We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one night stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Brooklands Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Brooklands Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Brooklands Bed and Breakfast
1 Kerley Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5DW, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Bournemouth's Xmas Market
Ranked #67 of 151 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Budleigh Salterton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“one night stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Very convenient hotel,booked last minute. small room but adequate, excellent breakfast.Would stay again maybe in larger room.
Bournemouth very busy hot sunny day could hardly see the beach for people.Great free outdoor concert performance by Fleetwood Bac.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    62
    12
    9
    4
See reviews for
19
55
8
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

As far as value-for-money goes, Brooklands really hit the nail on the head, particularly when we were looking for a place to stay during the high season. It's a humble place, and they do 'budget' really well. The room was well decorated and comfortable, breakfast was lovely, and the staff very friendly. You can't beat the location for this price, as we were just 5 mins walk from the beach and 10 mins from downtown Bournemouth. I only had gripes with the windows which we couldn't close, as well as the bathroom cleanliness upon our arrival (some hair left in the shower). Other than that, Brooklands really contributed to our holiday being a thoroughly enjoyable one.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Firstly when I rang to enquire I found the lady on the other end really friendly and she had a great telephone manner and i instantly had a good vibe and decided to book there and then. She did explain that she only had the small room left. When we arrived (really easy to find in car) we were given a warm welcome and made to feel at home. Our room was small but still comfortable and had enough room for storage and to move about in. I was expecting it to be a lot smaller looking at the photos on the website. Really pleased! It was rather dated and basic but we didn't care as we were only using the room to sleep in! Perks were tv, drink facilities, new shower and a full length mirror! Very important when getting ready to go out! The bed was comfortable and it was peaceful so i had a good night sleep! Breakfast was good with plenty to choose from. And great location, 2 minute walk to beach, bars, shops etc. I would definitely stay here gain and recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: You can book online but probably best to ring up when you book especially during peak season .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abingdon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Another brilliant time had by all love this hotel allways a warm welcome and made to feel like family.nothings to much trouble for Jackie and her brilliant staff .going back in 5 weeks .The breakfast is to die for recommend steves poached eggs !!! A good night in the bar to chill and meet other guests and if you want to wear your pjs its not a problem lol xx

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Shocking. Have to pay on arrival before seeing rooom. Sold a family room but only just big enough to get the beds in. Bed like concrete. One plug socket 5' up a wall so couldn't plug in kettle. Room smelt & damp. Noisey. No storage for bags or many clothes. Shower boken, tray blocked & unsanitary. Stayed one night, got most of money back and left. Owner abrupt and rude.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stourbridge
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The bad bits- hotel had very small rooms, there was only a tiny wardrobe to hang clothes, a large chest of draws for other items. The bathroom had no towel rails just one hook on the back of the door. A small shelf over the hand basin was at a 20 degree angle, so tooth paste ect slid into the sink. There was a steep flight of stairs down to breakfast not for the faint hearted

The good bits- The hotel was very clean, the staff very helpful, the breakfast was superb. There was a lift nearby down to the beach (by the West Cliff Marriot Hotel), booking the hotel direct was cheapest at £60/ b & b. for 2 people, pay when you get there. ( Marriot £155/ night ). There was plenty of hot water for a shower, all bathroom items new. The manager Steve was great, a workaholic, good organiser, good cook, good receptionist lived in hotel.
.

Room Tip: Have a look before you pay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancs
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Arrived and found free car park, a real bonus. Thsts where the good experience ended. Room not cleaned, carpet had toe nails on it, dirty towels, shampoo and drinks bottles left in room.... staff response to complaibt was "we were very busy and somethings have got missed".

Room damp too.

A GOOD REFIT OVERDUE

Breakfast equally poor with staff who didnt understand the difference between "broen toast & brown sauce".

So in summary.. a good xwr psrk next to a poor hotel

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Brooklands Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooklands Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1 Kerley Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5DW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brooklands Bed and Breakfast in Bournemouth offers en-suite rooms with free Wi-Fi throughout the premises and free parking. As a B&B located close to the Bournemouth International Centre (BIC), Bournemouth Pavilion and just a short stroll from the award-winning Blue Flag beach, Brooklands is the perfect solution to a short break in Bournemouth. Brooklands is a 5 minute walk from Bournemouth town centre where you will find restaurants, cafes and bars to suit all budgets. Just a 15 minute drive to Bournemouth International Airport and 45 minutes away from Southampton Airport, Our Bournemouth Bed and Breakfast is perfectly placed for couples, families, business guests and groups. We welcome well behaved dogs at £5 per stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Brooklands Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brooklands Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.