We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a midweek break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelrest Bournemouth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Travelrest Bournemouth to your Saves list
Travelrest Bournemouth
135 West Hill Road, Bournemouth BH2 5EG, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
oxford
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect for a midweek break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We were lucky enough to be allocated one of the refurbished budget rooms. It was clean and comfortable with nice looking furniture. The breakfast was more than adequate, good value for money and the staff were very attentive and helpful.
I would certainly go back to the Travelrest as it was very close to the beach and town centre. The only thing I would advise is if you are a light sleeper or have children, try to avoid staying from Friday to Sunday as there seem to be a lot of hen and stag parties and they were very noisy (I had to try and divert my grandsons attention away from a young man wearing a Pamela Anderson type lifeguards outfit with other things on display and try and explain why another young man was dressed as Noddy!) Having said that, I asked if we could be moved to a quieter part of the hotel and we were offered the choice of another two rooms which were fine.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew J, Director of Sales at Travelrest Bournemouth, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Cazzi-Ann,
Thank You for your recent feedback.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and are pleased that our staff were attentive to your needs.
As we are a well located hotel in one of the UK's most thriving towns, we do of course attract large groups, of which some are Stag and Hen parties. We pride ourselves on how we cater for each individual guest, therefore always making sure we monitor noise and behavior from each person who stays, for the benefit of all other guests. I can only apologize for the incident you witnessed, hoping you would understand that these such events are very rare - due to awareness of respecting all guests, that all our staff adhere to.
I do hope you will return to visit Bournemouth again and be sure to stay at TravelRest.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    90
    56
    22
    24
See reviews for
70
77
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I would definitely stay at travelrest again. The room was very spacious and the beds were extremely comfortable. The bathroom was small but clean and toiletries such as soap and towels were inside. The staff were very courteous and the breakfast was very nice. The cost was extremely good and i would definitely recommend people to go here. (They also cater for dogs, but this incurs a £10 charge per-night.)

Overall the experience was very worth it, and we had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew J, Director of Sales at Travelrest Bournemouth, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Mike,
Thank You for your recent feeback.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that you would both stay with us again with also recommending TravelRest to your friends and family.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillehammer, Norge
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

A nice hotel with a great location, very close to the beach and town center, about 10 minutes walk. And the staff were very friendly and helpfull.
The room we had was nice, a bit small bathroom, but it was a good standard. It got a bit noisy outside in the nighttime, but as to be expected so close to the town center.
Will definitely stay here again when I'm going to Bournemouth next time, and would definitely recommend Travelrest Bournemouth to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew J, Director of Sales at Travelrest Bournemouth, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Trine-Beate-Odden,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review TravelRest Bournemouth, we appreciate all customer feedback. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, apologies for the size of the bathroom however I am happy that staff and location were to your liking. We hope to welcome you again.
Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Two of us stayed for one night mid-week in August. This is a budget hotel and for our needs it was good value for money. The hotel is situated on the West Cliff and is close to the sea-front. Although the room (12) was small, it was clean and adequate. The bathroom by comparison was huge and it was also spotless. We took advantage of one free breakfast offered since we booked through the hotel's website and paid £6.00 for the other (charged £8.50 at the Travelrest at Fareham hotel for identical offer and menu??) Good choice of breakfast, which was freshly cooked. Managed to get parked in hotel car park but free street parking is available outside.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

on the westcliff area..budget hotel thats just being renovated...booked for a 2 night stay for my daughters 25th birthday and stayed for 4 nights...we had our dog with us and was given a roomwith a double bed and 2 singles...comfortable enough but the bathroom toilet is squeezed into a tiny space and it has no window so a little claustrophobic but it met our needs...staff were helpful and cleaners were lovely...definately will stay here again..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the travelrest on Friday August 2nd after spending 3 nights at the hop inn next door...WOW what a contrast!!! I paid £60 per night at the hop inn for a large room with a huge bed and a bath and shower. Then I came to the hovel that is "travelrest". Firstlying they gave me a tiny room with 2 single beds and when they changed the room it was pretty shabby. The bed had a severe dip in it, the quality of the mattress was poor and the floor sank in the middle of the room. They had charged us £80 and after much debate they dropped the price to £60. To be honest this may be ok for some people but it's a £40 per night b and b and not a penny more!...I'd never stay here again!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew J, Director of Sales at Travelrest Bournemouth, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Dieter D,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review TravelRest Bournemouth, we appreciate all customer feedback. I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel. I understand you were offered a full refund by our reception team which you declined as you wanted to stay at the hotel. I am sure you will be aware that Friday and Saturday nights are the busiest times of the week for any hotel in Bournemouth, this means that rates are more expensive than you were paying at the Hop Inn on a Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday night. I have taken your comments on board regarding the problems you had with your bed and we are in the process of replacing the mattresses in the hotel. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to rectify any problems you have had and stay with us again. Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

For a budget Hotel this was excellent value , spacious comfortable room although en-suite was small. Full English breakfast was very good. Staff were very helpful and friendly . the wifi was a problem but a new provider sorted the matter out. I would recommend this hotel to anyone

Room Tip: rooms on the west hill road are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelrest Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelrest Bournemouth

Address: 135 West Hill Road, Bournemouth BH2 5EG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This TravelRest has recently reopened following refurbishment, 25 of the 45 bedrooms were fully refurbished to the smart, clean and comfortable TravelRest bedroom standard.The remaining 20 bedrooms are traditionally furnished budget rooms, offering great value and some with views towards the sea and Bournemouth bay. TravelRest bedrooms feature free Wi-fi, flat screen TV/DVD, iPod docking stations, luxury toiletries and the TravelRest hospitality tray.Key features at a glance:> Situated in one of Bournemouth's prime locations, WITH EASY ACCESS TO KEY BUSINESS SITES IN POOLE AND BOURNEMOUTH VICINITY VIA WESSEX WAY.> Just 100 metres from the seafront and within a few hundred metres of BIC> Easy walking distance of the town centre and main entertainment attractions, bars and shops, .> Two styles of guest bedroom – contemporary TravelRest Club Rooms featuring designer fabrics; toiletries; luxury hospitality tray and IPod docking station.> Traditional budget rooms – classically furnished rooms, some family sized and other with views towards the sea and bay.> All rooms feature flatscreen TV and DVD player> Free parking on site, limited and alternative free parking within the immediate area> Bar and cafe open throughout the day> 24 hours reception> Free wi-fi> Group Friendly ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Travelrest Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelrest Bournemouth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.