We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable for business travel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Village Urban Resort Bournemouth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Village Urban Resort Bournemouth to your Saves list
Village Urban Resort Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Wessex Fields, Deansleigh Rd, Bournemouth BH7 7DZ, England (Formerly De Vere Village Bournemouth)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Reasonable for business travel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I stayed here on business for two nights. Plus points first: there is free wifi and all the rooms have an iron and ironing board, which when travelling with work is much more convenient than having to go and borrow one.

Less impressive was the long wait for food in the restaurant despite it being virtually empty and the empty shower gel dispenser, which I did not discover until I was already in the shower. Also, if breakfast is advertised as starting at 7am, it needs to start at 7am, not between 5 and 10 minutes later, by which time a mass of people anxious to get off for the day's work were waiting.

Overall it is fine but not inspiring.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    183
    118
    51
    34
See reviews for
134
134
18
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Very unusually I am very annoyed and disappointed by de Vere.
This hotel on the.night of the 6th:7th Feb was being run by staff who didn't care

No responsible management were in evidence. THE TASK of the hotel was to supply a bed for the night, some refreshment and breakfast. It failed on every level.
I arrived at 10 15 after a 5 hour drive. No food was available except the choice of a cheese and tomato sandwich or a chicken sandwich. Take it or leave it.
The bar shut bang on at 11pm. The 2 bar staff could be heard discussing how one of them had a lot of drink from behind the bar the night before but he was going to blame another colleague if asked. Nice.
The room was cold. No toiletries except a fixed plastic all in one shampoo dispenser on the wall. It was not the cleanest either with dust on most surfaces.
At 6 I was woken by an unsolicited alarm call. The nights sleep I wanted.....destroyed.
At 8 45 I told reception about the call and to inform management whilst I had breakfast.

The breakfast was uninspired. Tables and cutlery marked, waiters unaware if hot chocolate could be provided. It could.
Hard croissants. And worse tepid food. Bacon virtually cold. Fried eggs swimming in grease. Virtually uncooked tomatoes. Fatty cold sausage.

At 9 15 I returned to reception. She has forgotten my complaint. She disappeared until 9 40 trying to get the only manager on site. The lady was a deputy manager who was also running the Starbucks coffee shop.
She inferred I had made up the alarm call!
She could offer no satisfactory remedy except a free breakfast with £16 being knocked off my £84 bill. Totally unsatisfactory. I took the number of head office. That was an answerphone.

To add insult the receptionist did not give me an invoice for my stay.

Several phone calls later and 2 attempts to e mail my invoice I did speak to Simon the general manager. He was immensely sympathetic and promised to ring me back. I am still waiting.

I like de Vere hotels but the VIllage chain appears to be under staffed and the staff they have are inexperienced and know little about service. It's not just a shame, it's a disgrace. The hotel is in a commercial area and is not attractive. It is not cheap at £84 for BandB, and yet chains like Premier are far cheaper and far better
AVOID this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
338 reviews 338 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I spent a day at this hotel attending a training course. The hotel is situated behind Bournemouth hospital and has a large access controlled car park which was very busy but I managed to find a space.

There was good break out area by the training room with a coffee machine which would only make a few drinks and then go on strike, when you got the drink it was nice. There were also biscuits, muffins and some fresh fruit.

Lunch was a bit weird with sandwiches, flat breads, thin pizza, a bowl of salad, bowl of potato salad, bowl of cold pasta and some ramekins with sausage and mash and risotto. It felt like someone had muddled up the order. It tasted OK it just seemed like an odd mixture. For pudding there was chocolate cake and Tiramisu

It is a huge hotel with leisure club and lots of people coming and going all the time.

Not really sure if I liked the hotel that much but it was clean and tidy and there were plenty of toilets. The worst thing was during the training we could hear what was going on in the next room, they were a noisy crowd, clapping and cheering a lot which was a bit of a distraction.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Great stay - staff were very helpful after finding out the lift was not working. They fetched our bags for us and let us use the service lift. All staff were polite and helpful. Enjoyed the facilities - very relaxing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed at this Hotel while visiting family recently. The booking was made using a debit card but when we checked in they would not accept the debit card and wanted a credit card, luckily we had one. The system was running really slow and it took us around 15 mins to get the key to the room and an aborted transaction as the system timed out. Finally got the key to our room on the 5th floor only to see that the elevator was out of service. It did say that we could use the service elevator but we are both fit and healthy so took the stairs. We were in one of the new upgraded rooms, so new that the room still had a strong smell of paint. Very nicely done but a couple of little gripes, firstly the paint smell, secondly the door lock didn't work and when I sat down at the desk the underneath was covered in dust from sanding woodwork or something and ended up all over my trousers and jumper. Not a problem just brushed off but annoying. The pillows were far too soft and the air con squeaked very loudly when on the lowest setting. Breakfast on the Sunday morning was extremely busy and took us some time to get seated. The mish mash of chairs at the tables in the restaurant really annoyed me to, the were no two chairs the same at any table, if this is by design the. It doesn't look very stylish. Room service finishes at 10pm which was a bit of a problem when we arrived on Saturday, we got to the hotel at 9.50pm but by the time we got to the room because of the check in delays it was 10.10pm and room service had finished, not great when we had been driving for almost 6 hrs. Didn't get to use the other facilities so can't comment on them. Elevator was out fixed by the time we checked out on Monday and the receptionist was more concerned with asking us to donate to their charity then checking if we were happy with our stay. Overall nice room, nice Hotel as with others in the chain but the strong paint smells and door not locking weren't great. For a Hotel room to be considered just that bit more special I would have expected a safe and a refrigerator, neither of which they had. Good drinks tray with Starbucks coffee and hot chocolate and biscotti biscuits let down again by the wooden stirrer instead of a spoon. Good 'pinchable' toiletries (this is how the hotel describes them) but the towels weren't great quality from a room that is trying to be just that bit better. The "extras" didn't justify the room price and I will probably stay at the Travelodge which is just around the corner next time.

Room Tip: The newer rooms 'Upper Class' or whatever they are called are not worth the extra money, sti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stay in Bournemouth every week on business and have done so for 4 months. My normal hotel was full (see my other reviews for Ferndown).

This hotel is supposed to be 4*

It definitely is not

A few things:

If you look on the Visit England Website it defines 1,2,3,4,& 5 star ratings and teh MINIMUM standards

Heated towel rail? NO

"Good selection of toiletries" - No unless you call a dispenser of soap screwed to the wall

Flannel? no


The worst parts are as follows:

1) Very Dim lighting in the room

2) Impossible to see the controls of the AirCon by the door

3) FREEZING room - the heating is by a wall mounted heater with an impossible to find switch Room was so cold I had to get under the duvet fully clothed to wait for it to warm up. When I complained I was told that no one had ever complained about a cold room before!

4) Electrics powered by room key so you can't see what you are doing when you go in until you put the kecard in the slot but you can't see the slot without the light on.

5) Ordered room service, specifically asked for a pepper mill (plenty in restaurant) - No salt or pepper came. When I asked the waitress to bring one "Please may I have a pepper mill, and salt" - waitress's English was so bad she said "You want cup of tea?" 20 minutes later pepper & salt arrived (food eaten by then). Ordered 2 courses - one small fork & knife? Is this some economy measure on the washing up?

6) Although room key wallet has name & room number written on it - reception insist on saying room number clearly to all around - not nice for a lone female traveller

7) Similar in restaurant - room number spoken very loudly


8)Linguine replaced by Spagetti - why?

9) Bathroom panel delaminating

10) If you put your keycard for the room near your mobile it wipes the card. Might have been helpful if they told you that before you go up 5 flights.

The staff are really indifferent when anything is pointed out

The breakfast is OK if you like help yourself. Eggs - choice of fried or fried.

Room Tip: Who knows I'm sure they are all equally badly equipped in the bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a nice hotel in a good location, not far away from the centre of Bournemouth and Poole Rooms are very clean. Dinner and a breakfast were nice too. We quite liked the spa and a swimming pool, although water could have been a bit warmer.
We had some nice drinks at the bar.

Room Tip: Higher floors are generally better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Village Urban Resort Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Urban Resort Bournemouth

Address: Wessex Fields, Deansleigh Rd, Bournemouth BH7 7DZ, England (Formerly De Vere Village Bournemouth)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Urban Resort Bournemouth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Urban Resort Bournemouth is a short drive from the town centre and 7 miles of sand beaches Bournemouth is famous. Conveniently located just 3 miles from Pokesdown rail station and Bournemouth International Airport. Village Bournemouth is ideal for business and leisure travellers alike. Nearby attractions include Monkey World, Castlepoint Shopping Centre, New Forest and the Oceanarium. Village Urban Resort Bournemouth has 116 air-conditioned bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, an Urban Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free parking and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Village Urban Resort Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Village Bournemouth Hotel Bournemouth
Bournemouth Village Hotel
Village Hotel Bournemouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Urban Resort Bournemouth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.