We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good basic accomodation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelrest Bournemouth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Travelrest Bournemouth to your Saves list
Travelrest Bournemouth
135 West Hill Road, Bournemouth BH2 5EG, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 71 Hotels in Bournemouth
Trois-Rivieres, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good basic accomodation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed at the Travelrest for one night only and we got what we wanted: small but clean room with basic facilities. Staff at the reception very friendly and polite. Had a bit of trouble getting hot water for the shower in the morning (old building...). Was OK for a quick rest after a day at the beach, but we would have looked for a bit more space and comfort for a long stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelRestLtd, Manager at Travelrest Bournemouth, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your which we really appreciate. We are sorry the hot water was not efficient, something we have looked into, as this really should not have been the case, not least because a new hot water and heating facility was introduced to the hotel in 2012.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to TravelRest very soon.

Did you know by booking directly through the official site here on Trip Advisor you can obtain a £5:00 voucher towards spending during your stay? So another great reason to book TravelRest official site
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    91
    56
    22
    24
See reviews for
70
78
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hull
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We used this as a stopover after getting the late ferry from Guernsey. The car park is very small but managed to find a parking place in the adjacent street. On arrival we were told to pay a extra £8 for the dogs which took me by surprise as this was not mentioned when booking online. Most b&bs weve used do not charge for dogs. The room was very clean and tidy and fresh. This hotel is very conveniently situated close to the front. The breakfast is an optional £6. 50p and is well worth it apart from the cooked breakfast you just help yourself to what you want. Good value! We would have stayed an extra night but it was fully booked.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelRestLtd, General Manager at Travelrest Bournemouth, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your review which we really appreciate. I am sorry if we did not communicate to you the small charge we have to make for pets to cover the additional cleaning that is required to ensure that future guest, who may suffer from pet allergies, are not affected.

We really appreciate your taking the time and trouble to review us and look forward to welcoming you back to TravelRest very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

All what you can ask for £52 mid-week IN July family room, clean and just big enough. near the beach and to the town centre 10 mines walking, the staff are friendly the only thing they said if you arrive early we'll try to accommodate you which in my case I have mentioned two weeks in advance that I'll be early but they didn't let me till 14:00 the check in time.

Room Tip: room 28 was good enough for us as small family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelRestLtd, Manager at Travelrest Bournemouth, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for your review which we really appreciate. As you know we offer great value and a fabulous location.

Did you also know that by booking through Trip Advisor - Official Site you can obtain a voucher for spending during your next stay. Another great reason to return and to book via the official site.

Thank you again for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Stayed here after moving from durley dean and am so glad we did, the room was 10 times better ,cleaner, brighter and much better layed out. Would definitely stay here again It is only a short walk to the beach, pier and town centre , Steep walk back to hotel but it is to nearly all hotels in Bournemouth

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3 which was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelRestLtd, Manager at Travelrest Bournemouth, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you so much for your highly positive review, which we really appreciate. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Did you know that by booking through Trip Advisor - Official Site you can obtain a voucher for spending during your stay? Another great reason to return and to book via the Official site.

Thank you again for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for two nights at the end of June. We arrived earlier than the suggested 2pm check in and went in to see if it was okay to park outside, the receptionist told us our room was actually ready, so we were able to unload our bags and leave them in our room. The room was relatively small, but there was enough space for the both of us. The bed was comfy. There was no air conditioning but we had two big windows so that was fine. The only thing I would say was that the shower pressure wasn't that great but that could've just been because lots of people were using showers at the same time. Overall a lovely stay. Very close to the beach, a five minute walk away! Close to the town aswell. If we come back to Bournemouth we will definitely stay here again. Staff were lovely and friendly. Thanks for a great stay :)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelRestLtd, Manager at Travelrest Bournemouth, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you so much for your review which we really appreciate. As you know we offer great value for money in a fabulous location. But did you also know that by booking through Trip Advisor -Official site you get a voucher towards money off during your stay. A great reason to return and book via the Official site.

Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night the room was ok apart from there were damp patches on the ceiling - the bathroom was disgusting, the shower was tiny and it's a good job neither of us are fat - we wouldn't fit in the shower. The shower was more of a dribble. Had an ok night sleep but wouldn't be staying again!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelRestLtd, Manager at Travelrest Bournemouth, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are really sorry that you did not enjoy your stay, but really hope that you informed us of your disappointment with your room during your stay.
As you know we offer great value for money in a fabulous location
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Very friendly staff, all very helpful. Stayed for one night, asked for a room off the road when I booked, and got one. It was a double room, the bathroom was as big as the bedroom,with a good shower. The room did not have air conditioning, so we had the windows open all night. The location was excellent, short walk to the beach, and the town. We were visiting the Bournemouth International Centre, we parked our car at the Travelrest, and walked down the road, ideal. The room wasn't the biggest, and the bed wasn't the best, but ok for one night

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelRestLtd, Manager at Travelrest Bournemouth, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for your feedback which we really appreciate. As you know we offer great value and a fantastic location. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Did you know by booking directly through Tripadvisor and the official site you get a voucher for spending at the hotel during your stay, so offering even better value.

Thank you again for taking the time to write a review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelrest Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelrest Bournemouth

Address: 135 West Hill Road, Bournemouth BH2 5EG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 71 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This TravelRest has recently reopened following refurbishment, 25 of the 45 bedrooms were fully refurbished to the smart, clean and comfortable TravelRest bedroom standard.The remaining 20 bedrooms are traditionally furnished budget rooms, offering great value and some with views towards the sea and Bournemouth bay. TravelRest bedrooms feature free Wi-fi, flat screen TV/DVD, iPod docking stations, luxury toiletries and the TravelRest hospitality tray.Key features at a glance:> Situated in one of Bournemouth's prime locations, WITH EASY ACCESS TO KEY BUSINESS SITES IN POOLE AND BOURNEMOUTH VICINITY VIA WESSEX WAY.> Just 100 metres from the seafront and within a few hundred metres of BIC> Easy walking distance of the town centre and main entertainment attractions, bars and shops, .> Two styles of guest bedroom – contemporary TravelRest Club Rooms featuring designer fabrics; toiletries; luxury hospitality tray and IPod docking station.> Traditional budget rooms – classically furnished rooms, some family sized and other with views towards the sea and bay.> All rooms feature flatscreen TV and DVD player> Free parking on site, limited and alternative free parking within the immediate area> Bar and cafe open throughout the day> 24 hours reception> Free wi-fi> Group Friendly ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Travelrest Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelrest Bournemouth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.