to be a staff changeover. The first course arrived quite quickly, seeing as it was freshly cooked, but after that, our waitress disappeared. No-one enquire if everything was ok, and no-one asked if we wanted a sweet. It appeared that we, along with another couple, had been forgotten about. It was only when my partner got up to go and find someone, that we got any further service. Quite shocking.
Apart from this, though, we would stay there again, good value for the money we paid, and next time we'll ask for a sea view!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed at this hotel last week Sunday to Wednesday I was with my mother the staff at the hotel were great lovely clean hotel great food great location.
We had a lovely big room ocean view which was great we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ocean View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean View Hotel

Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AR, England (Formerly Ocean View Hotel Bournemouth)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ocean View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With beautiful views of the coastline from the cliff top, the elegant Ocean View Hotel has an outdoor swimming pool and leafy gardens. Bournemouth’s vibrant town centre is 10 minutes’ walk away. The spacious bedrooms each have a private modern bathroom and tea and coffee-making facilities. All rooms have a TV, free Wi-Fi, and some feature spectacular sea views or a private balcony. Guest can relax on the terrace beside the swimming pool, set within the gardens. The Ocean View’s restaurant offers a menu using fresh local ingredients, with classic cocktails on offer in the stylish bar. The seafront hotel is directly above miles of golden sandy beach, accessed by pathways or the cliff-top lift (in summer only). Guests have free parking, and Bournemouth Railway Station is 1.2 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your The Ocean View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ocean View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.