We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Meyrick Park

Save Saved
You added The Lodge at Meyrick Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Lodge at Meyrick Park
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Central Drive, Bournemouth BH2 6LH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Great value for money accommodation with first class facilities available in terms of the gymnasium,pool and golf course. All set in calm and picturesque grounds ideally located for a short walk to the town centre. The rooms are basic but clean and spacious with very small televisions and uninteresting bathrooms.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    40
    19
    12
    6
See reviews for
12
59
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed here a Sunday evening(04/08/2013) due to works going on in our flat .... We booked through booking.com and stayed for a very reasonable price...When we arrived we were greeted by very friendly staff who told us we had been allocated lodge 10 which backs onto the golf course , it was lovely and quiet - ok the Tv is place too hight but really are you staying in your room to watch Tv!!!!!
We used the pool and the sauna, it was very clean and the pool is a fantastic size to swim in.
i can recommend the salmon scramble eggs for breakfast

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We booked the Lodge through Hotels.com and expected a hotel.

At arrival we parked outside this old wooden building and were told to walk 100 meters along the road to the reception (and breakfast room) of the sports club. To our surprise we were told that the hotel was the small wooden building where the car was parked. Entering the lodge we felt that we had booked a room in a youth hostel!

Staying at the lodge for 3 nights we experienced:
- very good service
- very friendly staff
- noise from the motorway below the rock made sleep difficult - at least when your room is facing that motorway and you need the window open during the heat wave
- the noise from guests returning from the pubs and walking on the deck outside wakes you up – every time
- free wi-fi that does not work because you don’t get access to the web page keying in the username and password – apparently a familiar problem that restarting the router did not solve.
- watching TV at night – bring a pair of binoculars
- bring an umbrella for the breakfast in case it rains

At £ 97.50 a night for a room, this was a rip-off! Never again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnet
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I booked here for a one night stay in the middle of this week (16/17) and arrived around 7.30pm. The room had only one small window which opened only slightly and on one of the hottest days of the year, the room would have been sweltering overnight. The decor and bedding were tired-looking and the bathroom as basic as it could be, with no amenities apart from a soap dispenser over the sink. In the end, having viewed the eating options (in a virtually empty bar), I decided to seek accommodation elsewhere in Bournemouth. The Lodge is inexpensive, but the rooms do not match up to the photographs shown on line.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Booked what I hoped would be a real treat for husband's birthday, following a Derren Brown evening in BOURNEMOUTH. Well thank God Derren was brilliant, because The Lodge accommodation certainly was not. I wish we had travelled the short distance home. It felt like a make do room in a cricket hut. We heard every noise from the occupants upstairs, our mattress had seen better days and our room certainly needed an update together with complimentary toiletries at the way too high price I paid. Breakfast was very basic. On leaving, I told the manageress I hadn't been impressed and followed up with an email. I was invited to stay again at a reduced price!! No, thank you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Me & my friend decided last minute to stay in bournemouth for one night. The lodge at Meyrick Park achieved everything we were looking for.

We booked this particular hotel/lodge for location, price & parking facilities. The lodge is only a 5-10 minute walk away from the town centre and about 15 minutes away from bournemouth beach & pier.

Upon arrival i was a little worried about parking facilities, as there is only about 6 parking spaces right outside the lodge. However, if you keep driving past the golf course grounds there is plenty of parking onsite, which i was really impressed with.

Check in to the lodge is between 16.00-21.00 hours & once we checked in reception staff were welcoming & were more than happy to answer any questions that we had.

We had booked a twin room for a one night stay & was really impressed with the size & cleanliness of the room. We also had tea & coffee facilities & a hairdryer provided. Also had plenty of windows in the room, so was able to open them due to the hot weather & that our room didn't have air conditioning.

Had a thoroughly good nights sleep at the lodge & enjoyed a nice breakfast the next morning, which you could pick from a menu with a choice of a full English or a lighter breakfast.

Once checked out, we were also able to leave the car at the car park onsite, as we were wanting spend the day out the beach.

Overall our room for the night cost £75 & paid £5 for breakfast, which i thought was very good. I will definitely be staying at the lodge meyrick park on my next visit to Bournemouth.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This is our second stay here, both times co-incidentally in room no.4 on the top floor of the lodge. The rooms would benefit from some modernisation really, the furniture is dated and slightly worn, and the mattresses are very soft and 'dented' from overuse.

That said, there are many positives about this hotel which more than outweigh this. The leisure facilities are excellent - there is a modern gym, fitness classes, and a superb pool, jacuzzi, steam-room and sauna. We also love the location - it's quiet and peaceful, yet you can walk into Bournemouth centre in around 15 minutes. The surrounding area is also lovely for a run or walk out. If you're likely to spend all your time here in the room, then this may not be for you, but if, like us, you only sleep in the room and enjoy being out and about and using the great leisure facilities on offer then we recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Lodge at Meyrick Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Meyrick Park

Address: Central Drive, Bournemouth BH2 6LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Specialty lodging in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodge at Meyrick Park 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your The Lodge at Meyrick Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Meyrick Park Hotel Bournemouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Meyrick Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.