We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value For Money & Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brooklands Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Brooklands Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Brooklands Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1 Kerley Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5DW, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 152 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Value For Money & Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Received a very warm welcome upon arrival, all the staff were very polite and professional. The rooms were very clean. Great choice on breakfast menu. Ideally located near beach, BIC and town centre I would return again, excellent value for money :-)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    64
    13
    9
    4
See reviews for
20
60
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My partner and i had a weekend away, despite the weather it was an enjoyable weekend thank you, the breakfast was good value, the room was slightly smaller than expected. The car park situation was bizzar, but workable. The staff were very polite and professional at all timez

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I booked a single night stay,B&B, for two, at Brooklands, as we got tickets for War Of The Worlds, which is on at BIC at time of this review. We got our tickets in October, so looked for a B&B in Bournemouth. I found Brooklands Hotel. Glad I did. I could not believe the excellent charge for two people, for the one night! However, having read some of the negative comments reviewers made, I was really not expecting much. Wrong! This is a gem of a find. It is clean & very comfortable, with nice people running it. Food in the morning (included) is fine. Hot coffee, copiously poured, juices, yoghurts, cereals & good choice of cooked breakfasts, too. On our return after fantastic WOW show, we joined the merry throng in the small lounge, ordered a couple of drinks, engaged in some merry banter, as you do, adjourned to our warm comfy room.
We did warn the owners they would be on TripAdvisor, to their great amusement.
We are most definately going to use Brooklands Hotel again. We liked it. One of the best B&B's we've used. Maybe next time in the summer.
Oh yes, contrary to other comments, car parking is ok. We were blocked in, but off & away in a few minutes. No problem, so don't make it one.

Room Tip: Our twin room was in the rear of Brooklands, but no matter, as no sea views from any rooms. Also at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The hotel we'd originally booked back in June cancelled on us at 8.30pm the night before we were due to go to Bournemouth, so we booked the Brooklands at the last minute. I'm very glad that we did. The staff were very friendly, the hotel was spotless, the breakfast pleasant & the shower was hot. The parking might be a problem if you want to go out & about but as we intended to stay in Bournemouth for the weekend, it was fine. It's so close to the beach, town & BIC that you don't need your car. The room was fairly basic, but it was clean with a comfortable bed & nice shower. Perfect for a cheap weekend away.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed here so we could go to a concert at the BIC. It's very close - about a five minute walk and plenty of restaurants nearby, although the hotel was advertising lasagne and chips for £5 which is very very reasonable. We booked via Laterooms so got a great deal and for another £5, we got a cooked breakfast which was really lovely (been on many cruise ships and this cooked breakfast was equally as good if not better). The staff are friendly and show you to your room. There is a bar with TV etc and the siamese cat is lovely. Parking means that you might get blocked in but staff will move cars around no problem.

The room was fairly basic, with a great TV with a clear picture and the bathroom had been refurbished. The shower pump was noisy but we were warned - not too bothered but worried about other guests. Water pressure was low on the top floor so I suppose the pump was pumping a trickle of water hence the noise. But the shower was in fact powerful.

We slept fairly well, apart from some road noise and a few screaming girls walking by at night - let's face it, Bournemouth is a stag and hen do capital. Bed was comfy and clean. Overall, recommended for location and price.

Room Tip: I think this area of bournemouth is quite noisy due to stag and hen do's but we slept well up to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Have just came home from a two night stay. First thing we noticed was the parking, there was around 20 spaces on their forecourt, only concern was that if you blocked another car in or someone else blocks you in, they move the car for you, they do inform you before hand if they can, but if you are fond of your car and they cannot contact you, will you be ok that its moved?
We were fine with this but felt it should be mentioned.

The staff were very welcoming and showed us to our room, we had booked a small double and thats exactly what we got, it was a lot smaller than we'd hoped but was clean and warm with no signs of mould as what you'd may expect in an older building. There was also a kettle, tea, coffee, and towels supplied.

The toilet/shower cubicle however was a slight let down, the door to this was a sliding one as the room was too small for a swing door, this was quiet stiff to pull shut, the toilet was dirty, I did however ask for this to be cleaned, which was but unfortunately I'm guessing not done with toilet cleaner as it was still left dirty in some parts. The toilet however had a water fan built into the cistern which silenced it when re filling, I thought this was a great idea. The shower was alot to be desired, I am 5'9 tall and size 10 in clothes and I just about managed, If you are of a larger frame you may find this a struggle, also there where signs of mould ingrained in the old sealant which could easily be rectified with replacing it, they shower was alittle temperamental, it took a good while to get the temperature right, i.e.. slightest move to right hot slight move left cold.

The bed was basic but comfortable, only criticism that there was a constant knock/drip outside all night due to faulty guttering? this was in room 17.

When going down to breakfast we were greeted warmly, the dining area was bright and airy. The staff could not have been any friendlier, and the breakfast was spot on! I really cant say enough about their professionalism! It was amazing.

In conclusion to our experience, I feel that I would definitely consider going back to Brooklands but also feel that there are a number of areas which could do with improvements which let it down. ie: decor is very tired, carpets balding, faulty showers, jammed sliding doors etc.. If these things where rectified then maybe they would go up to a 4 star! which I personally think they deserve!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Wickham
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Just returned from a 2 night stay at Brooklands and we enjoyed our visit.
We wanted to book 2 rooms in Bournemouth for a short family break but could only confirm the dates at quite short notice and Bournemouth is busy in September.
Eventually contacted Brooklands and they had 2 rooms available (we wanted 1 twin and 1 double).
The location of the hotel is excellent within easy reach of the pier and the sea but also within walking distance of the shops, restaurants and bars in town.
Both rooms we had were quite small and a little basic but were clean, quiet and comfortable. My wife and I had the twin room and we slept well both nights. If we had been staying for longer we may have sought larger rooms but as we were only there 2 nights there was enough storage space for the relatively small amount of clothes we had brought with us. The shower room was well designed for the space available and the shower was quite powerful.
Breakfast both mornings was excellent with a very good selection of fruit juices, cereals and hot food; there was a minor delay with being served on the Saturday morning as our order had got mislaid but breakfast was very busy that morning. The waiter was very apologetic and these things do happen; it certainly didn't spoil our stay.
We paid £70 per night per room including breakfast. We thought this very reasonable value for the time of year.
Overall if you are looking for a small, quiet, well positioned hotel then Brooklands is a good venue based on our experience.

Room Tip: The hotel seemed to be on a quiet road ; we had rooms 27 and 28 at the back of the hotel and these w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brooklands Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooklands Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1 Kerley Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5DW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Brooklands Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brooklands Bed and Breakfast in Bournemouth offers en-suite rooms with free Wi-Fi throughout the premises and free parking. As a B&B located close to the Bournemouth International Centre (BIC), Bournemouth Pavilion and just a short stroll from the award-winning Blue Flag beach, Brooklands is the perfect solution to a short break in Bournemouth. Brooklands is a 5 minute walk from Bournemouth town centre where you will find restaurants, cafes and bars to suit all budgets. Just a 15 minute drive to Bournemouth International Airport and 45 minutes away from Southampton Airport, Our Bournemouth Bed and Breakfast is perfectly placed for couples, families, business guests and groups. We welcome well behaved dogs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, LateRooms, Odigeo, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Brooklands Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brooklands Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.